Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 71 - 80 of 1083

Charles H. Bell Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 B41
Scope and Contents The collection includes the correspondence, certificates, photographs, accounts, and journals of Rear Admiral Charles H. Bell. Naval journals cover Bell's service in the Mediterranean Sea from 1855-1858. The photographs are a mix of personal and souvenirs, which largely depict men and women from Peru. There is also material related to his role as executor for the estate of Samuel Swartwout. The collection also includes papers related to the Smith family, particularly Bell's executor and...

Edward Belvin Collection

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01197
Scope and Contents Edward Belvin's Collection of Williamsburg and James City County, Virginia material. Includes copies of wills and death certificates, correspondence and certificates.

Henry Eastman Bennett Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 6.005
Scope and Contents This collection contains copies of speeches and papers written by William and Mary faculty member Henry Eastman Bennett; royalty statements and contracts for books written by Bennett; correspondence; designs for chairs and desks and plans for starting a desk-making company.

John Boyd Bentley Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 82 B44
Scope and Contents Personal and professional papers, 1896-1987, of Bishop John Boyd Bentley, Bishop of Alaska and Director of Overseas Missions for the Protestant Episcopal Church and personal papers, 1895-1983, of his wife Elvira Carr Bentley. Includes comprehensive records of his ministerial career including records of his official acts and texts of sermons and invocations. There is some correspondence relating to Bentley's career, including letters from W. A. R. Goodwin (1869-1939), Rector of...

Berkeley Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 B44
Scope and Contents Family correspondence of the Rev. Parke Farley Berkeley, an Episcopal minister, his sister, Ann Butler (Berkeley) Berkeley, and his wife Mary Eppes (Thweatt) Berkeley; and of Mary B. Thweatt. Includes letters from Lewis Minor at Kenyon College, Gambier, Ohio. Letter, 18 February 1835, details a stagecoach ride; letter, 21 December 1844, discusses agricultural meetings and the division and sale of slaves to settle an estate; and letter, 30 August 1862, written by Charles Middleton,...

Beverley Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 B46
Scope and Contents Chiefly letters written to Robert Beverley (1769-1843) of "Blandfield," Essex County, Virginia and Georgetown, D.C. from his sister Lucy (Beverley) Randolph, her husband Brett Randolph and their son Richard Randolph, Jr. (1795-1885). The letters concern slaves given to Lucy Beverley Randolph and her children by her father Robert Beverley (d. 1800), and held in trust by her brother Robert Beverley, some of which were sold to pay debts incurred by her husband. Also includes letters...

Bevill Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00159
Scope and Contents Copies of wills, parish, and court records, 1558-1707, relating to the Bevill family in Henrico Co., Va. and London, Eng. Also includes papers concerning the Ball family of England and correspondence, 1929-1939, concerning genealogical material on the Ball and Lacy families, also of England.

Birchwood Estates Garden Club Records

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1995.30
Scope and Contents Scrapbooks, 1960-1990, of the Birchwood Estates Garden Club in Williamsburg, Va. Contains minutes, announcements of programs, photographs, newspaper clippings, correspondence and cartoons.

Birds Nest Chapel Record Book

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Se1
Scope and Contents Record, 1862-1865 and 1868-1900, of the sermons of Thomas P. Bryan and others in Birds Nest Chapel [Northampton County, Va. ?] with comments on services and copies of correspondence.

Bishop James Madison Letter to the Speaker of the House of Delegates concerning Eastern State Hospital

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00641
Scope and Contents Letter, 1788 October 31, Bishop James Madison, Williamsburg, to the Speaker of the House of Delegates of Virginia, Richmond, Virginia. Concerns Bishop Madison request to the General Assembly of Virginia funds to support the Eastern State Hospital for Lunatics. Also included is a lithograph of Bishop James Madison. The letter and lithograph were given by Harry Krauss in honor of professor David L. Holmes.

Filtered By

  • Subject: Correspondence X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Names
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 68
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 33
College of William and Mary. 26
Tyler, Lyon Gardiner, 1853-1935 18
College of William and Mary. Board of Visitors 17
∨ more
Jefferson, Thomas, 1743-1826 17
Office of the President 17
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation 16
Marshall-Wythe School of Law 15
Bruton Parish Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 14
University of Virginia 12
Madison, James, 1749-1812 11
Tucker, St. George, 1752-1827 11
Tyler, John, 1790-1862 11
Virginia House of Delegates 11
College of William and Mary 10
College of William and Mary. Swem Library 10
Eastern State Hospital (Va.) 10
College of William and Mary. Office of the President 9
Monroe, James, 1758-1831 9
Omohundro Institute of Early American History and Culture 9
Tyler Family 9
Bryan, John Stewart, 1871-1944 8
Chandler, J. A. C. (Julian Alvin Carroll), 1872-1934 8
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Theatre, Speech, and Dance 8
Lee, Henry, 1756-1818 8
Phi Beta Kappa. Virginia Alpha (College of William and Mary) 8
College of William and Mary. College of Arts and Sciences 7
College of William and Mary. Dept. of English 7
College of William and Mary. School of Education 7
Development Office--Endowment Assocation 7
Early, Jubal Anderson, 1816-1894 7
Ewell, Benjamin Stoddert 7
Galt family 7
Lee, Robert Edward, 1807-1870 7
Paschall, Davis Young, 1911-2001 7
State Council of Higher Education for Virginia 7
United States Congress 7
Virginia Institute of Marine Science 7
Virginia State Senate 7
Washington, George, 1732-1799 7
College of William and Mary. Dept. of History 6
College of William and Mary. School of Business Administration 6
Democratic Party (U.S.) 6
Mahone, William, 1826-1895 6
Marshall, John, 1755-1835 6
Tyler, John, Jr., 1819-1898 6
Whig Party (U.S.) 6
Associated and Branch Campuses--Virginia Associated Research Campus 5
Brown, Coalter, and Tucker Family 5
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Chemistry 5
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Sociology 5
College of William and Mary. William and Mary Theatre 5
Graves, Thomas Ashley, Jr 5
Landrum, Grace Warren, 1876-1951 5
Republican Party (U.S.) 5
Swem, E. G. (Earl Gregg), 1870-1965 5
Tucker family 5
United States. Army. 5
Verkuil, Paul R 5
Wise, Henry A. (Henry Alexander), 1806-1876 5
Wythe, George, 1726-1806 5
American Red Cross 4
Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities 4
Braxton family 4
Brown family 4
Cabell, James Branch, 1879-1958 4
Cabell, Joseph C. (Joseph Carrington), 1778-1856 4
Chandler, Alvin Duke, 1902-1987 4
College of William and Mary. Dean of Women 4
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Anthropology 4
College of William and Mary. Project Plus 4
Daingerfield family 4
Democratic Party (Va.) 4
Dept. of History 4
Ewell, Benjamin Stoddert, 1810-1894 4
Gary Alonzo Barranger 4
Greenia, George D. 4
Hall, J. Lesslie (John Lesslie), 1856- 4
Hope, James Barron, 1829-1887 4
Jackson, Andrew, 1767-1845 4
Jackson, Stonewall, 1824-1863 4
Johnston, Joseph Eggleston, 1807-1891 4
Jones, W. Melville, 1901-1992 4
Lincoln, Abraham, 1809-1865 4
Madison, James, 1751-1836 4
Madison, James, Jr., 1751-1836 4
Nicholson, Francis, 1655-1728 4
Order of the White Jacket 4
Randolph, John, 1773-1833 4
Robinson Family 4
Self Study 4
Smith family 4
Student Life--1990's 4
Tyler family 4
Tyler, Sue Ruffin, 1889-1953 4
Adams, John Quincy, 1767-1848 3
Andros, Edmund, Sir, 1637-1714 3
Associated and Branch Campuses--Richard Bland College 3
Blair family 3
∧ less