Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 21 - 30 of 255

Edward Francis Birckhead Pledge to Teach Fulfillment Form

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.113
Scope and Contents This collection consists of one form, completed by Edward Francis Birckhead, reporting how he fulfilled his pledge to the State Male Normal College and William & Mary to teach. He served as principal of Ivy High School in Albemarle County, Virginia after leaving William & Mary.

Pledges such as this were required of Virginia students who attended William and Mary receiving financial assistance with the understanding they would teach in Virginia upon graduation.

Bishop James Madison Society Posters and Flyers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 331
Scope and Contents Posters, flyers and ephemeral material related to the Bishop James Madison Society, a secret society on the campus of William and Mary founded in 1812.

Van Black Collection

 Collection
Identifier: 00/05/UA 5.178
Overview This collection includes color slides and a quilt which offer insight into student life at the College of William and Mary during the mid-1970s.

Board of Visitors Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 1
Scope and Contents The records of the Board of Visitors of the College of William and Mary includes meeting minutes and agendas, matriculation books, correspondence, material from Board of Visitors Rectors Oscar L. Shewmake and Roy Harvey Chappell, Jr., publications, and audio recordings of meetings from 1961-1999. An index to Board of Visitors meetings for the period 1947-1984 is available in the Special Collections Research Center. Researchers are also encouraged to consult the University Archives...

Leonard Born Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.048
Scope and Contents The collection includes papers written by Born during the course of his attendance at William & Mary, mainly for English classes. There is also correspondence from 1985 and loose pages from a photo album believed to have been assembled by Born, while a student at William & Mary. The contents are primarily photographs of campus and Williamsburg area from the 1926-1927. Additional photographs relate to life in rural, early twentieth century Virginia, the Newport News Shipyard, Carter's...

University Archives Bound Volumes Collection

 Collection
Identifier: UA 15
Scope and Contents This collection contains information about the College of William and Mary from the Eighteenth Century to the present. Included in the collection are faculty lecture notes from a variety of classes, scrapbooks, research notes, correspondence, textbooks used at the College of William and Mary, minute and account books, poetry books, student notebooks, a literary manual, and various other miscellaneous bound volumes.

Bozarth and Warburton Ledger

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Alu4 Oversize
Scope and Contents Ledger, 1898-1908, of Bozarth and Warburton, merchants and lumbermen of Williamsburg, Va. which includes the accounts of a potato brokerage (a business of William A. Bozarth and [?] Savage); and a lumber account, 1901, with the College of William and Mary).

Bozarth Brothers Ledger

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame8
Scope and Contents Ledger, 1913-1916, of Bozarth Brothers, merchants, of Williamsburg, Va., including accounts with the College of William and Mary and with Eastern State Hospital.

William A. Bozarth Account Book 1

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Alu1
Scope and Contents Ledger, 1910, of William A. Bozarth, lumberman, Williamsburg, Va., including an account, 1910, with the College of William and Mary for a roof and for delivery of coal.

Alan V. Briceland Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.172
Scope and Contents This collection contains class schedules, syllabi, exams, and other material related to Alan V. Briceland while a student at the College of William and Mary from 1957-1961. Included in the papers are activity and meal cards, laundry lists, and material related to the Circle K club. The class material includes courses from the History, Government, English, Philosophy, and Education departments.

Filtered By

  • Subject: College of William and Mary--History--20th century X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Names
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 70
College of William and Mary. 27
College of William and Mary 14
State Male Normal College of Virginia 12
Office of the President 11
∨ more
College of William and Mary. School of Education 10
College of William and Mary. Board of Visitors 8
College of William and Mary--Faculty 7
College of William and Mary. Dept. of English 7
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation 7
Marshall-Wythe School of Law 7
Tyler, Lyon Gardiner, 1853-1935 7
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 7
Chandler, J. A. C. (Julian Alvin Carroll), 1872-1934 6
College of William and Mary. Office of the President 6
Omohundro Institute of Early American History and Culture 6
Bryan, John Stewart, 1871-1944 5
College of William and Mary. William and Mary Theatre 5
Paschall, Davis Young, 1911-2001 5
Phi Beta Kappa. Virginia Alpha (College of William and Mary) 5
Chandler, Alvin Duke, 1902-1987 4
College of William and Mary. College of Arts and Sciences 4
State Council of Higher Education for Virginia 4
Barksdale, Martha, 1900-1974 3
Bruton Parish Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 3
College of William and Mary. Dept. of History 3
Democratic Party (U.S.) 3
Development Office--Endowment Association 3
Faculty--Meetings 3
Graves, Thomas Ashley, Jr 3
Hall, J. Lesslie (John Lesslie), 1856- 3
Office of Student Affairs 3
Pollard, John Garland, 1871-1937 3
Society of the Alumni 3
University of Virginia 3
Verkuil, Paul R 3
Virginia Institute of Marine Science 3
American Red Cross 2
American Studies Program 2
Associated and Branch Campuses--Richard Bland College 2
Associated and Branch Campuses--Virginia Associated Research Campus 2
Bishop James Madison Society 2
Calkins, Emily Eleanor 2
Camp Peary (Va.) 2
Choir and Chorus 2
College of William and Mary--Baseball 2
College of William and Mary--Basketball 2
College of William and Mary--Football 2
College of William and Mary--Sports 2
College of William and Mary. Board of Visitors. 2
College of William and Mary. Dean of Women 2
College of William and Mary. Dean of the College 2
College of William and Mary. Department of Athletics. 2
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Chemistry 2
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Fine Arts 2
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Government 2
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Home Economics 2
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Mathematics 2
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Music 2
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Physics 2
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Psychology 2
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Theatre, Speech, and Dance 2
College of William and Mary. Office of the Bursar. 2
College of William and Mary. Office of the Chancellor 2
College of William and Mary. Swem Library 2
College of William and Mary. University Archives. 2
College of William and Mary. University Relations. 2
College of William and Mary.. Office of the Dean of Faculty of Arts and Sciences. 2
Colonial National Historical Park (Va.) 2
Dean of Students. 2
Dean of the Faculty of Arts and Sciences 2
Democratic Party (Va.) 2
Dept. of History 2
Deptartment of English 2
Dinwiddie, Robert, 1693-1770 2
Eastern State Hospital (Va.) 2
Ford, Gerald R., 1913-2006 2
Fowler, Harold L. 2
Godwin, Edwin Mills, Jr., 1914-1999 2
Hoke, Kremer Jacob, 1878-1944 2
Kappa Alpha Order. Alpha Zeta Chapter (College of William and Mary) 2
Lee Family 2
Lee, Elizabeth Mallory, 1902- 2
Literary Societies--Phoenix Literary Society 2
Miller, James Wilkinson, 1902- 2
Office of the Vice President for Student Affairs. 2
Order of the White Jacket 2
Republican Party (U.S.) 2
Self Study 2
Student Activities 2
Student Organizations--Orchesis 2
Tuck, William Munford, 1896-1983 2
Tyler, John, 1790-1862 2
Virginia Commonwealth University 2
Virginia State Senate 2
Wilson, Woodrow, 1856-1924 2
Africana Studies Program 1
Alliance Insurance Company of Philadelphia 1
Allison, Anna Dorsey Cooke 1
Alumni Band Organization. 1
∧ less