Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 4 of 4

Barron Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 B29
Scope and Contents Papers and correspondence of three generations of Samuel Barrons, all of whom were involved in naval affairs. Papers, 1793-1809, of Samuel Barron (1765-1810), commander of one of the Mediterranean squadrons sent to defeat Tripoli. Papers concern naval business and the War with Tripoli. Includes correspondence with his brother James Barron, Stephen Decatur, William Eaton (concerning his controversy with Tobias Lear over the Tripolitan peace settlement), Tobias Lear, Edward Preble, John...

Civil War Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 C76
Scope and Contents The Civil War Collection is an artificial collection of material, chiefly 1861-1865, pertaining to the American Civil War including items from both Union and Confederate forces. The collection includes official correspondence, general and special orders, descriptions of campaigns and battles, articles concerning the war, and artifacts. There are pardons, poems, songs, autographs, maps, muster rolls, pen and ink sketches of camp life, engineers' drawings, and a memorandum of signals used by...

James Cornick Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 C81
Scope and Contents

Papers (including accounts, reports and a general order) of Doctor James Cornick, fleet surgeon (on board the "Savannah" in the Pacific Squadron, United States Navy, concerning medical stores.

Grigsby-Galt Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.308 and 2011.269
Scope and Contents This collection contains the family papers of members of the Grigsby and Galt Families. Mary Blair Grigsby married William W. Galt in 1881.  The collection contains papers of various members of the Grigsby family, particulary Hugh Blair Grigsby who was a historian and Chancellor of The College of William and Mary and his son, Hugh Carrington Grigsby who lived his entire life at the family farm, Edgehill, in Charlotte County, Virginia. The collection also contains the personal...

Filtered By

  • Subject: Financial records X
  • Subject: United States. Navy X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Receipts (financial records) 3
United States. Navy--History--19th century 3
Correspondence 2
Poems 2
Account books 1
∨ more
Blackwater, Battle of, 1863 1
Cabinet photographs 1
Camp Allen (Jamestown Island, Va.) 1
Carte de visite photographs 1
Certificates 1
Charlotte County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Clippings (information artifacts) 1
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 1
College of William and Mary--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Confederate States of America. Army. Virginia Infantry Regiment, 14th 1
Confederate States of America. Navy 1
Constitution (Frigate) 1
Culpeper County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Drawings and graphics 1
Farms--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Fredericksburg (Va.), Battle of, 1862 1
Genealogical tables 1
Genealogy 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Greeting cards 1
Hampton (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Indians of North America 1
Jamestown (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Japan--Description and travel 1
Legal documents 1
Letters (correspondence) 1
Louisa County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Manila Bay, Battle of, Philippines, 1898 1
Manila Bay, Battle of, Philippines, 1898--Pictorial works 1
Manuscripts for publication 1
Maps 1
Maps--United States 1
Marriage certificates 1
Medicine, Naval--United States--History--19th century 1
Military pensions. 1
Norfolk (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Orders (military records) 1
Peninsular Campaign, 1862 1
Petersburg (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Philosophy and religion 1
Photographs 1
Political cartoons 1
Portsmouth (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Postcards 1
Publications 1
Report cards 1
Richmond (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Rosters 1
Spanish-American War, 1898 1
Speeches 1
Stock certificates 1
Suffolk, Battle of, Va., 1863 1
Surry County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Surry County (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Tobacco farmers--Virginia 1
Transcripts 1
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--African Americans 1
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Diaries 1
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Hospitals 1
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Maps 1
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Naval operations--Confederate States 1
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Participation, African American 1
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Poetry 1
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Regimental histories--Army of the Potomac 1
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Songs and music 1
United States. Army--Supplies and stores 1
United States. Army. New York Infantry Regiment, 142nd (1861-1865) 1
United States. Army. New York Volunteers, 55th. Company C 1
United States. Army. Pennsylvania Infantry Regiment, 61st 1
United States. Navy 1
United States. Navy--History--20th century 1
United States. Navy--History--Civil War 1
United States. Navy--History--Tripolitan War, 1801-1805 1
Vicksburg (Miss.)--History 1
Virginia--Genealogy 1
Virginia--History 1
Virginia--History--19th century 1
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Virginia--Maps 1
Virginia--Social life and customs--19th century 1
Visiting cards 1
Watercolors (drawings) 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Yorktown (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
∧ less
 
Language
Spanish; Castilian 1
 
Names
Alabama (Cruiser) 1
Barron family 1
Barron, James, 1769-1851 1
Barron, Samuel, 1808-1888 1
Barron, Samuel, Capt., 1765-1810 1