Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 25 of 58

Dora and Cara Armistead Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2004.24, 2006.54
Scope and Contents Papers from the household of Dora Travis Armistead (1890-1979) and Rowland Cara Armistead, sisters of Williamsburg, Virginia. Includes letters, personal, financial and business papers of Cary Peyton Armistead (1856-1901), father of Dora and Cara, Steward of Eastern Lunatic Asylum (now Eastern State Hospital), and prominent local Episcopal Church and school leader; Eudora Ester Armistead (d. 1940), mother; Cary Champion Armistead (d. 1944), brother, and lawyer for a time in Detroit, Michigan;...

Art Song of Williamsburg Records

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2007.58
Scope and Contents This collection contains the records and paperwork related to Art Song of Williamsburg.  This organization existed from 2000 through 2007 and was responsible for an average of three concerts a year.  Their records include papers relating to their creation and termination, financial and tax records, biographies and contracts for the artists they featured, as well as inter-organizational correspondence between board members.  Genevieve McGiffert was the founder and features prominently in the...

Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities, Colonial Capitol Branch Records

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 82 A7
Scope and Contents Records of the Colonial Capitol Branch of the Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities(APVA), Williamsburg, Va. Includes correspondence, financial and legal documents, minutes and photographs. The long run of minutes, 1900-1976, document the development and work of this preservation group which took an interest in the historical sites of Jamestown and Williamsburg, Va. There is material relating to the Branch's work to preserve and restore the Capitol grounds, the...

Cynthia Barlowe and Raymond Kimbrough Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1993.29
Scope and Contents

Papers, 1909-1966, relating to institutions in Williamsburg, Virginia including William and Mary, Matthew Whaley School and Bruton Parish Church collected by Cynthia Barlowe and Raymond Kimbrough.

Birchwood Estates Garden Club Records

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1995.30
Scope and Contents

Scrapbooks, 1960-1990, of the Birchwood Estates Garden Club in Williamsburg, Va. Contains minutes, announcements of programs, photographs, newspaper clippings, correspondence and cartoons.

Bozarth Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2003.13
Scope and Contents Business and family papers of the Bozarth family. Acc. 2003.13 Scrapbook of Mary Hockaday Bozarth, Worthy Grand Matron of the Virginia Order of the Eastern Star with a list of Matrons and Patrons from 1941 to 1942 and certificates of membership for members of the Pocahontas Chapter 103 located in Williamsburg, Virginia from 1941.  Other related items in the collection is a photograph of Eastern Star women on the way to Bermuda and the Proceedings of the Grand Chapter...

Benjamin Bray Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2002.35
Scope and Contents

One box plus oversize diploma of Benjamin Bray, William and Mary class of 1949.  He was a Common Glory actor, poet, playwright, teacher and social worker. Papers consist mostly of his poetical writings plus one play written with his brother James.

Bright Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1996.24
Scope and Contents Papers of the Bright Family of Williamsburg, Virginia and Philadephia, Pennsylvania.  Correspondence and business papers of Robert Anderson Bright of Williamsburg, Virginia and his son Robert Southall Bright, College of William and Mary class of 1891 and a Philadelphia lawyer.  Personal and professional correspondence, bills and receipts, photographs and legal papers. Includes letters between Robert Southall Bright while a student at William and Mary to his father and letter...

Carlton Casey Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1999.48
Scope and Contents

Papers of Carlton Casey.

The inventory is a guide to Mss. Acc. 1999.48 which is the postcard collection documenting pre-restoration Williamsburg, restored Williamsburg, Jamestown, the College of William and Mary, the University of Virginia, and cities, towns, and holidays in Virginia. Also includes clippings, articles, photographs, programs, and souvenir publications.

Additions to the collection are described individually.

Anne T. Chapman Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 C37
Scope and Contents Papers, 1884-1954, of Anne T. Chapman of Madison, Wisconsin and Williamsburg, Virginia.  She was a civic and social leader in the community of Williamsburg who served as librarian of the Williamsburg Public Library from 1910-1942. Papers include correspondence, diaries, photographs, and newspaper clippings and concern Gamma Phi Beta, the Williamsburg Civic League, the Williamsburg Public Library, the Williamsburg Garden Club, Bruton Parish Church, and public health.Additions...

Charles Edward Gary, Jr. Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00017
Scope and Contents These papers contain correspondence, photographs, business papers, artifacts, certificates, and other materials related to Charles Edward Gary, Jr. Mr. Gary was a prominent African American business owner in Williamsburg, operating for decades the West End Valet Shop off Prince George Street. The collection comprises business ledgers and other West End Valet Shop records over several years, as well as legal documents pertaining to the Valet Shop and Gary family estates such as leases and...

Henry Denison Cole Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 39.1 C67
Scope and Contents Included are minutes of the Wise Light Infantry Co. of Williamsburg, 1881-1882; the College of William and Mary Alumni Association, 1906-1917; papers concerning the College of William and Mary including letters, 1873, from Benjamin S. Ewell; the Williamsburg Free School Trustees, 1870-1907; and the Democratic Committee of Williamsburg. Also accounts of the state school funds, 1894-1911; the city school funds, 1906-1911, 1919-1924; Bruton Parish Church 1897-1938; and of Robert F....

Colonial Hotel Records

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2006.68 and 2007.76
Scope and Contents This collection contains reservation and information requests and carbon copy or rough draft replies about accommodations and meals at the Colonial Hotel in Williamsburg, Virginia. It also includes business and financial correspondence concerning the Colonial Hotel. Most replies unsigned, but Mrs. Mary A. Johnston was the manager during 1929 and 1930.  There are miscellaneous cards, envelopes, brochures and notepaper.  It includes a brochure from the New York Hippodrome for the...

Thomas R. Daley Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1994.09
Scope and Contents Portfolio of correspondence to Thomas R. Daley of Porto Bello Farm, ca. 1914-1920. Business records. Letters written to and from Thomas R. Daley regarding land and property investments in Minnesota, Virginia and Florida. Includes property descriptions, business records,orders for shares in the Metropolitan Milk Company in Minneapolis, Minnesota and orders for farm materials. Thomas Daley's properties in Virginia included Porto Bello Farm, Bassetterre and property on Queen's Creek...

W. C. Ewing Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 Ew4
Scope and Contents

Correspondence, programs, minutes, reports, and clippings; 1935-1936; concerning the Virginia Court season in Williamsburg for 1935 and plans for 1936.

B. Floyd Flickinger Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2012.341
Scope and Contents Papers of B. Floyd Flickinger, Superintendent of the Colonial National Historic Park.  Letters, memos, reports, speeches, documents, photographs, and other material related to the creation and operation of the Colonial National Historic Park in Yorktown, Virginia.  Material on archaeology at Jamestown and the expansion of the National Park Service.  Personal papers which include Flickinger's position at the Technical Training Service at the Quartermaster School during World War II, his...

Rosa Marie and James A. Fuller Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2001.F95
Scope and Contents

Collection includes letters, citations, scripts of plays, photographs, slides and videos concerning Rosa Marie Fuller's teaching career and James A. Fuller's employment with the Colonial Williamsburg Foundation and his service with the Boy Scouts.

Galt Papers (III)

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 78 G73
Scope and Contents The collection covers the dates 1750-1982 and consists chiefly of the personal and business correspondence, financial and legal documents, literary documents, and family history and genealogy notes of the Galt family. The collection also contains clippings, photographs, and personal mementos such as artifacts. Negatives have been added to Galt III, Group XI, Box IV, folder 44. Some material pertaining to William R. Galt is filed in 78 G73 Galt Family Papers III,...

Geddy-Harris Archive Records

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 2013.112
Scope and Contents

This collection contains deeds, abstracts of title, wills, and other legal documents from the law firm of Geddy, Harris, Franck & Hickman in Williamsburg, Virginia. The bulk of the material consists of abstracts of title to real property located in Williamsburg, Virginia, and nearby counties, including the Historic Area of Colonial Williamsburg, from the 1920s to the 1950s, as well as deeds to properties in Williamsburg and nearby counties from the 1880s to the 1950s.

Guy Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1985.42
Scope and Contents Papers of the William George and Gladys Bennett Guy family of Williamsburg, Virginia with additions from Joan Eastman Bennett.  Includes correspondence, invitations, minutes, clippings, oral histories, notebooks, reports, photographs, written memories, essays and printed materials. Papers include items about water and gas, Williamsburg Landing, American Red Cross, Williamsburg United Service Organization, Williamsburg Female Academy, College of William and Mary and zoning regulations. ...

Channing M. Hall III Williamsburg, Virginia Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 1999.19a and Additions
Scope and Contents

The collection includes personal as well as offical papers of Channing M. Hall III of Williamsburg. Hall was a member of the Williamsburg City Council and most of the collection concerns the government of the Williamsburg, Virginia.

Channing Moore Hall Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1992.66, 2005.16
Scope and Contents

Professional and personal papers of Channing Moore Hall (1890-1953) attorney and mayor of Williamsburg. A box and folder list for accession 1992.66 of the collection is available in the Special Collections Research Center. A description of accession 2005.16 is available below in the finding aid/inventory.

Hall Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 90 H14
Scope and Contents This collection consists of the papers of the Hall and Moore families of New York, Richmond, Va. and Williamsburg, Va. Includes wills, estate papers, legal and financial transactions, 1810-1915, of Jacob Hall, Sarah Hall and Cunningham Hall; and Bishop Richard Channing Moore, Virginia Moore, Harriet Glenworth Moore, Margaretta Moore and Louise Moore. Contains correspondence, 1854-1876, between Zebulon S. Farland and Ellen Douglas Gordon Farland; letters, 1906-1928, to Margaret (Farland)...

Virginia B. Haughwout Papers

 Collection — Box: 1
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1997.17
Scope and Contents Correspondence and legal papers, 1951-1955, of Mrs. Virginia B. Haughwout of Williamsburg, Virginia, about the construction of a "Virginia Gazette" building on her property on the Duke of Gloucester Street. Correspondence is chiefly with her lawyer Robert T. Armistead and Kenneth Chorley, President of the Colonial Williamsburg Foundation. Includes memorandum of argument on behalf of Colonial Williamsburg, Inc., prepared by the firm of Hunton, Williams, Gay, Moore and Powell, 6 June 1955,...

Helen Jones Campbell Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 91 C15
Scope and Contents Papers; 1936-1973; of author and Yorktown, Va. resident Helen J. Campbell (1894-1979). Includes photographs, notes, correspondence, clippings, photostats, and manuscript versions of short stories, essays, articles, and books. Her papers concern Yorktown and York County, Va., such as Yorktown National Park, Coleman Bridge, Bruton Parish, the Syms & Eaton School, and other local interest topics. Material also relates to Abraham Lincoln's assassination surrounding Mary E. J. Surratt, John...

Filtered By

  • Subject: Correspondence X
  • Subject: Correspondence X
  • Subject: Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Correspondence 51
Photographs 35
Financial records 15
Programs 14
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 13
∨ more
Legal documents 11
Minutes 11
Clippings (information artifacts) 10
Scrapbooks 10
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century 10
Reports 9
Certificates 8
Notebooks 8
Pamphlets 8
Diaries 7
Letters (correspondence) 7
Matthew Whaley School (Williamsburg, Va.) 7
Newspapers 7
Williamsburg (Va.)--Photographs 7
Manuscripts (document genre) 6
Printed ephemera 6
Williamsburg (Va.)--City Council 6
Education--Virginia--Williamsburg--20th century 5
Fliers (printed matter) 5
James City County (Va.)--History--20th century 5
Publications 5
World War, 1939-1945 5
Account books 4
Agendas (administrative records) 4
Business records 4
Clubs--Virginia--Williamsburg 4
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation--History 4
Eastern State Hospital (Va.)--History 4
Jamestown (Va.)--History--20th century 4
Schools--Virginia--Williamsburg 4
Speeches 4
Williamsburg (Va.)--Social life and customs 4
World War, 1914-1918 4
Books 3
Confederate Memorial (Williamsburg, Va.) 3
Deeds 3
Episcopal Church--Virginia--Clergy--20th century 3
Genealogy 3
Newsletters 3
Poems 3
Receipts (financial records) 3
Virginia--History--20th century 3
Williamsburg (Va.)--Library 3
York County (Va.)--History 3
Yorktown (Va.)--History--20th century 3
Booklets 2
Broadsides 2
Chaplains, Military--United States--20th century 2
Checks (bank checks) 2
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 2
Historic buildings--Conservation and restoration--Virginia--Williamsburg 2
Invitations 2
Jamestown Festival (1957) 2
Maps 2
Obituaries 2
Postcards 2
Resolutions (administrative records) 2
Slides (photographs) 2
Speeches, addresses, etc. 2
Video recordings 2
Vietnam War, 1961-1975 2
Virginia--Religious history 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--City Planning Commission 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--Colonial Period--History 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--History 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--18th century 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--21st century 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--World War, 1939-1945 2
Women--Education--Virginia 2
Yearbooks 2
York County (Va.)--History--20th century 2
Address books 1
African Americans--History--20th century 1
African Americans--Virginia--James City County 1
African Americans--Virginia--Lightfoot 1
African Americans--Virginia--Suffrage 1
African Americans--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
Agriculture--Virginia--History--18th century 1
American Red Cross--History--World War II period 1
Announcements 1
Art centers 1
Artifacts 1
Athletics--Football--Scandal of 1951 1
Audiocassettes 1
Bank statements 1
Baptist Church--Virginia--History 1
Baptists--United States--Clergy 1
Baptists--Virginia--History 1
Bibliographies 1
Building Permits--Virginia 1
Capitol (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Cartoons 1
Chaplains, Hospital. 1
Charities--Virginia 1
∧ less
 
Language
German 1
 
Names
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 19
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 9
Bruton Parish Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 7
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation 7
Eastern State Hospital (Va.) 3
∨ more
Tyler, Lyon Gardiner, 1853-1935 3
Virginia Gazette (Williamsburg, Va.) 3
College of William and Mary. 2
College of William and Mary. School of Education 2
Colonial National Historical Park (Va.) 2
Democratic Party (U.S.) 2
Ewell, Benjamin Stoddert 2
Hall, Channing Moore, III 2
Richmond (Va.) News Leader 2
The Model School (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
University of Virginia 2
Williamsburg Garden Club (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
American Association of University Women 1
American Red Cross 1
Armistead Family 1
Armistead, Cary Champion, d. 1944 1
Armistead, Dora Travis, 1890-1979 1
Armistead, Rowland Cara 1
Art Song of Williamsburg (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities 1
Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities. Colonial Capitol Branch 1
Barlowe, Cynthia Beverly Tucker Kimbrough 1
Bennett, Henry Eastman, 1873-1941 1
Blackstone Female Institute (Va.) 1
Boy Scouts of America 1
Bozarth family 1
Bradby family 1
Bradby, Signor 1
Bray, Benjamin F., b. circa 1926 and d. 2002 1
Bright family 1
Bright family. 1
Bright, Robert Anderson, 1839-1904 1
Bright, Robert Southall, 1872-1943 1
Bright, Robert Southall, 1872-1947 1
Bundles for Britain, Inc 1
Camp Peary (Va.) 1
Casey, Carlton 1
Chapman, Anne T., 1868-1954 1
Charles, John S., 1851-1930 1
Cole Family 1
Cole, Henry Denison, 1856-1938 1
Coleman family 1
College of William and Mary. Board of Visitors 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of History 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Music 1
College of William and Mary. Swem Library 1
Colonial Hotel Management 1
Crozer Theological Seminary 1
Daley, Thomas R., 1862 - 1
Democratic Party (Va.) 1
Dinwiddie, Robert, 1693-1770 1
Dovell, Grover Ashton, 1885-1949 1
Dunmore, John Murray, Earl of, 1732-1809 1
Flickinger, B. Floyd, 1905-1992 1
Fraternities--Social--Kappa Sigma 1
Galt family 1
Galt, Alexander D. II, 1827-1863 1
Galt, Elizabeth Judith, 1816-1854 1
Galt, James, 1741-1800 1
Galt, John Minson, 1744-1808 1
Galt, John Minson, 1819-1862 1
Galt, Mary Meares, 1885-1978 1
Galt, Sallie, 1822-1880 1
Galt, William Richard, 1818-1892 1
Gary, Charles Edward Jr. , 1907-2001 1
Gary, Zelda DeBerry 1
Geddy, Vernon M., Jr 1
Goodrich, E. E., (Mrs.) 1
Graves, Thomas Ashley, Jr 1
Greenwood Pre-school (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Guy family 1
Guy family. 1
Guy, Gladys Elizabeth Bennett 1
Guy, William George 1
Hall, J. Lesslie (John Lesslie), 1856- 1
Hall, John Lesslie, Jr., 1891-1978 1
Haughwout, Virginia B. 1
Henley, John Turner, 1900-1974 1
Hickman family 1
Improved Benevolent Protective Order of Elks of the World 1
Johnson, Lyndon B. (Lyndon Baines), 1908-1973 1
Johnston, Mary A. 1
Jones family 1
Kate Custis Circle (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Kibler, James Luther, 1867-1953 1
Kimbrough, Janet C 1
Kimbrough, Janet C. (Janet Coleman) 1
Kimbrough, Raymond, 1889-1993 1
King's Daughters (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Lake Placid (N.Y.) Council on Foreign Policy 1
Lee Family 1
Lee family 1
Lee, Edward Myers 1
Lee, Elizabeth Mallory, 1902- 1
Lee, Peticolas, 1904- 1
∧ less