Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 10 of 11

Office of the President. John Stewart Bryan Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 2.10
Scope and Contents Due to the fragility of this collection, patrons must use the microfilm copy. The microfilm and microfilm readers can be found on the Ground Floor of Swem Library (call number LD6051 .W517 1934 B79, reels 1-24). [Originals are stored off-site.] Records from the administration of College of William and Mary President John Stewart Bryan for the years 1934-1942. For the most part, headings assigned to folders in their office of origin have been...

Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 Ew3
Scope and Contents This collection contains materials dated 1784-1934. It includes correspondence, legal papers, and accounts, chiefly 1830-1892, of Benjamin S. Ewell, professor at the U.S. Military Academy, Hampden-Sydney College, Washington and Lee College, and the College of William and Mary (which he served as acting president, 1848-1849, and president, 1854-1888). Letters from Ewell during the Civil War when he was assistant adjutant-general to Gen. Joseph E. Johnston are included as well. Among the...

Office of the President. Paul R. Verkuil Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 2.17
Scope and Contents This collection is composed of files from the College of William and Mary Office of the President during the administration of Paul Verkuil. For the most part, headings assigned to folders in their office of origin have been maintained in the box list inventories available here.

Davis Young Paschall Collection

 Collection
Identifier: UA 2.14
Scope and Contents This collection is composed of material collected by and about College of William and Mary President Davis Y. Paschall including articles and speeches, biographical material, material related to his inauguration as College President, news clippings, and subject files. The collection documents Paschall's life from his days as a student at the College of William and Mary, his tenure as Superintendent of Public Instruction for the Commonwealth of Virginia (1957-1960) and President of the College...

Office of the President. Alvin Duke Chandler Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 2.12
Scope and Contents This collection is stored off-site. A minimum of 72 hours advanced notice is required for use. The collection includes material from Alvin Duke Chandler's terms as president of the College William and Mary and later chancellor of the Colleges of William and Mary. The collection documents the administration of William and Mary in the mid-twentieth century and includes the routine hiring and resignation of faculty, student matters, alumni relations, and...

Office of the President. Julian Alvin Carroll Chandler Records

 Collection
Identifier: 00/02/UA 2.08
Scope and Contents . The collection has been microfilmed and is accessible via Swem's microfilm collection whenever the library is open. This collection documents the administration of College of William and Mary President J.A.C. Chandler for the years 1919-1934. The collection is available on microfilm in the library microforms collection on the ground floor of Swem Library. See call number LD6051 .W517 1919 C43, reels 1-46. Acc. 2010.609 was pulled from this collection...

Office of the President. Thomas A. Graves, Jr. Records

 Collection
Identifier: 00/02/UA 2.16
Scope and Contents The collection includes subject files, speeches, and other material from the administration of College of William and Mary President Thomas Ashley Graves with some overlap with his predecessor Davis Y. Paschall and his successor Paul Verkuil. For the most part, headings assigned to folders in their office of origin have been maintained in the box list inventories available here.

In addition, there are two unprocessed boxes. Consult a staff member for assistance.

Office of the President. Davis Young Paschall Records

 Collection
Identifier: 00/02/UA 2.15
Scope and Contents This collection is composed of records from the Office of the President during the administration of Davis Young Paschall at the College of William and Mary. For the most part, headings assigned to folders in their office of origin have been maintained in the box list inventories available here.

Office of the President. W. Taylor Reveley, III Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 2.23
Scope and Contents The collection includes correspondence, subject files, prepared remarks, and other material from the administration of William & Mary's twenty-seventh president, W. Taylor Reveley, III.

Office of the President. Thomas Roderick Dew Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 2.05
Scope and Contents This collection correspondence from Dew as well as an account book.Note, dated October 16, 1837, written by Dew to Judge Abel P. Upshur, concerning the granting of credit to students by merchants. The note is handwritten on a printed Resolution by the Board of Visitors, adopted July, 1836.Letter, dated October 18, 1837, written by Dew to William H. Harrison, principal of the Academy at the Wigwam in Amelia, Virginia, and defends the institution of slavery in the United...

Filtered By

  • Subject: Correspondence X
  • Names: College of William and Mary. Office of the President X

Filter Results