Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 7 of 7

Alexander Campbell to Hannah Acheson Typescript Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00215
Scope and Contents

Carbon of a typed transcript of a declaration of love and marriage proposal letter from Alexander Campbell, one of the founders of the "Restoration Movement" and Hannah Acheson, December, 1809. Transcribed by Earl Gregg Swem.  Location of original is unknown.

Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Gertha Sykes Collins Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2011.487
Scope and Contents Primarily this is a collection of love letters written between 1942-1944 to Gertha Barbara Jean Sykes residing in St. Louis, Missouri and James NMI Dansby, an African-American soldier in the United States Army. There are also letters from two other Army soldiers, Jack Smith, stationed in the Pacific and Benjamin D. Collins, an aircompany soldier, whom Sykes married in 1949. The letters begin when Dansby joined the Army and started basic training in Camp Shelby, Hattiesburg,...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Maude A. Howdershell and Milton F. Kerrick Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.481
Scope and Contents

Letters, 1909-1919 between Maude A. Howdershell and Milton F. Kerrick, a courting couple of Alexandria, Virginia who were engaged toward the later part of their correspondence. Milton F. Kerrick seems to have worked for a railroad since at least one letter-head is that of a railroad brotherhood.

Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Milton Kerrick and Maude Howdershell Letters

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00239
Content Description Over 200 letters exchanged between Milton Kerrick and Maude Howdershell from 1908 through the 1930's. Both lived in Alexandria, Virginia and most of the letters are personal in nature as Kerrick actively courted Howdershell during this time. Kerrick was openly expressive in his love for the more reserved Howdershell. On October 8, 1919 the two were married, but their love letters continued as Kerrick was often away with his work for the Southern Railroad Company. There are also some letters...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Rathbun Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00020
Scope and Contents The collection consists mostly of love letters between Ella-May Abbott of New Orleans, Louisiana and Walter James Rathbun who is based in ship ports in the United States, Europe, Nicaragua and the Panama Canal Zone.  Letters from Walter Rathbun’s Mother, Mrs. J. Baird of Floral Park, New Jersey and other family members are included. Ella-May and Walter begin a correspondence courtship in 1916, then breakup in 1919. They begin writing to each other again in 1926 and finally marry...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Rosalie White Irwin Letters

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00342
Content Description A collection of two hundred and twenty-one letters sent to Rosalie White Irwin, a resident of Richmond, Virginia, dated from 1937 to 1950. Most of the letters included are from a variety of male admirers or boyfriends, including her future husband, Ted. The men are all serving in the army at the end of World War II and in the years following. Their letters provide descriptions of army and camp life both at home and abroad in India, the Philippines, Australia, Japan, and the South Pacific....
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Marie Katherine and Oliver E. Seegelken Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2014.083
Scope and Contents The papers of Marie Katherine and Oliver Seegelken consist of a 1934 diary of the couple's South American sea voyage kept by Marie Seegelken, and of love letters between husband and wife, 1918, 1943, and undated. During WWI, Oliver Seegelken served in the USNRF (United States Naval Reserve Force) in San Pedro, California.The diary is filled not only with an account of each day, but with hand-drawn illustrations of passengers, crew, and ports.  Marie Seegelken also wrote vignettes...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Filtered By

  • Subject: Correspondence X
  • Subject: Correspondence X
  • Subject: Love letters X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Love-letters 5
Letters (correspondence) 4
Correspondence 3
Courtship--United States--History--20th century 3
Courtship--1910-1920 2
∨ more
Courtship--Virginia--History 2
Love letters 2
Panama--Description and travel 2
Soldiers--United States--Correspondence 2
World War, 1939-1945--United States 2
African Americans--History--20th century 1
Alexandria (Va.)--History 1
Camp Shelby (Miss.) 1
Canal Zone 1
Censorship--United States--History--20th century 1
Courtship--1940-1950 1
Diaries 1
Drawings (visual works) 1
El Salvador--Description and travel 1
Fort Mason (Calif.)--History 1
Guatemala--Description and travel 1
Honduras--Description and travel 1
Knights Templar (Masonic order) 1
Latin America--Description and travel 1
Menus 1
Merchant marine--United States 1
Mexico--Description and travel 1
Nicaragua--Description and travel 1
Ocean liners--American--1930-1940 1
Ocean travel--1930-1940 1
Printed ephemera 1
Railroads--Employees 1
SS Santa Catalina (Steamship) 1
SS Santa Elena (Steamship) 1
Segregation--United States--1940-1950 1
Shipping--United States 1
Ships' passenger lists 1
Soldiers--1940-1950 1
Soldiers--American--1940-1950 1
Soldiers--Recreation 1
Soldiers--Training of--United States--History--20th century 1
Soldiers--United States--Social life and customs--20th century 1
Transcripts 1
United States. Navy--History--20th century 1
United States. Navy--History--World War, 1939-1945 1
Virginia--Social life and customs--20th century 1
Women travelers--Diaries 1
Women--Social life and customs. 1
Women--Virginia--Social life and customs 1
World War II 1
World War, 1914-1918 1
World War, 1939-1945--Pacific Area 1
World War, 1939-1945--Personal narratives 1
World War, 1939-1945--Women--United States 1
∧ less
 
Names
Acheson, Hannah 1
Collins, Benjamin D. 1
Collins, Gertha Sykes 1
Dansby, James 1
Grace Line 1
∨ more
Howdershell, Maude A. 1
Howdershell, Maude Amanda "Betty" 1
Kerrick, Maude Amanda Howdershell 1
Kerrick, Milton F. 1
Kerrick, Milton Fristoe 1
Rathbun family 1
Seegelken, Marie Katherine 1
Seegelken, Oliver 1
United Service Organizations (U.S.) 1
United States. Naval Reserve 1
∧ less