Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 25 of 70

B. Davenport & Co. Ledger

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame20
Scope and Contents

Ledger, 1841-1861, of B. Davenport & Co., merchants, of Williamsburg, Va. which includes accounts, 1860, with the College of William and Mary and which was used as a scrapbook, 1892-1905, for newspaper clippings of poems and articles; Christmas cards; valentines; advertisements; cigarette cards; and seed catalog covers.

Martha Barksdale Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 6.004
Scope and Contents

The papers include Martha Barksdale's diary for 1918-1919, recording her experiences as a member of the first class of women at William and Mary. The bulk of the collection consists of photographs that document student activities and women's sports at the college from her student years to her teaching career. The bulk of the photographs date from the 1920s-1940s.

Blair, Banister, Braxton, Horner, Whiting Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 B58
Scope and Contents Letters, chiefly 1765-1817, of the Blair, Banister, Braxton, Horner, and Whiting families. Correspondents include John Blair (1732-1800), Anne (Blair) Banister and Mary (Blair) Braxton Burwell Prescott. Many of the letters are written by women.Subjects covered in the collection include the Baron de Botetourt, William Tryon, Martha Washington, dueling, social life and customs, marriage and courtship, medicine, the Richmond theater fire, slavery, War of 1812, the College of William...

Blow Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 B63
Scope and Contents Papers, 1770-1875, of the Blow family of "Tower Hill," Sussex County, Va. and of the Waller family. Prominent correspondents in the collection include Philip Barraud, John Hartwell Cocke, Henry Lee and Edmund Ruffin. Most of these accessions were integrated as the collection was partially processed, but some are boxed separately. Includes a Blow family scrapbook containing many manuscript items. Collection includes: correspondence of Richard Blow (1746-1833), merchant, who had...

Bozarth and Warburton Ledger

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Alu4 Oversize
Scope and Contents

Ledger, 1898-1908, of Bozarth and Warburton, merchants and lumbermen of Williamsburg, Va. which includes the accounts of a potato brokerage (a business of William A. Bozarth and [?] Savage); and a lumber account, 1901, with the College of William and Mary).

Bozarth Brothers Ledger

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame8
Scope and Contents

Ledger, 1913-1916, of Bozarth Brothers, merchants, of Williamsburg, Va., including accounts with the College of William and Mary and with Eastern State Hospital.

William A. Bozarth Account Book 1

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Alu1
Scope and Contents

Ledger, 1910, of William A. Bozarth, lumberman, Williamsburg, Va., including an account, 1910, with the College of William and Mary for a roof and for delivery of coal.

Brown, Coalter, Tucker Papers (I)

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 B85
Scope and Contents Papers, 1780-1929, of the Brown, Coalter, Tucker families including the papers of John Coalter (1769-1838), Judge of the Supreme Court of Appeals of Virginia, and John Thompson Brown (1802-1836), member of the Virginia House of Delegates.Among the correspondents are Maria (Rind) Coalter, St. George Tucker, William Munford, Frances Bland (Tucker) Coalter, St. George Tucker Coalter, Frances Bland (Coalter) Brown, the Rev. Moses D. Hoge, and Henry Peronneau Brown.This...

Cabell Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 C12
Scope and Contents Accounts, surveys and correspondence, chiefly 1743-1823, of members of the Cabell family of Albemarle and Amherst counties, Virginia.Includes accounts and land transactions, 1733-1754, of Dr. William Cabell (1699-1774) as well as letters written to him concerning medical treatment.Also includes accounts, surveys of Amherst County and correspondence with commission merchants of William Cabell (1730-1798); and surveyor's license and surveys of William Cabell (b....

Charles Campbell Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 C17
Scope and Contents The Charles Campbell papers consist of papers received or collected by Charles Campbell (1807-1876), Virginia historian. The papers fall into four general headings: historical papers collected by Charles Campbell, correspondence, manuscript volumes, and miscellaneous. These include personal and professional correspondence as well as eighteenth century documents collected by Charles Campbell, newspaper clippings, diaries, scrapbooks, and notebooks, covering then period 1743-1896. The papers...

Julian Alvin Carroll Chandler Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 2.09
Scope and Contents Personal papers of and concerning Julian Alvin Carroll Chandler, president of William & Mary. Includes biographical materials, student notebook kept at John Hopkins University; scrapbook of letters compiled in honor of the fifteenth anniversary of Chandler's presidency; and correspondence, 1895-1916. There is correspondence of Frederic William Boatwright and some letters concern the Richmond Academy, the Women's College of Richmond, and Richmond College. Acc. 2012.062...

Gideon Christian Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00150
Scope and Contents Papers, 1838-1882, of Gideon Christian, physician, of Norfolk, Va. The collection includes letters, accounts, lotteries, prescriptions, and forms for excusing draftees into the Confederate Army on medical grounds. A 1993 addendum to this collection (Mss. Acc. 1993.63) consists of two medical essays and one College of William and Mary student notebook belonging to Dr. Gideon Christian.  The student notebook begins October 15th 1840. Medical essays include notes made while...

Christopher Newport College Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 87
Scope and Contents

Series 1: Acc. 1984.069: This series contains Budgets, from 1963-1976, and capital outlay requests from 1966-1972, that were submitted to the Virginia State Legislature. They include appropriations requests and justifications.

Series 2: This series contains publications produced by Christopher Newport from 1959-1977. The inventory for this accession is available below in the finding aid/inventory section of this finding aid.

Civil War Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 C76
Scope and Contents The Civil War Collection is an artificial collection of material, chiefly 1861-1865, pertaining to the American Civil War including items from both Union and Confederate forces. The collection includes official correspondence, general and special orders, descriptions of campaigns and battles, articles concerning the war, and artifacts. There are pardons, poems, songs, autographs, maps, muster rolls, pen and ink sketches of camp life, engineers' drawings, and a memorandum of signals used by...

Henry Denison Cole Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 39.1 C67
Scope and Contents Included are minutes of the Wise Light Infantry Co. of Williamsburg, 1881-1882; the College of William and Mary Alumni Association, 1906-1917; papers concerning the College of William and Mary including letters, 1873, from Benjamin S. Ewell; the Williamsburg Free School Trustees, 1870-1907; and the Democratic Committee of Williamsburg. Also accounts of the state school funds, 1894-1911; the city school funds, 1906-1911, 1919-1924; Bruton Parish Church 1897-1938; and of Robert F....

William Cole Collection of Documents Pertaining to the Colonial-Era

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00196
Content Description

Documents, prints, and heraldry pertaining to Virginia governors from the 17th and 18th centuries. Includes letters and documents signed by John Murray, Robert Brooke, James Wood, Beverly Randolph, Patrick Henry, Edmund Andros, Jeffrey Amherst, Norborne Berkeley, Robert Hunter, Francis Fauquier, Earl De La Warr, James Blair, and Robert Dinwiddie among others. Also included in the collection are prints, coats of arms, and commemorative coins.

College Papers Collection

 Collection
Identifier: UA 14
Scope and Contents

This collection includes a variety of material formats and subjects from throughout the College's history.

Colonial Festival Collection

 Collection
Identifier: UA 161
Scope and Contents

This collection includes schedules, invitations, and programs for the Colonial Festival held by the College of William and Mary and the City of Williamsburg, Virginia.

William and Thomas Dawson Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 Pst D32
Scope and Contents

Negative photostats of items from the correspondence of the Rev. William Dawson and the Rev. Thomas Dawson, both of whom were commissaries of the Church of England in Virginia and presidents of the College of William and Mary. Prominent correspondents include Patrick Henry, Samuel Davies, John Blair and Robert Dinwiddie.

Office of the Dean of Women Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 24
Scope and Contents Acc. 1983.074: Student Activity Notebooks, 1936-1948. This accession contains loose-leaf notebooks with the names of female students and the activities they took part in. It also contains newspaper clippings, letters, and programs about women's activities, arranged by year.Acc. 1983.094: Office Records, 1928-1936. This accession includes correspondence and reports. An inventory is available in the Special Collections Research Center.The collection also includes memos,...

Carl R. Dolmetsch Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 00/06/UA 6.111
Scope and Contents This collection contains correspondence, publications, and other material kept by Carl R. Dolmetsch, a professor in the Department of English at the College of William and Mary. Included in the collection are publications, a drawing, and a poster related to author H.L. Mencken; correspondence concerning potential visiting lecturers to events in the Department of Engllish; and letters written to Carl R. Dolmetsch by persons who had contributed material to Smart...

Farmer's Account Book, Williamsburg, Virginia

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Af23 Oversize
Scope and Contents

Account book, 1909-1911, of an unidentified farmer, Williamsburg, Va. Includes accounts with the College of William and Mary and with Lyon G. Tyler.

Gregory Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00027
Scope and Contents The Gregory Family papers follow the family of Virginia Governor John Munford Gregory and wife Amanda Wallace through three generations with letters dating from the 1820’s to the 1920’s. Most items are letters between family members and grant insight into the daily activities and concerns of the Gregory family. The collection also includes correspondence between members of the Gregory family and other acquaintances, including members of the John Tyler family. While most letters are of a...

Grigsby-Galt Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.308 and 2011.269
Scope and Contents This collection contains the family papers of members of the Grigsby and Galt Families. Mary Blair Grigsby married William W. Galt in 1881.  The collection contains papers of various members of the Grigsby family, particulary Hugh Blair Grigsby who was a historian and Chancellor of The College of William and Mary and his son, Hugh Carrington Grigsby who lived his entire life at the family farm, Edgehill, in Charlotte County, Virginia. The collection also contains the personal...

Guy Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1985.42
Scope and Contents Papers of the William George and Gladys Bennett Guy family of Williamsburg, Virginia with additions from Joan Eastman Bennett.  Includes correspondence, invitations, minutes, clippings, oral histories, notebooks, reports, photographs, written memories, essays and printed materials. Papers include items about water and gas, Williamsburg Landing, American Red Cross, Williamsburg United Service Organization, Williamsburg Female Academy, College of William and Mary and zoning regulations. ...

Filtered By

  • Subject: College of William and Mary--History X
  • Subject: Virginia--History X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Correspondence 33
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 32
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 32
Financial records 22
Account books 17
∨ more
Photographs 17
Legal documents 14
College of William and Mary--Students 12
College of William and Mary--History--18th century 11
Diaries 11
Receipts (financial records) 11
Scrapbooks 11
Education, Higher--Virginia--History 9
Reports 9
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century 9
Virginia--Genealogy 8
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 8
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 8
Genealogy 7
Ledgers (Accounting) 7
Notebooks 7
Publications 7
Manuscripts (document genre) 6
Minutes 6
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 6
Virginia--History--Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775 6
Certificates 5
Letters (correspondence) 5
Poems 5
Programs 5
Slavery--Virginia--19th century 5
Surveys (documents) 5
Women--Education--Virginia--History 5
Buckingham County (Va.)--History 4
Merchants--Virginia--History--19th century 4
Merchants--Virginia--Williamsburg 4
Petitions 4
Photostats 4
Typescripts 4
United States--History--Revolution, 1775-1783 4
United States--History--War of 1812 4
Universities and Colleges--Virginia--Faculty 4
University of Virginia--History--19th century 4
Virginia--Governors 4
Virginia--History--19th century 4
Virginia--History--20th century 4
Virginia--Maps 4
Women college students 4
Women--Virginia--Social life and customs 4
Broadsides 3
Campbell County (Va.)--History 3
Catalogs 3
Charlotte County (Va.)--History--19th century 3
Clippings (information artifacts) 3
Coeducation--United States--History--20th century 3
College of William and Mary--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 3
Colonial period, ca. 1609-1774 3
Daybooks 3
Education--Virginia--History--19th century 3
Episcopal Church--Virginia--History--19th century 3
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--19th century 3
Indians of North America 3
James City County (Va.)--History--19th century 3
New Kent County (Va.)--History--19th century 3
Newspapers 3
Prince Edward County (Va.)--History 3
Slavery--Virginia--History 3
Slavery--Virginia--History--18th century 3
Slavery--Virginia--History--19th century 3
Speeches 3
Students--Women--Admission in 1918 3
United States--Slavery 3
Virginia--History 3
Virginia--History--18th century 3
Virginia--Militia 3
Virginia--Politics and Government 3
Virginia--Politics and Government--19th century 3
Williamsburg (Va.)--History 3
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 3
Williamsburg (Va.)--Photographs 3
Women--Education--Virginia 3
World War, 1914-1918 3
World War, 1939-1945 3
African Americans--Virginia--Williamsburg 2
Agendas (administrative records) 2
Agriculture--Virginia--History--18th century 2
American Red Cross--History--World War II period 2
American poetry--19th century 2
Architecture, Domestic--Virginia 2
Associated and Branch Campuses--Richmond Professional Institute 2
Carte de visite photographs 2
Class materials 2
Coeducation--Virginia 2
College of William and Mary--Faculty and Staff 2
College of William and Mary--History 2
Cumberland County (Va.) 2
Dueling--Virginia 2
Eastern State Hospital (Va.)--History 2
Education--Virginia--History 2
Education--Virginia--Williamsburg--19th century 2
∧ less
 
Language
English 69
Latin 3
Dutch; Flemish 1
French 1
German 1
∨ more  
Names
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 10
Tyler, Lyon Gardiner, 1853-1935 6
Dinwiddie, Robert, 1693-1770 4
Bruton Parish Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 3
College of William and Mary. 3
∨ more
Henry, Patrick, 1736-1799 3
Jefferson, Thomas, 1743-1826 3
Lee, Henry, 1756-1818 3
Madison, James, 1749-1812 3
Morton family 3
Morton, Estelle 3
Morton, Richard Lee, 1889-1974 3
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 3
American Red Cross 2
Botetourt, Norborne Berkeley, Baron de, ca. 1718-1770 2
Cabell, Joseph C. (Joseph Carrington), 1778-1856 2
College of William and Mary 2
College of William and Mary. Board of Visitors 2
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation 2
Democratic Party (U.S.) 2
Dunmore, John Murray, Earl of, 1732-1809 2
Hughes, Robert M. (Robert Morton), b. 1855 2
Marshall-Wythe School of Law 2
Morton, Margaret H. 2
Office of the President 2
Tucker, St. George, 1752-1827 2
Tyler, John, Jr., 1819-1896 2
Wythe, George, 1726-1806 2
Adams, John, 1735-1826 1
American Association of University Women 1
American Chemical Society 1
Amherst, Jeffery Amherst, Baron, 1717-1797 1
Anderson Seminary 1
Andros, Edmund, Sir, 1637-1714 1
Archer, William Segar, 1789-1855 1
Associated and Branch Campuses--Richard Bland College 1
Badgley, John 1
Baker family 1
Banister, Anne Blair 1
Bannister family 1
Barber, Levi 1
Barksdale, Martha, 1900-1974 1
Barraud, Philip, 1758-1830 1
Bennett, Henry Eastman, 1873-1941 1
Bernard Family 1
Blair family 1
Blair, James, 1741-1772 1
Blair, John, 1732-1800 1
Blayton, James Blaine, Sr., (Dr.) 1
Blow family 1
Booth family 1
Braikenridge, George, 1737-1827 1
Braxton family 1
Brooke, Robert 1
Brown family 1
Brown, Coalter, and Tucker Family 1
Brown, Frances Bland Coalter, 1835-1894 1
Brown, Henry Peronneau, 1883-1942 1
Bryan, Elizabeth Tucker Coalter, b. 1805 1
Bryan, John Randolph, 1806-1887 1
Cabell family 1
Cabell, William, 1730-1798 1
Cabell, William, Dr., 1700-1774 1
Cabell, William, b. 1759 1
Call, Daniel, 1765 (ca.)-1840 1
Campbell family 1
Campbell, Charles, 1807-1876 1
Carrington family 1
Carter, Mary B. 1
Chamings, Dorothy Thurza Louise, d. 1958 1
Chandler, J. A. C. (Julian Alvin Carroll), 1872-1934 1
Christopher Newport College 1
Coalter family 1
Coalter, John, 1769-1838 1
Coalter, Judith H. Tomlin, d. 1859 1
Coalter, Maria Rind, d. 1792 1
Coalter, St. George Tucker, 1809-1839 1
Cocke, John Hartwell, 1780-1866 1
Cole Family 1
Cole, Henry Denison, 1856-1938 1
Cole, William W. 1
Coleman, Cynthia Beverley Tucker Washington, 1832-1908 1
College of William and Mary--Baseball 1
College of William and Mary--Basketball 1
College of William and Mary--Football 1
College of William and Mary. Dean of Women 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of English 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of History 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Mathematics 1
College of William and Mary. Dramatic Club 1
College of William and Mary. Office of the President 1
College of William and Mary. School of Education 1
College of William and Mary. University Archives. 1
Colonial National Historical Park (Va.) 1
Confederate States of America. Army. Virginia Volunteer Regiment, 32nd 1
Coulter family 1
Crawford, William S., b. 1815 1
Crawford, William S., d. 1815 1
Crump family 1
Cryer, William 1
∧ less