Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 111 - 120 of 246

James Albert Doyle Scrapbook

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.254
Scope and Contents Included in the scrapbook are photographs, newspaper clippings, class schedules, report cards, dining hall passes, letters, dance cards, ticket stubs, announcements of events on the campus and various additional ephemera related to Doyle's time on campus.Of note are the "friendship" pages, which were completed by Doyle's friends and classmates. Each individual wrote the date, their name and hometown, their nickname and/or birthdate, their ambition, and a happy thought. There is also...

James C. Goodwyn Olde Guarde Presentation on World War II

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.156
Scope and Contents Contains a presentation entitled "Reflections of a World War II Bombardier" by James C. Goodwyn, class of 1948, to the Olde Guarde of the Alumni Association in May 2005. Included are first-hand stories of Goodwyn's involvement with the 15th Air Force, 20th Squadron in Italy, photographs of Goodwyn and other Air Force Members, and a copy of the Olde Guarde program with the names and summaries of the other presentations given.

James Glenn Driver Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.268
Scope and Contents The collection includes three items: Driver's Certificate of Distinction from William & Mzry, dated June 14, 1906, for having passed the required examinations for his American and Virginia History class, a pamphlet for "University of the Air," an invitational track and field meet under the auspices of the U. S. Naval Air Station, dated June 27, 1942, and an example of an order acknowledgement card for Driver's business of selling "Fine Virginia Foods" at a store on Duke of Gloucester Street.

James Pleasants, Jr. Letter to his Cousin

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.245
Scope and Contents Pleasants' letter states that he left two volumes of Blair's lectures with his Cousin Mary when he was last in Richmond, having been informed by his son Hampden that he would not need them during the present session at William & Mary. However, Hampden informed Pleasants that he was attending lectures on Belles Letters and that the book would be necessary but he is using a copy belonging to Joshua Storrs. Pleasants asks his cousin to send the books along to Williamsburg should anyone be...

James William Gossman Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.285
Scope and Contents The collection includes writings of Gossman while a student at William & Mary, two letters to the faculty, and a black and white photograph of him with unidentified children (1954). Some of the writings are on various William & Mary-related letterhead: "The William and Mary Literary Magazine," "Ye Colonial Echo," and "William and Mary College Monthly." Gossman's letters to the faculty may be rough drafts. It is unclear if any were actually sent. The subject of both refer to his...

Jean Harrup Cogle Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 00/05/UA 5.167
Scope and Contents This collection contains news clippings, programs, publications, and other material collected by Jane Harrup Cogle, class of 1949 at the College of William and Mary. Included are programs related to the Tercentenary of William and Mary, The Royal Visit of His Majesty Charles, Prince of Wales to William and Mary in 1981, and Fehr Fest, the retirement celebration for Carl A. "Pappy" Fehr, director of the choir at William and Mary. Letters to Jean Harrup while a student at the college,...

John B. Weston Pledge to Teach Fulfillment Form

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.274
Scope and Contents This collection consists of one form, completed by John B. Weston, reporting how he fulfilled his pledge to the State Male Normal College and William & Mary to teach.

Pledges such as this were required of Virginia students who attended William and Mary receiving financial assistance with the understanding they would teach in Virginia upon graduation.

John S. Davison Progress Report

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.282
Scope and Contents Progress report of William & Mary student John S. Davison. The report is a typeset form completed in hand by W&M faculty member Ferdinand S. Campbell.

John S. Spencer Letter

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.246
Scope and Contents The collection contains a letter, dated November 24, 1857, written by Spencer to someone whose name may be "Buck." In it, Spencer states that there are 80 students at the College and expects there to be more by February 22, 1858. He mentions he is rooming with William Davis, a "very quiet and studious boy," and that Thomas Mason "sends his respects to you and we visit the colored Girls together." He also mentions an incident in which Tom was "in the garden the other night after one" [colored...

John Vance Weylie Letter to David Stuart

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.247
Scope and Contents Letter written by John Vance Wyelie from Jamestown to David Stuart in Alexandria on Nov. 30, 1798. Wyelie is known to have attended William & Mary from 1797-1798. The letter starts by Wyelie's acknowledging Stuart's loss of a parent and his words of comfort and understanding. He mentions trying to learn Spanish but that he could not bring his books to Jamestown for want of space in the carriage from Hanover, though he hopes his books came come at Christmas. Weylie discusses his...

Filtered By

  • Names: College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
College of William and Mary--Students 126
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 71
Correspondence 61
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 52
Photographs 39
∨ more
Scrapbooks 21
College of William and Mary--Students--Social life and customs 18
Financial records 18
Legal documents 15
Manuscripts (document genre) 15
Academic writing 14
Certificates 13
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 13
Programs 12
Women college students 12
Notebooks 11
United States--Politics and Government 11
Clippings (information artifacts) 9
Diaries 9
Publications 9
Speeches, addresses, etc. 9
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century 9
Receipts (financial records) 8
Reports 8
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 8
Agendas (administrative records) 7
College of William and Mary--History--18th century 7
Homecoming 7
Letters (correspondence) 7
Negatives 7
Virginia--Governors 7
College of William and Mary--Faculty and Staff 6
Genealogy 6
Minutes 6
Account books 5
Course work 5
Fliers (printed matter) 5
Slides (photographs) 5
Virginia--Genealogy 5
Virginia--Politics and Government 5
Women--Education (Higher)--United States 5
World War, 1939-1945 5
Artifacts 4
Fundraising campaigns 4
Pamphlets 4
Poems 4
Student housing 4
Technical reports 4
United States--Lawyers 4
Universities and Colleges--Virginia--Faculty 4
Video recordings 4
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 4
Women--Virginia--Social life and customs 4
Buildings and Grounds 3
College of William and Mary--Commencement 3
College of William and Mary--History--21st century 3
Curriculum 3
Diplomas 3
Education, Higher--Virginia--History 3
Newsletters 3
Newspapers 3
Plays (document genre) 3
Printed ephemera 3
Rosters 3
Scripts (documents) 3
Segregation in education--Virginia 3
Slavery--Virginia--19th century 3
Sound Recordings 3
Student Life--1960's 3
Textbooks 3
Transcripts 3
Typescripts 3
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 3
Williamsburg (Va.)--Photographs 3
Women--Education--Virginia 3
World War, 1914-1918 3
American poetry--20th century 2
Athletics 2
Authors, American--20th century 2
Booklets 2
Choir of the College of William and Mary (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
Coeducation--United States--History--20th century 2
Coeducation--Virginia 2
College of William and Mary--History--17th century 2
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation--History 2
Debates and debating--Virginia--History--19th century 2
Education--Virginia--History--19th century 2
Education--Virginia--History--20th century 2
Elections--Virginia 2
Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgendered Students and Alumni 2
Gloucester County (Va.)--History 2
Invoices 2
Jamestown (Va.)--History 2
Jamestown (Va.)--History--20th century 2
Lapel Pins 2
Lecture notes 2
Literature--Societies, etc 2
Maps 2
Marine biologists 2
Newport News (Va.)--History 2
∧ less