Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 10 of 17

Bishop James Madison Letter to the Speaker of the House of Delegates concerning Eastern State Hospital

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00641
Scope and Contents Letter, 1788 October 31, Bishop James Madison, Williamsburg, to the Speaker of the House of Delegates of Virginia, Richmond, Virginia. Concerns Bishop Madison request to the General Assembly of Virginia funds to support the Eastern State Hospital for Lunatics. Also included is a lithograph of Bishop James Madison. The letter and lithograph were given by Harry Krauss in honor of professor David L. Holmes.

Bishop John Johns Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00127
Scope and Contents Letter from Bishop John Johns in Richmond, Virginia to Henry Anthon, D.D. and Rector of St. Mark's Church, Bowery, New York dated June 11, 1849.  Subject matter of the letter is the College of William and Mary and specifically the appointment of Dr. Stone to the College.  John Johns served as the fifteenth President of the College from 1849 until 1854.  He was also  the 4th Bishop of Virginia, elected in 1862.

John Bracken Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 6.090
Scope and Contents This collection consists of two documents. One is dated August 13, 1791 and signed by John Bracken. It is an agreement among William Griffin of King and Queen County, Corbin Griffin of York County, Cyris and Samuel Griffin of Williamsburg, and Richard Adams of Richmond. Bracken is mentioned twice in the document. The other document is dated October 26, 1792 and appears to be related to the first. Written and signed by Bracken, the document serves as a receipt of transfer/sale of stock and...

Dew Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 D51
Scope and Contents Papers, 1794-1895, of the Dew family. Mostly correspondence of Thomas Roderick Dew, faculty member and president of the College of William and Mary and his brother Benjamin Franklin Dew, a lawyer of Newtown, King and Queen County, Va. Correspondents include William Boulware, Edward Everett, and Andrew Stevenson. Includes documents, 1838-1858, relating to Thomas Roderick Dew's estate such as his will, inventories of personal property, court degrees, and accounts....

Adam Empie Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 Em7
Scope and Contents Papers, 1821-1979, of and concerning Adam Empie, the president of the College of William and Mary and his family. Includes account book, 1829-1831, of Adam Empie and copy of his will as well as four letters, undated, from Sarah Moore Grimke to Anna Eliza (Wright) Empie as well as a commonplace book, undated; poems; engravings; flower illustrations, sketches and silhouettes; and prayers.The addition, Mss. 1979.13, includes papers of the Rev. Dr. Adam Empie’s descendants, most...

University Archives Greetings File Collection

 Collection
Identifier: 00/02/UA 121
Scope and Contents The University Archives Greetings File Collection includes greetings sent by the College of William and Mary to other institutions as well as those received by the College.

A card catalog located in the SCRC indexes the items available in this collection. The card catalog was maintained and added to through January 2007. All items added to the collection in 2007 and forward are inventoried in this finding aid.

Guy Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 1985.42
Scope and Contents Papers of the William George and Gladys Bennett Guy family of Williamsburg, Virginia with additions from Joan Eastman Bennett.  Includes correspondence, invitations, minutes, clippings, oral histories, notebooks, reports, photographs, written memories, essays and printed materials. Papers include items about water and gas, Williamsburg Landing, American Red Cross, Williamsburg United Service Organization, Williamsburg Female Academy, College of William and Mary and zoning regulations.  Includes...

Inauguration and Investiture Committee Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 100
Scope and Contents This collection contains materials about the inauguration of Gene R. Nichol as the 26th president and the investiture of Sandra Day O'Connor as the 23rd Chancellor of William and Mary. The event took place on 7 April 2006.

Thomas Millington Collection

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00306
Scope and Contents Twelve pieces of oversized artwork, including originals and reproduction copies, by Thomas C. Millington, son of John Millington, William & Mary professor of Chemistry and Natural Philosophy. This collection is divided into two series. Series 1 compiles lithographic prints (one original and seven reproductions) of the "Millington print," a lithograph based off of Millington's illustrations of William & Mary's Historic Campus. Series 2 compiles drawings and watercolor...

Office of the President. Paul R. Verkuil Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 2.17
Scope and Contents This collection is composed of files from the College of William and Mary Office of the President during the administration of Paul Verkuil. For the most part, headings assigned to folders in their office of origin have been maintained in the box list inventories available here.

Filtered By

  • Subject: College of William and Mary--Presidents X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Names
College of William and Mary. 3
Office of the President 3
Dew, Thomas R. (Thomas Roderick), 1802-1846 2
Johns, John (1796-1876) 2
Nichol, Gene R., 1951- 2
∨ more
Saunders, Robert, 1805-1868 2
Verkuil, Paul R 2
Williamsburg Community Council (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
American Association of University Women 1
American Red Cross 1
Associated and Branch Campuses--Virginia Associated Research Campus 1
Bennett, Henry Eastman, 1873-1941 1
Bracken, John 1
Brookins, Gary 1
Bruton Parish Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Busch Gardens (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
College of William and Mary 1
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 1
College of William and Mary--Faculty 1
College of William and Mary. Board of Visitors 1
College of William and Mary. Board of Visitors. 1
College of William and Mary. College of Arts and Sciences 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Fine Arts 1
College of William and Mary. Inauguration and Investiture Committee 1
College of William and Mary. Office of the President 1
College of William and Mary. School of Education 1
College of William and Mary. William and Mary Theatre 1
Development Office--Endowment Assocation 1
Dew family 1
Dew, Benjamin Franklin, fl. 1820-1876 1
Educational and Civic Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Empie, Adam, 1785-1860 1
Graves, Thomas Ashley, Jr 1
Graves, Thomas Ashley, Jr., 1924- 1
Guy family 1
Guy family. 1
Guy, Gladys Elizabeth Bennett 1
Guy, William George 1
Healy, George R. 1
Johns, John, July 1796- April 4, 1876 1
Madison, James, 1749-1812 1
Marshall-Wythe School of Law 1
Mathews, Mary 1
Middle Plantation Agricultural Society (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Miller, Shirley Fout 1
Millington, Thomas Charles, fl. 1836-1850 1
Miss Williamsburg Pageant (Va.) 1
Mt. Ararat Baptist Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Nott, Edward (Governor) 1
Omohundro Institute of Early American History and Culture 1
Order of the White Jacket 1
Peninsula News (Toano, Va.) 1
Peninsula Transit Corporation 1
Phillip H. Jones 1
Pulaski Club (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Richmond Times-Dispatch (Va.) 1
Snell, Stephen Holmes 1
Special Collections Research Center 1
State Council of Higher Education for Virginia 1
The Palace (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
The Virginia Comedians 1
Unitarian Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
United Service Organizations (U.S.) 1
United States Amateur Ballroom Dancers Association. Chapter #609 (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Verkuil, Paul R. 1
Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Board 1
Virginia Gazette (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Virginia Independence Bicentennial Commission 1
Virginia Institute of Marine Science 1
Virginia Shakespeare Festival 1
Washington, Henry A., 1820-1858 1
Washington, Lawrence, 1791-1875 1
William & Mary GALA (Gay and Lesbian Alumni/ae), Inc 1
Williamsburg Baptist Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Williamsburg Businessmen's Association (Va.) 1
Williamsburg Female Institute (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Williamsburg Garden Club (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Williamsburg High School (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Williamsburg Press, Inc 1
Williamsburg Theater (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Woman's Club of Williamsburg (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Wood, Sumner, 1902- 1
∧ less