Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 10 of 16

Brown, Coalter, Tucker Papers (I)

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 B85
Scope and Contents Papers, 1780-1929, of the Brown, Coalter, Tucker families including the papers of John Coalter (1769-1838), Judge of the Supreme Court of Appeals of Virginia, and John Thompson Brown (1802-1836), member of the Virginia House of Delegates.Among the correspondents are Maria (Rind) Coalter, St. George Tucker, William Munford, Frances Bland (Tucker) Coalter, St. George Tucker Coalter, Frances Bland (Coalter) Brown, the Rev. Moses D. Hoge, and Henry Peronneau Brown.This...

Carter Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 C24
Scope and Contents The collection includes: correspondence and land records of Robert "King" Carter; correspondence and land records of his sons Robert Carter (1704-1731) and Landon Carter (1710-1778); correspondence, accounts, land records and the appointment to the Virginia Council of Robert Carter (1728-1804), son of Robert Carter (1704-1731); correspondence, diaries, land records and accounts of Robert Wormeley Carter (1734-1804), son of Landon Carter of Sabine Hall; and correspondence and land records and...

Charles J. Duke, Jr. Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 00/06/UA 6.065
Scope and Contents This collection includes memorabilia, resolutions, early William and Mary campus photographs, clippings, and correspondence of Charles J. Duke, Jr. Correspondence, reports and photographs relate to Charles Duke's position as the Bursar of the College of William and Mary. Of particular importance is the material on the Norfolk and Richmond Divisions which later became Old Dominion University and Virginia Commonwealth University, especially the correspondence of Director William T. Hodges....

Lawrence I'Anson Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 85 Ia6
Scope and Contents

Papers, circa 1938-1983, of Lawrence I'Anson, lawyer and justice of the Virginia Supreme Court of Appeals. Includes correspondence, invitations, programs, speeches, judicial opinions, certificates, newspaper clippings, magazine articles, photographs and scrapbooks.

Manuscripts - People and Family Names

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 39.2 Man3a
Scope and Contents An artificial collection of papers created from material acquired during the 1930's and 1940's.  Mostly letters, financial records, published material and official records of individuals in Virginia and elsewhere.  Includes documents and signatures of well known people, such as Benjamin Harrison, John Randolph and Franklin D. Roosevelt. Documents from this collection are currently being transferred to the Small Collection  as individual items with SC identification numbers. ...

George Mason Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 M38
Scope and Contents Letters, 1779-1792, from George Mason at "Gunston Hall," Fairfax Co., Va. to his son John in Bordeaux, France and to Richard Henry Lee commenting on Maryland's claim to Virginia's western lands; and a political essay, post 24 January 1791 by Mason on representation in Fairfax Co., Va. Includes papers and letters of other members of the Mason and Thomson families, in particular, Stevens Thomson Mason (his will and a letter to James Monroe on Alien and Sedition Laws), Armistead Thomson Mason...

John Garland Pollard Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 70 P76
Scope and Contents Letters, clippings, manuscript volumes, business papers, pamphlets, genealogical material, family papers, reports, memos, campaign literature, photographs of John G. Pollard (1871-1937), lawyer, educator, statesman, humanitarian, and governor of Virginia, 1930-1934. Prominent correspondents include Henry Watkins Anderson, Lady Astor, Frederic W. Boatwright, David K. E. Bruce, John Stewart Bryan, William Jennings Bryan, Harry F. Byrd, James Cannon, J. A. C. Chandler, Calvin Coolidge,...

Violet McDougall Pollard Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 74 P76
Scope and Contents This collection is housed off-site. At least 72 hours advanced notice is required for retrieval. The papers primarily focus on Violet McDougall Pollard’s activities in politics and art. They also cover her many civic activities, and correspondence with family and friends. Information on her political activities is found in the files she kept on National Politics, documenting her activities as an official in the Democratic Party; her files...

Preston Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 P91
Scope and Contents This inventory, chiefly 1786-1815, represents three generations of the Preston family, and likewise can be divided into the following: Items relating to William Preston (ca. 1729-1783), 1755-1782, primarily photostats of appointments to various county offices (coroner, sheriff and surveyor) and to positions in the Virginia militia; but also including original appointments, 1763 and 1776; a surveyor's entry; 1774; and letters, 1773-1782, to Preston concerning land, the Cherokee...

Ritchie-Harrison Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 R51
Scope and Contents Papers, 1807-1938, but mainly 1830-1870, of the Ritchie and Harrison families. Includes letters, documents and a diary of members of the family of Thomas Ritchie, his wife Isabella (Foushee) Ritchie and ten of their twelve children of Richmond, Va., "Brandon," Prince George County, Va. and Washington, D.C. There are letters, 1847-1848, of Dr. Robert Ruffin Ritchie in Mexico and letters, 1849-1860, of George Ritchie while serving in the United States Navy. Many prominent...

Filtered By

  • Subject: Financial records X
  • Subject: Virginia--Politics and Government X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Legal documents 9
Virginia--Politics and Government 8
Agendas (administrative records) 6
Reports 6
Receipts (financial records) 5
∨ more
Technical reports 5
Virginia--Politics and Government--18th century 5
Diaries 4
Photographs 4
Slavery--Virginia--19th century 4
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 4
United States--Politics and Government 4
Certificates 3
Manuscripts (document genre) 3
Speeches, addresses, etc. 3
United States--Slavery 3
Virginia--Governors 3
Virginia--History--20th century 3
Virginia--Politics and Government--19th century 3
Virginia--Politics and government--20th century 3
Women--Virginia--Social life and customs 3
Agriculture--Virginia--History--18th century 2
Architecture, Domestic--Virginia 2
College of William and Mary--History--18th century 2
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 2
Communism--Post 1945 2
Fundraising campaigns 2
Lawyers--Virginia--History 2
Maps 2
Petitions 2
Resolutions (administrative records) 2
Slavery--Virginia--History--18th century 2
United States--History--Mexican War, 1845-1848 2
United States--History--War of 1812 2
Virginia--Genealogy 2
Account books 1
Agriculture--History--19th century 1
Agriculture--United States 1
Alien and Sedition laws, 1798 1
American poetry--19th century 1
Animal welfare--United States 1
Apprenticeship programs--Virginia 1
Banks and banking--United States--History 1
Baptists--Virginia--History 1
Barbour County (W. Va.)--History, Military--19th century. 1
Buckingham County (Va.)--History 1
Carriage and wagon making 1
Cherokee Indians 1
Civil service--United States 1
College of William and Mary--Faculty and Staff 1
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 1
Communism--United States 1
Compromise of 1850 1
Cotton trade--Southern States--History--19th century 1
Debt 1
Decedents' estates 1
Dueling--Virginia 1
Dyes and dyeing 1
Education--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Embargo, 1807-1809 1
Executive departments--Virginia 1
Fairfax County (Va.)--History--18th century 1
Fairfax County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Finances 1
Fliers (printed matter) 1
Freedmen--Virginia--History 1
Genealogy 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--Genealogy. 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--History 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--20th century 1
Harpers Ferry (W. Va.)--History--John Brown's Raid, 1859 1
Horse racing--Virginia 1
Horses--Virginia 1
Indians of North America--History--19th century 1
Insurance, Fire--Virginia--History 1
Invitations 1
Invoices 1
Jefferson County (W.Va.)--History--18th century 1
Jefferson County (W.Va.)--History--19th century 1
Judges--Virginia--History 1
Kingdom of the Two Sicilies 1
Lectures 1
Logging--Virginia 1
Lumber trade--Virginia--History 1
Mecklenburg County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Medical practice--Virginia--History 1
Merchants--Massachusetts 1
Merchants--Virginia--19th century 1
Merchants--Virginia--Richmond 1
Merchants--West Virginia--Jefferson County 1
Military records 1
Minutes 1
Mississippi--History--19th century 1
National parks and reserves--Law and legislation 1
National parks and reserves--United States 1
National parks and reserves--Virginia 1
New York (State)--Social life and customs 1
∧ less
 
Names
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 6
Democratic Party (U.S.) 3
United States Congress 3
Virginia House of Delegates 3
Marshall-Wythe School of Law 2
∨ more
Virginia State Senate 2
Allison White and Company 1
Archer, William Segar, 1789-1855 1
Booth family 1
Bowden, Lemuel Jackson. 1
Bright, Robert Anderson, 1839-1904 1
Bright, Samuel Francis 1
Brown family 1
Brown, Coalter, and Tucker Family 1
Brown, Frances Bland Coalter, 1835-1894 1
Brown, Henry Peronneau, 1883-1942 1
Bryan, Elizabeth Tucker Coalter, b. 1805 1
Bryan, John Randolph, 1806-1887 1
Carter, Robert ("King"), 1663-1732 1
Centenary Church 1
Coalter family 1
Coalter, John, 1769-1838 1
Coalter, Judith H. Tomlin, d. 1859 1
Coalter, Maria Rind, d. 1792 1
Coalter, St. George Tucker, 1809-1839 1
Coke, Richard, 1790-1851 1
Coleman, Cynthia Beverley Tucker Washington, 1832-1908 1
College of William and Mary. 1
Colonial National Historical Park (Va.) 1
Coulter family 1
Democratic National Committee (U.S.) 1
Democratic Party (Va.) 1
Deneufville, John Augustine 1
Dew, Thomas R. (Thomas Roderick), 1802-1846 1
Duke, Charles Joseph, Jr., 1898-1953 1
Exchange Bank of Virginia 1
Forrest Family 1
Goode, William Osborne, 1798-1859 1
Harrison family 1
Hodges, William T. 1
Hoge, Moses Drury, 1818-1899 1
Holmes, George Frederick, 1820-1897 1
Lee, Richard Henry, 1732-1794 1
Longwood University 1
MacCaulay family 1
MacCaulay, Alexander, 1745-1798 1
Marshall, John, 1755-1835 1
Mason, Ann 1
Mason, George, 1725-1792 1
Mason, J. M. (James Murray), 1798-1871 1
Mason, John Thomson, 1815-1873 1
Mason, John, 1766-1849 1
Mason, Stevens Thomson, 1760-1803 1
Munford, William, 1775-1825 1
Old Dominion University--History 1
Omohundro Institute of Early American History and Culture 1
Pendleton, William Nelson, 1809-1883 1
Phi Beta Kappa. Virginia Alpha (College of William and Mary) 1
Pleasants, John Hampden, 1797-1846 1
Pollard, John Garland, 1871-1937 1
Pollard, Violet McDougall, 1889-1977 1
Preston Family 1
Preston family 1
Preston, Francis 1
Preston, Francis, 1765-1836 1
Preston, John, 1764-1827 1
Preston, William 1
Preston, William, ca. 1729-1783 1
Randolph, John, 1773-1833 1
Randolph, Judith Randolph, fl. 1792-1813 1
Ritchie family 1
Ritchie family. 1
Ritchie, Anna Cora Ogden Mowatt, 1819-1870 1
Ritchie, Thomas, 1778-1854 1
Rives, William C. (William Cabell), 1793-1868 1
Seddon, James Alexander, 1815-1880 1
Southall Family 1
Southall family 1
Southall, George Washington, 1775-1835 1
Southall, George Washington, 1810-1851 1
Southall, Peyton Alexander, 1804-1855 1
Taliaferro family 1
Taliaferro family. 1
Taliaferro, Sally Lyon 1
Taliaferro, William Booth 1
Titanic (Steamship) 1
Todd family 1
Tuck, William Munford 1
Tucker family 1
Tucker, Henry St. George, 1780-1848 1
Tucker, John Randolph, 1823-1897 1
Tucker, Lelia Skipwith Carter, 1767-post 1833 1
Tucker, Robert H. 1
Tucker, St. George, 1752-1827 1
Tuskegee Normal and Industrial Institute 1
Tyler, John, 1790-1862 1
Tyler, John, Jr., 1819-1898 1
United States. Board of Veterans Appeals 1
United States. Federal Trade Commission 1
Upshur, A. P. (Abel Parker), 1790-1844 1
∧ less