Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 11 of 11

Martha Barksdale Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 6.004
Scope and Contents [NOTE: Since the Martha Barksdale diary is fragile, researchers are required to use either the digital verison, the photocopy, or the transcription of the diary.]The papers include Martha Barksdale's diary for 1918-1919, recording her experiences as a member of the first class of women at William and Mary. The bulk of the collection consists of photographs that document student activities and women's sports at the college from her student years to her teaching career. The bulk of...
Dates: 1918-1974; Majority of material found in 1918-1922

Brown, Coalter, Tucker Papers (I)

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 B85
Scope and Contents Papers, 1780-1929, of the Brown, Coalter, Tucker families including the papers of John Coalter (1769-1838), Judge of the Supreme Court of Appeals of Virginia, and John Thompson Brown (1802-1836), member of the Virginia House of Delegates.Among the correspondents are Maria (Rind) Coalter, St. George Tucker, William Munford, Frances Bland (Tucker) Coalter, St. George Tucker Coalter, Frances Bland (Coalter) Brown, the Rev. Moses D. Hoge, and Henry Peronneau Brown.This...
Dates: 1790-1929

Charles Campbell Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 C17
Scope and Contents The Charles Campbell papers consist of papers received or collected by Charles Campbell (1807-1876), Virginia historian. The papers fall into four general headings: historical papers collected by Charles Campbell, correspondence, manuscript volumes, and miscellaneous. These include personal and professional correspondence as well as eighteenth century documents collected by Charles Campbell, newspaper clippings, diaries, scrapbooks, and notebooks, covering then period 1743-1896. The papers...
Dates: 1743-1896

Civil War Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 C76
Scope and Contents The Civil War Collection is an artificial collection of material, chiefly 1861-1865, pertaining to the American Civil War including items from both Union and Confederate forces. The collection includes official correspondence, general and special orders, descriptions of campaigns and battles, articles concerning the war, and artifacts. There are pardons, poems, songs, autographs, maps, muster rolls, pen and ink sketches of camp life, engineers' drawings, and a memorandum of signals used by...
Dates: 1856-1940

Gregory Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00027
Scope and Contents The Gregory Family papers follow the family of Virginia Governor John Munford Gregory and wife Amanda Wallace through three generations with letters dating from the 1820’s to the 1920’s. Most items are letters between family members and grant insight into the daily activities and concerns of the Gregory family. The collection also includes correspondence between members of the Gregory family and other acquaintances, including members of the John Tyler family. While most letters are of a...
Dates: 1829-1920; Majority of material found in 1880-1900

Macon Family Manuscript Volumes

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ad156-160
Scope and Contents Manuscript volumes kept by several generations of the Macon family of New Kent ["Ingleside"] and Hanover ["New Castle"] Counties, Va. including William Hartwell Macon (1759-1843), Doctor William Hartwell Macon (1819-1891) and William Hartwell Macon (1850-1918). The volumes are four ledgers concerning farming and medical practice and a diary. The earliest ledger mentions William Macon (1725-1813). In addition to members of the Macon family, individuals and subjects mentioned in...
Dates: 1782-1888

Morton Genealogy Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 90 M85
Scope and Contents Genealogy material compiled by Mr. William S. Morton and his wife, Mrs. Margaret H. Morton of Farmville, Virginia which trace the descendants of Joseph Morton of Prince Edward County, Virginia and allied families.  Includes primary source material, such as the 1830 daybook of the J. J. Dupuy Company of Charlotte Court House. Also, contains typescript of Richard Lee Morton's copy of Hugh Blair Grigsby's notes on the Robert Rose Diary  and of William Cryer's transcript of the Charles Campbell...
Dates: 1830-1978

Richard Lee Morton Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 90 M84
Scope and Contents Papers, chiefly 1930-1969, of Richard Lee Morton, professor of history at the College of William and Mary from 1919 to 1959. Series 1 includes personal and professional correspondence, lectures and notes relating to his research on Virginia history, and material relating to his community activities in Williamsburg, Va. Includes correspondence of his wife Estelle (Dinwiddie) Morton, land grants, 1756 and 1774, signed by Robert Dinwiddie and Lord Dunmore, Confederate currency and bonds,...
Dates: 1756-2006; Majority of material found in 1930-1969

Joseph Keith Newell Diary

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00652
Scope and Contents Diary, 19 March 1862 to 24 August 1862, of Joseph Keith Newell, a captain of the 10th Massachusetts Infantry during the Civil War. Diary runs from March to August of 1862, and describes the life of a Union soldier during the Peninsula Campaign. Describes his trip down the Potomac River from Washington, D.C., to Hampton, Virginia. Also includes a description of the Battle of Williamsburg, 5 May 1862, as well as his observations of the College of William & Mary. Newell also describes his...
Dates: 1862

Robb-Bernard Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 R54
Scope and Contents Papers, 1800-1901, of and relating to John Hipkins and John Hipkins Bernard (mostly accounts); of and relating to members of the Hipkins, Bernard and Robb families; and relating to the Hipkins-Bernard-Robb home "Rose Hill," Caroline County, Va. (later renamed "Gay Mont") and to Bernard's lands in Alabama, Texas and Arkansas. Includes diaries, correspondence, poems, accounts and account books of women (Elizabeth Hipkins, Jane Gay Robertson Bernard, and Helen Struan Bernard Robb); and legal...
Dates: 1665-2001; Majority of material found in 1850-1950

William Booth Taliaferro Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 T15
Scope and Contents Papers, 1811-1954, of William Booth Taliaferro and his family of Gloucester County, Va. Taliaferro's papers consist of diaries, letterbook (while at Harpers Ferry), correspondence, speeches, memoirs and accounts. The collection also includes papers of his wife, Sally Nivison Lyons Taliaferro (including diaries), his ancestors, siblings and descendants, as well as photographs, genealogical notes and artifacts of the Taliaferro family.There are papers of other people who are not...
Dates: 1811-1954

Filtered By

  • Subject: Diaries X
  • Subject: Virginia--History X
  • Subject: College of William and Mary--History X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Diaries 10
Correspondence 6
Legal documents 5
Photographs 5
Virginia--Genealogy 5
∨ more
Account books 4
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 4
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 4
Financial records 4
Genealogy 4
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 4
Women--Virginia--Social life and customs 4
Poems 3
Receipts (financial records) 3
Scrapbooks 3
Slavery--Virginia--19th century 3
United States--Slavery 3
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 3
Virginia--Maps 3
Agriculture--Virginia--History--18th century 2
College of William and Mary--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 2
College of William and Mary--Students 2
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--19th century 2
Manuscripts (document genre) 2
Maps 2
Publications 2
Reports 2
Slavery--Virginia--History 2
Transcripts 2
Typescripts 2
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--African Americans 2
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Diaries 2
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Maps 2
Virginia--History 2
Virginia--Politics and Government 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 2
Women--History--Virginia 2
Yorktown (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 2
African Americans--History--19th century 1
African Americans--Virginia--James City County 1
African Americans--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
Agendas (administrative records) 1
Alabama--History--19th century 1
American Red Cross--History--World War II period 1
American poetry--19th century 1
Architecture, Domestic--Virginia 1
Athletics--Football--Scandal of 1951 1
Athletics--Study and teaching 1
Athletics--United States 1
Athletics--Women 1
Barbour County (W. Va.)--History, Military--19th century. 1
Battleships--United States--History 1
Blackwater, Battle of, 1863 1
Broadsides 1
Buckingham County (Va.)--History 1
Camp Allen (Jamestown Island, Va.) 1
Campbell County (Va.)--History 1
Canada--Description and travel 1
Caroline County (Va.)--History--18th century 1
Caroline County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Carte de visite photographs 1
Catalogs 1
Chandler Court (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Charles City County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Charlotte County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Chemical warfare--United States--History--20th century. 1
Class materials 1
College of William and Mary--Faculty and Staff 1
College of William and Mary--History 1
College of William and Mary--History--18th century 1
College sports--United States--History--20th century 1
College sports--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
Colonial period, ca. 1609-1774 1
Confederate States of America. Army. Virginia Infantry Regiment, 14th 1
Culpeper County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Cumberland County (Va.) 1
Curriculum--History 1
Daybooks 1
Drawings and graphics 1
Education--Study and teaching 1
Education--Virginia--History 1
Education--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Embargo, 1807-1809 1
Farm management--Southern States--History--19th century 1
Farms--Virginia--Hanover County 1
Farms--Virginia--New Kent County 1
Fliers (printed matter) 1
Football--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
Fredericksburg (Va.), Battle of, 1862 1
Germany--History--Allied occupation, 1945- 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--Genealogy. 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--History 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--20th century 1
Hampton (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Hanover County (Va.)--History--18th century 1
Hanover County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Harpers Ferry (W. Va.)--History--John Brown's Raid, 1859 1
Influenza Epidemic, 1918-1919 1
Intramural sports 1
James City County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
+ ∧ less
 
Language
Dutch; Flemish 1
French 1
 
Names
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 2
Morton family 2
Morton, Estelle 2
Morton, Richard Lee, 1889-1974 2
American Chemical Society 1
∨ more
American Red Cross 1
Anderson Seminary 1
Archer, William Segar, 1789-1855 1
Barksdale, Martha, 1900-1974 1
Bernard Family 1
Booth family 1
Braikenridge, George, 1737-1827 1
Brown family 1
Brown, Coalter, and Tucker Family 1
Brown, Frances Bland Coalter, 1835-1894 1
Brown, Henry Peronneau, 1883-1942 1
Bryan, Elizabeth Tucker Coalter, b. 1805 1
Bryan, John Randolph, 1806-1887 1
Campbell family 1
Campbell, Charles, 1807-1876 1
Carter, Mary B. 1
Chamings, Dorothy Thurza Louise, d. 1958 1
Coalter family 1
Coalter, John, 1769-1838 1
Coalter, Judith H. Tomlin, d. 1859 1
Coalter, Maria Rind, d. 1792 1
Coalter, St. George Tucker, 1809-1839 1
Coleman, Cynthia Beverley Tucker Washington, 1832-1908 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of History 1
Coulter family 1
Cryer, William 1
Democratic Party (U.S.) 1
Democratic Party (Va.) 1
Dinwiddie, Robert, 1693-1770 1
Donald & Burton, London, Eng 1
Dunmore, John Murray, Earl of, 1732-1809 1
Farmer's Register 1
Galbraith family 1
Gregory family 1
Gregory family. 1
Hipkins family 1
Hoge, Moses Drury, 1818-1899 1
Hooe, John 1
Longwood University 1
Macon, William, 1725-1813 1
Mason, J. M. (James Murray), 1798-1871 1
Maxwell, William, 1784-1857 1
McCann family 1
Moore family 1
Morton, Margaret H. 1
Moss, Samuel, Jr 1
Munford, William, 1775-1825 1
New York Weekly Journal of Commerce 1
Omohundro Institute of Early American History and Culture 1
Pendleton, William Nelson, 1809-1883 1
Petersburg Index (Va.) 1
Pleasants, John Hampden, 1797-1846 1
Randolph, John, 1773-1833 1
Randolph, Judith Randolph, fl. 1792-1813 1
Richmond Enquirer 1
Rives, William C. (William Cabell), 1793-1868 1
Robb family 1
Robb-Bernard family 1
Southern Literary Messenger 1
Taliaferro family 1
Taliaferro family. 1
Taliaferro, Sally Lyon 1
Taliaferro, William Booth 1
Taylor, John, 1753-1824 1
Todd family 1
Tompkins, Sally Louisa, 1833-1916 1
Tucker 1
Tucker, Henry St. George, 1780-1848 1
Tucker, John Randolph, 1823-1897 1
Tucker, Lelia Skipwith Carter, 1767-post 1833 1
Tucker, St. George, 1752-1827 1
Tyler, John, Jr., 1819-1896 1
Tyler, Lyon Gardiner, 1853-1935 1
United Nations Food and Agricultural Organization 1
United States. Army. Massachusetts Infantry Regiment, 10th 1
United States. Army. Massachusetts Infantry Regiment, 1st 1
United States. Army. Massachusetts Infantry Regiment, 22nd 1
United States. Army. Massachusetts Mounted Rifles, 1st 1
United States. Army. New York Infantry Regiment, 70th 1
United States. Army. Ohio Volunteers 1
United States. Army. Pennsylvania Infantry Regiment, 101st 1
United States. Army. Rhode Island Volunteers, 2nd 1
United States. Army. Vermont Infantry Regiment, 2nd 1
Upton family 1
Virginia Historical Society 1
Whittle (Bishop) 1
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Wythe, George, 1726-1806 1
+ ∧ less