Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 10 of 37

Maud Miller Buxton Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2011.187
Scope and Contents Letters, legal and business documents, photographs and news clippings of Maud Miller Buxton and associated families of Miller, Buxton and Ditterick. Maud Miller was born in North Dakota and eventually moved to McMinnville, Oregon via Minnesota. Correspondence spans her early childhood through her marriage to Henry Thurston Buxton and Frank Ditterick. Most letters concern family news. Includes commencement invitations, marriage invitations and clippings of marriage announcements and...

Lane Carlson Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00004
Scope and Contents Papers, 1937-1972, of Colonel Bonnie "Lane" Carlson, originally from Scotts Bluff, Nebraska. Colonel Lane Carlson was one of the first five female colonels in the United States Army. Primarily includes letters written to and from her parents throughout her life, beginning with her time at Sullins College in Bristol, Virginia, various military bases, postwar Japan and West Germany. Some of the topics discussed in the letters include base life during the war, the experience of a commissioned...

Carlton Casey Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1999.48
Scope and Contents

Papers of Carlton Casey.

The inventory is a guide to Mss. Acc. 1999.48 which is the postcard collection documenting pre-restoration Williamsburg, restored Williamsburg, Jamestown, the College of William and Mary, the University of Virginia, and cities, towns, and holidays in Virginia. Also includes clippings, articles, photographs, programs, and souvenir publications.

Additions to the collection are described individually.

James W. Caywood Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00277
Scope and Contents Scrapbook pertaining to James W. Caywood's service in the United States Navy during World War II while in Hawaii as part of the 26th Special Naval Construction Battalion. The bulk of the scrapbook contains photographs, newspaper clippings, and drawings kept by Caywood while serving in Hawaii. Some of the photographs document the attack on Pearl Harbor in 1941 and depict Caywood and other African-American sailors in everyday life on the island, as well as local Hawaiian women. Newspaper...

Circle K International Records

 Collection
Identifier: 00/05/02/UA 7.053
Scope and Contents This collection contains two scrapbooks and various loose clippings and photographs related to the student service group Circle K International at the College of William and Mary. One of the scrapbooks includes photographs, clippings, correspondence, and announcements of various events in the organization from 1964 to 1965. The other scrapbook is disbound and out of order, but contains photographs, clippings, ephemera, and reports pertaining to Circle K from 1958 to 1964. There are also...

Class of 1943 Scrapbook

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.074
Scope and Contents

This collection is stored off-site. At least 72 hours advanced notice is required for retrieval.

One scrapbook, approximately 13" x 11", containing news clippings about events at the College of William and Mary illustrating the history of the Class of 1943, compiled by Claire Bardwell, Class Historian.

Class of 1971 Scrapbooks

 Collection
Identifier: 00/05/UA 5.075
Scope and Contents

Two green scrapbooks, approximately 15" x 13" each, containing news clippings and photographs that detail the activities of the College of William and Mary class of 1971. Some of the items in the scrapbook are loose.

Robert L. Curtin Scrapbook, 1941-1949

 Collection — Box: 1, Bound Volume: 1
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.023
Scope and Contents

Scrapbook of Robert L. Curtin, covering the years 1941-1949, including his years served in the U.S. Navy, 1943-1945. Included are letters of both private and military nature, photographs, newspaper clippings, military orders, wedding announcements, telegrams, invitations, and currency. Places mentioned in the scrapbook are Connecticut; Massachusetts; Camp Peary, Williamsburg, Virginia; California; and the Philippines.

H. Theodore Ellyson Scrapbook

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Sc6 and Sc7
Scope and Contents

Scrapbooks, 1869-1911, belonging to H. Theodore Ellyson and possibly other family members which contains newspaper clippings, of letters to the Richmond Dispatch by H. Theo[dore] Ellyson, correspondent, mentioning guests and social events and Rockbridge Alum Springs [Rockbridge County], Va., personal correspondence and a few prints.

Florence Fix Scrapbook

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.322
Scope and Contents Scrapbook kept by Florence H. Fix (b. 1908) of Milaca, Minnesota from her high school junior year through graduation in the spring. Scrapbook contains invitations, programs, news clippings, letters, photographs, as well as many lengthy entries written by Florence's friends reflecting on their friendship, school days and future. A commencement memory booklet contains the full names of her classmates as well as a brief, often humorous entry listing what they would like to become in life. One...

Filtered By

  • Subject: Clippings (information artifacts) X
  • Subject: Scrapbooks X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Scrapbooks 36
Photographs 20
Correspondence 11
Letters (correspondence) 7
College of William and Mary--Students 6
∨ more
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 6
Postcards 5
Programs 5
Fliers (printed matter) 4
Minutes 4
Printed ephemera 4
Certificates 3
Clubs--Virginia--Williamsburg 3
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 3
Diaries 3
Garden Clubs--Virginia--Williamsburg 3
Gardening--Societies, etc.--Virginia 3
Jamestown Festival (1957) 3
Photographic prints 3
Student Life--1960's 3
World War, 1939-1945--United States--Scrapbooks 3
Account books 2
Financial records 2
Gardening--History--20th century 2
Gardening--Virginia 2
Greeting cards 2
Invitations 2
Jamestown (Va.)--History--20th century 2
Jamestown 350th Anniversary 2
Pamphlets 2
Publications 2
Reports 2
Research notes 2
Speeches 2
Student Life--1940's 2
Virginia--Genealogy 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--Photographs 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--Social life and customs 2
Women--Societies and clubs 2
World War, 1939-1945--United States--Personal narratives 2
Actresses--United States 1
African Americans--Virginia--Williamsburg--History 1
Art centers 1
Athletics--Football 1
Baptist Church--Virginia--History 1
Baptists--United States--Clergy 1
Bibles 1
Birthday cards 1
Blind Women--Travel 1
Books 1
Buildings and Grounds--Lake Matoaka Ampitheatre 1
Buttons (fasteners) 1
Calendars 1
Chaplains, Military--United States--20th century 1
Chicago (Ill.)--Social life and customs 1
China--Description and travel 1
Christmas cards 1
Church bulletins 1
Clubs--United States--Minutes 1
College of William and Mary--Faculty and Staff 1
College presidents--Virginia 1
College theater--United States 1
Colonial Williamsburg (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation--History 1
Confederate Memorial (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Daybooks 1
Deeds 1
Democratic Party (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Drawings (visual works) 1
Eastern State Hospital (Va.)--History 1
Education, Higher--Virginia--History 1
Exhibitions 1
Genealogy 1
Germany--Description and travel--20th Century 1
Harrisonburg (Va.) 1
High school students--Minnesota. 1
High school students--United States--Social life and customs--20th century 1
Holy Cross (Alaska) 1
James City County (Va.)--Tercentenary 1
Japan--Description and travel 1
Laboratory notebooks 1
Lawyers--Virginia--19th century 1
Lawyers--Virginia--Portsmouth 1
League of Women Voters (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Legal documents 1
Letter books 1
Logs (records) 1
Lutheran Church--Virginia 1
Manuscripts for publication 1
Memoranda 1
Men--Societies and clubs 1
Mentally ill--Care 1
Minnesota--Social life and customs 1
Missions--Alaska 1
National parks and reserves--United States 1
Negatives 1
Newsletters 1
Newspapers 1
Notebooks 1
∧ less
 
Language
Japanese 1
Swedish 1
 
Names
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 4
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Theatre, Speech, and Dance 2
Williamsburg Baptist Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
American Fireside Club 1
∨ more
Bozarth family 1
Buxton, Maud Miller, 1881-1985 1
Carlson, Lane, 1919-2010 1
Casey, Carlton 1
Caywood, James W., 1923-1995 1
Close, Glenn, 1947- 1
College of William and Mary 1
College of William and Mary. Mortar Board 1
College of William and Mary. Office of the President 1
College of William and Mary. William and Mary Theatre 1
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation 1
Crozer Theological Seminary 1
Curtin, Robert L. 1
Dept. of Theatre, Speech, and Dance 1
Ditterick family 1
Dula family 1
Eastern State Hospital (Va.) 1
Fix, Florence 1
Galt family 1
Galt, Alexander D. II, 1827-1863 1
Galt, Elizabeth Judith, 1816-1854 1
Galt, John Minson, 1744-1808 1
Galt, John Minson, 1819-1862 1
Galt, Rogers Harrison 1
Galt, William Richard, 1818-1892 1
Jamestown Corporation 1
Keller, Helen, 1880-1968 1
Lavin, Linda, 1937- 1
Lee, Josephine Parsons 1
Literary Societies--Philomathean Literary Society 1
Long, William Ivey 1
Magrino, Francesca Maietta 1
Marshall, John, Pageant (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Milaca High School (Milaca, Minn.) 1
Miller, Malcom Howard, 1857-1933 1
Moore, Clement Clarke, 1779-1863 1
Murdaugh, C. W., 1828-1898 1
Newport News Women's Club (Va.) 1
Nicholson High School (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Office of the President 1
Parr, Fay Lyonel, 1913-2008 1
Paschall, Davis Young, 1911-2001 1
Payne, R. H. (Mrs.) 1
Phi Beta Kappa. Virginia Alpha (College of William and Mary) 1
Pugh family 1
Pugh, Thomas E., 1917-2006 1
Pulaski Club (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Rembert, John Patrick, 1907-1976 1
Rembert, Sarah 1
Rennie, Eleanor 1
Richmond Times-Dispatch (Va.) 1
Rouse, Parke Shepherd, Jr. 1
Scammon, Howard, 1911-1999 1
Student Life--1990's 1
Unger, Martha Ann 1
United States. Army. Women's Army Auxiliary Corps 1
United States. Army. Women's Army Corps 1
United States. Navy (General subdivision: Military construction operations.) 1
University of Virginia 1
Virginia Shakespeare Festival 1
Waller, John J. 1
Williamsburg Players (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Williamsburg Reunion (Va.) 1
Woo Family 1
∧ less