Accounts, 1855-1857, of Effinger, Thurmond, & Co., merchants of [Rockingham County, Va. ?]; and one letter, 1887, written by Grace Thurmond, Taylor Springs, Va.
Letter, 8 Aug[us]t 1818, from James Tatum, n.p., to Cornelius Nash, n.p., concerning money; accounts, 1808-1809, of Cornelius Nash with William Smith; and account, 1830, for goods bought by D. Nash & Co.
Papers, 1828-1886, of Samuel Paul, merchants of Mt. Solon, Va. and who served as Augusta County, Va. Sheriff, 1866-1869, and Treasurer, 1870-1882. Includes correspondence with merchants in Richmond and Staunton, Va., Baltimore, Md. and Philadelphia, Pa.; receipts; legal agreements; tax records; business and animal licenses; and instructions given to county officials from state officials. Collection also includes scrapbooks, [post 1850]-1886, kept by Araminta G. Paul and Blanche Paul.
Papers, 1885-1910, of William P. Poythress. Includes correspondence and accounts of his wholesale and retail apothecary business of W. P. Poythress & Co., Richmond, Va.
Papers, 1886-1923, of L. S. Rhodes and Sons, Linnville, Rockingham County, Va. Chiefly accounts with suppliers, local producers, manufacturers, and wholesale houses, but including bank statements, canceled checks, tax and license receipts. Consists of 5,810 items and about 100 manuscript volumes.
The ledgers are stored off-site and require a 72 hour notice for retrieval.
Papers, 1867-1872, of William Richmond, Yokum Station, Lee County, Va. Includes letters, 1867-1869, written to William Richmond, Yokum Station, Lee County, Va. by merchants in Baltimore, Md. and Philadelphia, Pa. concerning Richmond's produce including eggs and ginseng; price lists, 1867-1872; and bills of lading.
Letters, 1821-1822, written to Edward Augustus Russell, merchant of Petersburg, Va. by merchants in Richmond, Va. and Providence, R. I. discussing prices, shipping schedules, and economic conditions. Also includes account for a pair of card tables, a safe, china and "one Negro woman, Lilly."
Papers, 1797-1875, of the Tabb family. Includes correspondence and accounts, 1829-1839, of John Henry Tabb, merchant of Danville, Va.; and papers, 1870-1875, of John N. Tabb and H. A. Tabb, merchants of Mathews County.
Papers, 1830-1880, of Evans Tanner of Tanner's Store, Mecklenburg County, Va., many concerning the tobacco trade. Includes letters, 1843-1855 and accounts, 1849-1880, of Evans Tanner; accounts, 1844-1848, of King, Walker & Co., Mecklenburg County, Va.; and accounts, 1852-1854, of Walker & Tanner, Mecklenburg County, Va.
Papers, 1851-1867, of James Thomas, Jr., a tobacco dealer in Richmond, Va. mainly concerned with the tobacco trade and prices in the Boston, New York, Philadelphia and Baltimore markets. Consists of correspondence and financial papers.
Papers, 1866-1879, of West & Agee, owners of a general store at Gravel Hill P. O., Buckingham County, Va. Includes correspondence and accounts as well as accounts of John S. West & Co.