Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 11 - 20 of 21

Richard Lee Morton Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 90 M84
Scope and Contents Papers, chiefly 1930-1969, of Richard Lee Morton, professor of history at the College of William and Mary from 1919 to 1959. Series 1 includes personal and professional correspondence, lectures and notes relating to his research on Virginia history, and material relating to his community activities in Williamsburg, Va. Includes correspondence of his wife Estelle (Dinwiddie) Morton, land grants, 1756 and 1774, signed by Robert Dinwiddie and Lord Dunmore, Confederate currency and bonds,...

Office of the President. Lyon Gardiner Tyler Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 2.07
Scope and Contents Acc. 1980.123: One box containing biographical material; engravings; lectures; addresses; publications; an article about the Gardiner Manor in New York; Tyler's application for the William and Mary presidency; testimonials; a calling card; correspondence, including a letter to Mrs. Alex S. Porter (circa 1917), possibly referring to Bound Volume no. 13. Acc. 1984.019: This accession is composed of fifteen boxes of Tyler's correspondence and other material as President and President...

Anonymous Scrapbook

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ad161
Scope and Contents Scrapbook probably kept by Lyon G. Tyler. Contains newspaper clippings which concern politics especially the campaign of Fitzhugh Lee for governor of Virginia, the General Assembly of Virginia from December 1887-March 1888 as well as clippings concerning the College of William and Mary. Scrapbook containing newspaper clippings chiefly relating to political affairs in Virginia. Note:  The book contains the following clippings relating to William and Mary College:...

Tyler Family Papers, Group A - H, Additions

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 T97 Additions
Scope and Contents Additions to the Tyler Family Papers that are not shelved with Mss. 65 T97 Tyler Family Papers, Groups A-H are included on the pdf inventories.

Please see the record for 65 T97 Tyler Family Papers.

Many of these additions can logically be incorporated into the Groups A-H, and possibly will be in the future.

Tyler Family Papers, Group A

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 T97 Group A
Scope and Contents Papers, 1716-1944, of the John Tyler family of "Sherwood Forest," Charles City County, Va. The collection contains correspondence, 1818-1862, of John Tyler concerning politics, War of 1812 claims, presidential election of 1840, land purchases in western Virginia, Kentucky and Illinois, "Sherwood Forest," business matters and his family. Some of the children of John Tyler and his first wife, Letitia Christian Tyler, are represented in the collection: Robert Tyler...

Tyler Family Papers, Group B

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 T97 Group B
Scope and Contents Papers, 1868-1951, of Lyon Gardiner Tyler, his wives Anne Baker Tucker Tyler and Sue Ruffin Tyler and his descendants. Includes personal correspondence and correspondence relating to American Historical Association, Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities, Colonial Williamsburg, Cooperative Education Commission of Virginia, Equal Suffrage League of Virginia, Jamestown Exposition, New York Southern Society, Sons of the Revolution, Virginia Board of Education, Virginia Historical...

Tyler Family Papers, Group C

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 T97 Group C
Scope and Contents Correspondence and accounts of "Tyler's Quarterly", edited by Lyon G. Tyler and Sue Ruffin Tyler.

Tyler Family Papers, Group E

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 T97 Group E
Scope and Contents Chiefly writings, ca. 1880-1935, of Lyon Gardiner Tyler, historian. Most concern Virginia history in the colonial period, or defend his father, John Tyler, or defend the southern point of view in the Civil War. Includes an unpublished history of the Virginia Line in the American Revolution. Also includes writings, 1921-1951, of his second wife, Sue Ruffin Tyler, and of other authors.

Tyler Family Papers, Group F

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 T97 Group F
Scope and Contents Collection consists of letters, historical sketches, wills, genealogical charts and coats of arms of Virginia families. The majority of these papers are genealogical inquiries made to Lyon Gardiner Tyler. Very few of Tyler's responses are included but the inquiries contain information.

One reel of microfilm for the Register Index for Abingdon Parish, Gloucester Co.,1671-1761, is available in the Swem Library Microforms Collection.

Tyler Family Papers, Group H

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 T97 Group H
Scope and Contents Papers, 1750-1935, which are miscellaneous manuscripts with Tyler family connections. Include a scrapbook which includes correspondence of John Tyler, Thomas Walker Gilmer and St. George Tucker mostly with nineteenth- century Virginia politicians. Papers also include printed material, photographs of people and buildings and miscellaneous notes perhaps collected by Lyon G. Tyler and Sue Ruffin Tyler.

Filtered By

  • Names: Tyler, Lyon Gardiner, 1853-1935 X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Correspondence 18
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 7
Financial records 7
Photographs 6
Account books 5
∨ more
Legal documents 5
Scrapbooks 5
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 4
Manuscripts (document genre) 4
Minutes 4
Virginia--History--Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775 4
Diaries 3
Education--Virginia--History--19th century 3
Speeches, addresses, etc. 3
Virginia--History 3
Virginia--History--19th century 3
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 3
Certificates 2
College of William and Mary--Students 2
Notebooks 2
Reports 2
Sherwood Forest (Virginia : Estate) 2
Slavery--Virginia--19th century 2
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 2
United States--History--Revolution, 1775-1783 2
United States--Politics and Government 2
Universities and Colleges--Virginia--Faculty 2
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 2
Virginia--Politics and Government--19th century 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century 2
Accomack County (Va.)--History 1
African Americans--Virginia--Suffrage 1
Agriculture--Virginia--History--18th century 1
Agriculture--Virginia--History--20th century 1
American diaries--Women authors 1
American periodicals--Virginia--History 1
Athletics--Football--Scandal of 1951 1
Awards and scholarships 1
Biography as a literary form 1
Buildings and Grounds 1
Buildings and Grounds--Fires--1859 1
Bunker Hill Monument (Boston, Mass.)--History. 1
Charter Day 1
Church of England--Virginia--History 1
Class materials 1
Coeducation--United States--History--20th century 1
Coeducation--Virginia 1
College of William and Mary--History--17th century 1
College of William and Mary--History--18th century 1
Colonial period, ca. 1609-1774 1
Confederate Memorial (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Course work 1
Curriculum--History 1
Debt, Imprisonment for--Virginia 1
Democratic Party (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Design drawings 1
Dueling 1
Eastern State Hospital (Va.)--History 1
Eastern State Hospital (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Editorials 1
Education, Higher--Virginia--History 1
Education--Virginia--Williamsburg--18th century 1
Education--Virginia--Williamsburg--19th century 1
Education--Virginia--Williamsburg--20th century 1
Engravings (Prints) 1
Episcopal Church--Virginia--Clergy--20th century 1
Essays 1
Farms--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
Football--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
Genealogy 1
History of the College--Reconstruction efforts after the war 1
Horses--Virginia 1
Indians of North America--Virginia 1
Jamestown (Va.)--History 1
Jamestown Exposition (1907) 1
Jamestown Ter-centennial Exposition (1907) 1
Lawyers--Virginia--Correspondence 1
Letter books 1
Letters (correspondence) 1
Lynchburg 1
Lynchburg (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Merchants--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Merchants--Virginia--Lynchburg 1
Nelson County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Parishes--Virginia 1
Patronage, Political--United States--History 1
Petitions 1
Photography, Stereoscopic 1
Photostats 1
Plantation life--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Plantations--Virginia--Nelson County 1
Presidents' spouses--United States 1
Presidents--United States--Election 1
Prince William County (Va.)--History--18th century 1
Private Libraries 1
Publications 1
Receipts (financial records) 1
Report cards 1
Richmond (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Sermons 1
∧ less