Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 71 - 80 of 113

M.E.G. Letter to Hugh Green

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01395

Mordecai Meyers letter to Matthew Maury

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01650
Scope and Contents A two-page letter from Petersburg, VA informing Maury of the inability to pull into the Harbor ar Norfolk due to the high winds and the desire to protect the cargo for the owners. Additionally, he gives reports on behalf of Captian Bliss of the cargo on board other vessels, chiefly cotton, tobacco, flour, and wheat.

Michael Paro Letters

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01410
Content Description Ten letters written to Michael Paro, a private in the United States Army serving in Vietnam, mostly from his love interest, Barbara Jensen. In most of the letters, she discusses life after his time in Vietnam and plans for their future. A picture of Barbara is included with one of the letters.

James Monroe Free Frank Envelope

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01356
Content Description An envelope written by James Monroe from Oak Hill to Thomas W. Griffith in Baltimore, Maryland dated February 2, 1828.

Mother to Children Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01513
Scope and Contents Letter to children expressing sadness about their illness.

Nancy Kessler Letters to Louis Kessler

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01401
Content Description Series of letters from Nancy Kessler to her husband, Louis, while he served in the United States Navy as a quartermaster and was stationed in Norfolk, Virginia from 1944-1945.

Nesmith Letter, Vicksburg, Mississippi

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01382
Content Description 6 page letter from Mr. Nesmith to his sister from Vicksburg, Mississippi. He describes rowing with a friend along the river, working, and writes a lot about society, politics, and his impression of African American life since the Civil War.

Bill Newton Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01492
Scope and Contents Letter to son Frank about the war and his plans to marry his girlfriend May. Mentions class differences between Frank and May.

North Carolina Arrest Warrant for Bazel Bunting, a Free Man of Color

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01651
Scope and Contents One-page arrest warrant issued from the town of Salisbury in the county of Rowen in North Carolina.

Notation of Prices for Slaves from Columbia, South Carolina

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01370
Content Description Folded Confederate letter address sheet that was later used to record the prices for slaves sold in that area in 1864. It was possibly an auction tally.

Filtered By

  • Names: Gary Alonzo Barranger X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
World War, 1939-1945 23
World War, 1914-1918 10
World War, 1914-1918--France 6
Illness 5
World War, 1939-1945--Pacific Area 5
∨ more
African Americans 4
American Civil War, 1861-1865 4
Korean War, 1950-1953 4
Vietnam War, 1961-1975 4
Christmas Activities 3
World War I 3
Basic training (Military education) 2
Camp Lee (Va.)--History--20th century 2
Correspondence 2
Destroyers (Warships) 2
High school students--United States--Social life and customs--20th century 2
Illnesses 2
Love-letters 2
Norfolk (Va.) 2
Tobacco industry 2
World War, 1939-1945--Women 2
Abolitionists 1
Aeronautics, Military--United States--History--20th century 1
Affidavits 1
Africa, Southern -- Description and travel 1
Africa--Description and travel 1
African Americans--Virginia--Roanoke 1
Argonne Forest (France) 1
Arizona--Description and travel 1
Arts and racism 1
Asia--Description and travel 1
Australia--Description and travel 1
Authors, American--Women 1
Betrothal 1
Bills of lading 1
Bills of lading -- United States 1
Blind--Books and reading 1
Boy Scouts 1
Boy Scouts -- Handbooks, manuals, etc. 1
Business 1
Business records 1
Calendars 1
Charlottesville (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Children with disabilities--Education. 1
Children--United States--History--19th century 1
Citizen suits (Civil procedure) -- United States 1
Coins (money) 1
College life 1
College of William and Mary--History 1
Complaints (Civil procedure) 1
Confederate States of America. Army. Virginia Infantry Regiment, 6th 1
Cotton trade--Southern States--History--19th century 1
Courtship 1
Cuba--Foreign relations 1
Deaf--Education--United States 1
Death 1
Debt 1
Dysentery 1
Education 1
Elections--United States--History 1
European currency unit 1
Farm life 1
Farming 1
Financial records 1
Fort Lee (Va.) 1
Fort McClellan, Ala. 1
Furloughs 1
Gardening -- Societies, etc. 1
Gearing Class (Destroyers) 1
Germany--Social conditions 1
Idaho--Description and travel 1
Influenza 1
Influenza Epidemic, 1918-1919 1
Insurance, Life--United States 1
Kenton (Ohio) 1
Land grants 1
Legal documents 1
Letters (correspondence) 1
Lynchburg (Va.) 1
Marriage 1
Marriage, Promise of 1
Massachusetts--History--19th century 1
Mental illness--United States 1
Merchants 1
Military bases -- United States 1
Military occupation--Social aspects--Southern States--History--19th century 1
Missionaries--United States--19th century 1
Music - Manuscripts 1
Nashville (Tenn.)--History--19th century 1
Naval operations 1
Navy-yards and naval stations -- United States 1
Norfolk (Va.)--History, Naval. 1
Panama Canal Zone 1
Pen pals 1
Photographs 1
Portraits, American 1
Portsmouth (Va.)--History--20th century 1
Postcards--Virginia 1
Practice of law 1
Presidents--United States--Election--1848 1
∧ less