Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 4 of 4

Daniel Philippe Aunspaugh Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 Au5
Scope and Contents An extensive collection of business correspondence, financial papers, daybooks, legal papers, and account books, chiefly 1800-1850, of Col. Daniel Philippe Aunspaugh, documenting his work as tanner and justice of the peace at Bedford County, Va. The collection also includes accounts, 1832-1857, of James Oney.

Brown, Coalter, Tucker Papers (III)

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 B8555
Scope and Contents Papers and correspondence of three generations of the Brown Family of Virginia:  Frances (Fanny) Bland Coalter Brown and her husband, Henry Peronneau Brown (1838-1888),  J. Thompson and Cassie Tucker Brown (1890-1920) and Frances Bland Brown and Fleming Sanders (1921-1964).

Martin Parks Burks Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 39.1 B91
Scope and Contents Martin Parks Burks was the deputy sheriff of Bedford County, Virginia. Chiefly accounts, receipts, and business letters of Martin P. Burks, 1798-1866, including records while he was deputy sheriff of Bedford County, Virginia.

Pleasants Murphy Diary

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV D5
Scope and Contents Diary, 1814 September 9-1815 April 23, kept during military service in Captain [?] Otey's Company in War of 1812. The content concerns the line of march from Liberty (now Bedford), Virginia to Richmond and discusses prices of items in Richmond and drills, and rations at the camp at Fairfield. Murphy spent October 9 to November 26, 1814 away from his unit, recovering from a broken arm. The diary concerns a trip back to Bedford County and a trip to Pittsylvania County. The volume...