Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 9 of 9

Gerald Cowden Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2000.40
Scope and Contents

Research material of Gerald Steffens Cowden from his Ph.D. dissertation on the Randolph's of Virginia, "The Randolphs of Turkey Island:  a Prosopography of the First Three Generations, 1650-1806. " Also includes other works and essays from his earlier education, and the research accompanying those essays as well.

Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 Ew3
Scope and Contents This collection contains materials dated 1784-1934. It includes correspondence, legal papers, and accounts, chiefly 1830-1892, of Benjamin S. Ewell, professor at the U.S. Military Academy, Hampden-Sydney College, Washington and Lee College, and the College of William and Mary (which he served as acting president, 1848-1849, and president, 1854-1888). Letters from Ewell during the Civil War when he was assistant adjutant-general to Gen. Joseph E. Johnston are included as well. Among the...

Mr. and Mrs. J. Kenneth Graham Collection

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 1989.25
Scope and Contents

Collection of items relating to Williamsburg, Virginia and the personal papers of J. Kenneth Graham, particularly genealogy of his ancestor, James Graham of Pennsylvania.

Hall Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 90 H14
Scope and Contents This collection consists of the papers of the Hall and Moore families of New York, Richmond, Va. and Williamsburg, Va. Includes wills, estate papers, legal and financial transactions, 1810-1915, of Jacob Hall, Sarah Hall and Cunningham Hall; and Bishop Richard Channing Moore, Virginia Moore, Harriet Glenworth Moore, Margaretta Moore and Louise Moore. Contains correspondence, 1854-1876, between Zebulon S. Farland and Ellen Douglas Gordon Farland; letters, 1906-1928, to Margaret (Farland)...

Amos Koontz Papers I

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 K83
Scope and Contents The collection consists mainly of certificates presented to Amos R. Koontz, M.D., by the army, together with his medals in a frame, and membership certificates in organizations. Included is a competition for designs for National Military Dress (1809); and shoemaker’s account books of Harden Keyser (1849-1861), one of which Mattie Keyser used as a scrapbook at a later period and in which she wrote autograph poems; a souvenir booklet of the Panama Pacific Exposition (1915); and genealogical...

Linda Carol Friend Adams Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2008.197
Scope and Contents The collection includes the genealogical research of Linda Carol Friend Adams.  It contains a number of state and county records, family documents, biographical information, emails, message board posts, research notes, and photographs that concern Adams' family history. The majority of Adams' ancestors were located in Virginia and West Virginia.  The information included here pertains to the following families (not a complete list): Adams, Allen, Barnett, Blake, Brasfield, Brock,...

Thomas Jefferson Stubbs Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 St9
Scope and Contents Collection includes a lot of genealogical notes and copies of wills compiled by Thomas Jefferson Stubbs but also report cards, class notes, and letters of different Stubbs family members. An oration delivered by Thomas Jefferson Stubbs, Sr. before the Phoenix Literary Society is also included as well as his application for the professorship at William & Mary. There are letters written William Carter Stubbs while a student at William & Mary,letters of John Catlett Stubbs while...

William Booth Taliaferro Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 T15
Scope and Contents Papers, 1811-1954, of William Booth Taliaferro and his family of Gloucester County, Va. Taliaferro's papers consist of diaries, letterbook (while at Harpers Ferry), correspondence, speeches, memoirs and accounts. The collection also includes papers of his wife, Sally Nivison Lyons Taliaferro (including diaries), his ancestors, siblings and descendants, as well as photographs, genealogical notes and artifacts of the Taliaferro family.There are papers of other people who are not...

John D. Weaver Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 77 W37
Scope and Contents

Collection contains genealogy of the Poulton Family, published stories, articles, book reviews, books, correspondence with family and friends and news clippings by and relating to John D. Weaver, author, novelist, biographer and West Coast editor of  "Travel and Leisure Magazine".

Filtered By

  • Subject: Genealogy X
  • Names: College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Correspondence 7
Genealogy 7
Virginia--Genealogy 6
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 4
Financial records 4
∨ more
Photographs 4
Manuscripts (document genre) 3
Account books 2
Certificates 2
Clippings (information artifacts) 2
Gloucester County (Va.)--History 2
Legal documents 2
Notebooks 2
Poems 2
Receipts (financial records) 2
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 2
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 2
African Americans--Virginia--History--18th century 1
African Americans--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Agendas (administrative records) 1
Appointments (military records) 1
Authors, American--20th century 1
Authors, American--20th century--Correspondence 1
Barbour County (W. Va.)--History, Military--19th century. 1
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 1
College of William and Mary--Students 1
Diaries 1
Diplomas 1
Dissertation 1
Education, Higher--Virginia--History 1
Episcopal Church--Virginia--Clergy--19th century 1
Episcopal Church--Virginia--Clergy--20th century 1
Episcopal Church--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Frederick County (Va.)--Genealogy 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--Genealogy. 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--20th century 1
Hampden-Sydney College 1
Harpers Ferry (W. Va.)--History--John Brown's Raid, 1859 1
History of the College 1
Index Cards 1
Maps 1
Merchants--Virginia--Page County 1
Page County (Va.)--History 1
Page County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Photocopies 1
Programs 1
Publications 1
Randolph family 1
Reconstruction (U.S. history, 1865-1877) 1
Reports 1
Research notes 1
Resolutions (administrative records) 1
Richmond (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Scrapbooks 1
Shoemakers--United States. 1
Slavery--Virginia--19th century 1
Technical reports 1
United States Military Academy 1
United States--American Authors 1
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Maps 1
United States--History--Mexican War, 1845-1848 1
United States--History--Revolution, 1775-1783 1
United States--Politics and Government 1
United States--Slavery 1
Virginia Military Institute--History--19th century 1
Virginia--History 1
Virginia--Maps 1
Virginia--Militia--History--War of 1812 1
Virginia--Politics and Government 1
Washington and Lee University--History--19th century 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Women--Virginia--Social life and customs 1
World War, 1914-1918 1
Yellow fever--Virginia--Norfolk 1
∧ less
 
Language
German 1
 
Names
Adams family 1
Adams, Linda Friend, 1943-2008 1
Booth family 1
Bruton Parish Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Cheever, John 1