Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 3 of 3

Charles L. Hepburn Letter to Charles Leven Powell

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.130
Scope and Contents Letter written by William & Mary student, Charles L. Hepburn, to his grandfather, Charles Leven Powell, dated January 21, 1894.Hepburn discusses the reorganization of the Virginia Alpha Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa. He states the fraternity was reorganized in December 1893 by "several old members who had been taken in here before the war." Later in the letter, he mentions a couple of those members, including Benjamin Ewell and Colonel William Lamb. He says that all faculty were...

Charles Washington Coleman, Jr. Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00012
Scope and Contents The collection is arranged into three series. The first series contains correspondence, the majority of which is related to Coleman's writings & publications and includes correspondence his mother, Cynthia Beverley Tucker Coleman, and with illustrator Harry Fenn. The second series contains writings, the majority of which were done by Coleman, largely as a young man.  The writings include his poetry as well as serials he wrote and illustrated himself. The third series contains miscellaneous...

Phi Beta Kappa Records of John Lesslie Hall and Charles Washington Coleman

 Collection
Identifier: UA 6.022
Scope and Contents Primarily Phi Beta Kappa correspondence of Charles Washington Coleman and John Lesslie Hall, both of whom served as Secretary of the Alpha of Virginia chapter. Also includes some meetings of minutes, poems, addresses, and bylaws; a notebook listing "Distinctions awarded in English and in History;" obituaries of Hall; English examinations (questions only)' documents from George Willis Guy about his high school and college course work.