Showing Collections: 101 - 125 of 211
Diploma from Newport News High School for Vivian Elizabeth King, Class of 1927. June 10, 1927.
One letter from John M. Kirkpatrick to Rev. E.D. Saunders, written on February 10, 1845. Kirkpatrick, a resident of Farmville, Virginia, is inquiring about a teaching job in the math department at Rev. Saunders' school in Petersburg, Virginia. E.D. Saunders was the first President of the Petersburg Classical Institute, a first-class boys preparatory institute. Kirkpatrick would become a teacher at the school.
Notes, 1870, taken by L. D. Switler while a student at the Webster Institute, Norfolk, Virginiaa. The notes concern history, mathematics, philosophy, geography, and Latin.
46 yellow 5 1/4 x 5 1/4 inch cards with quotes from a survey conducted by the Ladies of Alpha. The survey asked women around campus to respond to the questions, "What does 100 years of women's co-education mean to you, and who inspires you?"
This collection contains biographical materials, correspondence, notebooks, scrapbooks, and other material related to former College of William and Mary Dean of Women Grace Warren Landrum from 1890-1995. Also included in the collection are dance and banquet programs; information about the dedication of Landrum Hall; and programs, news clippings, and photographs relating to the Matthew Whaley School from 1931-1932.
Contains subject files from programs conducted by Learning Odysseys for the 2012-2013 fiscal year. Also included are negatives and slides of William and Mary buildings and Colonial Williamsburg.
Letters, journals, and other material relating to Lelia W. Burnett, who was at Miller School in Charlottesville, Virginia. Letters primarily date from the 1880s and 1890s while the journals are from G.H. Farrar and date from the 1920s and 1930s. Also included are woven strands of hair from unknown persons.
Register, 1887-1894, of the Lenoir County, North Carolina, Public Schools. Includes list of students, ages of students, attendence records, and some grades for African-American students in the Lenoir County Public Schools.
Two autograph albums belonging to Lillian V. Randolph with entries from relatives as well as students and teachers at Armstrong High School in Richmond, Virginia. Both albums include photographs.
Thomas Lowndes to an unknown person in whcih he Informs the recipient of the arrival of Doctor Geddings who has been appointed to a professorship at the recipient's college and stating that Geddings will set sail soon and hopefully, will be greeted with respect. October 22, 1831.
Letters to Jerry about their families, Mariagrazia's thyroid condition, her plans to go back to school for a Master's in psychology, and their plans for marriage and a family.
Materials relating to Margaret P. Marks' teaching of English at Maury High School, Norfolk, Va. and Thomas Jefferson High Schools, Richmond, Va. in the 1930s, 1940s, and 1950s. Also includes information regarding the John Marshall High School Summer School, Richmond, Va.
Autograph album, 1857-1865, entitled, "The Token Album," of Mary Lou Yancey, Patapsco Female Institute, Ellicott City, Maryland, which contains illustrations, newspaper clippings, and loose papers.
This is an artificial collection of material from and about Matthew Whaley School in Williamsburg, Virginia including material from the annual fifty year reunions. The school newspaper, The Powder Horn, 1930-1937 and 1946-1948, is available in Rare Books call number AN47 .W54 P68.
The collection contains one letter from Caspar M. McElfresh's located in Williamsburg, Virginia at William & Mary, to his sister, Ariana McElfresh in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. The letter contains McElfresh’s opinions and experiences during his first year at William & Mary. He likes his fellow students, his professors and how they teach their classes. He also discusses his hopes to have his two rifles at a later date.
Records, 1869, for students at Mountain Valley School House [Rockingham County, Va.]; records, 1870, of Howver's School, Rockingham County, Va.; and records, n.d., of Singer's Glen [School, Rockingham County, Va.] The volume includes accounts, formulae, and memoranda of Joseph McMullen [Rockingham County, Va. ?]
Diary of a schoolteacher and farmer who lived in James City County, Virginia as well as in Williamsburg and in Warwick County, Virginia. He rented the President's House at the College of William and Mary. Includes comments on church meetings, schools, local people and weather. Also includes lists of students attending his schools in Williamsburg and Warwick County.