Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 3 of 3

Booton-Modesitt Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.570
Scope and Contents Papers of the Modesitt-Booton families of Luray, Virginia. The bulk of the collection consists of papers relating to Lucy Marye of Luray, Virginia who married James Modesitt in 1815. She was widowed in 1827 and remarried James Booton in 1830. Lucy was born to Peter and Eleanor Marye and was sister to William Staige Marye, who is considered one of the founders of Luray, Virginia Also included are letters by John Booton and others relating to slavery and politics, children's copy books,...

Ritchie-Harrison Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 R51
Scope and Contents Papers, 1807-1938, but mainly 1830-1870, of the Ritchie and Harrison families. Includes letters, documents and a diary of members of the family of Thomas Ritchie, his wife Isabella (Foushee) Ritchie and ten of their twelve children of Richmond, Va., "Brandon," Prince George County, Va. and Washington, D.C. There are letters, 1847-1848, of Dr. Robert Ruffin Ritchie in Mexico and letters, 1849-1860, of George Ritchie while serving in the United States Navy. Many prominent...

William Booth Taliaferro Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 T15
Scope and Contents Papers, 1811-1954, of William Booth Taliaferro and his family of Gloucester County, Va. Taliaferro's papers consist of diaries, letterbook (while at Harpers Ferry), correspondence, speeches, memoirs and accounts. The collection also includes papers of his wife, Sally Nivison Lyons Taliaferro (including diaries), his ancestors, siblings and descendants, as well as photographs, genealogical notes and artifacts of the Taliaferro family.There are papers of other people who are not...

Filtered By

  • Subject: Financial records X
  • Subject: Slavery--Virginia--19th century X
  • Subject: United States--History--Mexican War, 1845-1848 X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Correspondence 2
Diaries 2
Legal documents 2
Presidents--United States--Election--1848 2
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 2
∨ more  
Names
Booth family 1
Booton, Lucy Mary Modesitt 1
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 1
Harrison family 1
Longwood University 1