Showing Collections: 26 - 50 of 62
Eliza Jones Memorandum Book
Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Af7
Scope and Contents
Kept by Eliza Jones of "Concord," Gloucester Co., Va. containing household and farm accounts, 1831-1843. Includes names of slaves and clothing purchased for them. 93 p. : bound volume ; 16 cm.
Dates:
1831-1843
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Jones Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 69 J71
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1826-1916, of the Jones family of "Land's End," Gloucester County, Virginia, and related families of Curtis, Taliaferro, Page and Harrison. Includes correspondence, genealogical notes, obituaries, legal files, real estate material, notes concerning Land's End, Petsworth Parish (Gloucester County), Yorktown, and the homes of the Cringan family and the Mackenzie family, and Bible records of the Jones and Fauntleroy families.The first two accessions, which compose the bulk...
Dates:
1826-1916
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Spotswood Hunnicutt Jones Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 80 J72
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1951-1976, of Spotswood Hunnicutt Jones concerning the state-commissioned elementary school textbook, "Virginia: History, Government, Geography" (New York: Scribner, 1957), which Hunnicutt Jones co-authored. Used in 7th-grade instruction, this textbook aided in the dissemination of the pro-Confederacy "Lost Cause" ideology. Includes correspondence with Earl Gregg Swem, Francis Butler Simkins and others, as well as typescripts, revisions and galley proofs....
Dates:
1951-1981
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Warner T. Jones Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 J75
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1807-1891, of Warner T. Jones, judge of Gloucester County, Virginia; his brother Richard P. Jones; and his nephew John R. Page. Papers include letters concerning the Jones family and the Seawell family. Prominent correspondents include John Randolph Bryan, Joseph Bryan, Samuel Bassett French, James Barron Hope, Charles Triplett O'Ferall, William Booth Taliaferro, John Randolph Tucker, and Lyon Gardiner Tyler. Collection includes printed advertisements for sewing and...
Dates:
1818-1891
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Kings' Daughters. Mollie Jones Circle (Gloucester Co., Va.) Minute Book
Collection
Identifier: SC 00603
Scope and Contents
Minute book, 1920-21, of the Mollie Jones Circle of the King's Daughters, Gloucester County, Virginia.
Dates:
1920-1921
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
King's Daughters. North River Circle (Gloucester County, Va.) Records
Collection
Identifier: SC 01103
Scope and Contents
Minute book of the North River Circle, Ware Parish, of the King's Daughters, Gloucester County, Virginia. It is the first minute book of the organization. Includes citations to the Circle for seventy-five and eighty years of service and a typescript history. "History of the North River Circle of the King's Daughters and Sons, International 1895-1973" by Christine Dutton Harper, 1971.
Dates:
1895-1973
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
The Reverend Henry Gardiner Lane Memorial Collection
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 90 L24
Scope and Contents
Correspondence, chiefly 1850-1900, of members of the family of Henry Gardiner Lane, an Episcopal clergyman of Mathews and Gloucester counties, Va. Correspondents include members of the Harrison, Randolph, and Lane families of Mathews and Gloucester counties, Va. Included are autograph and composition books, wills, certificates of indenture, Civil War pardon, Confederate bonds and almanacs. See Also: Southern Women and their Families in the 19th Century Papers and Diaries Series C...
Dates:
1799-1938
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Merchant's Account Book, Gloucester County, Virginia
Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame12u
Scope and Contents
Ledger, 1830-1836, of an unidentified merchant, [Gloucester County, Va. ?], which includes accounts with members of the Taliaferro family.
Dates:
1830-1836
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Nicolson Family Ledgers and Journals
Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 N52, 76 N52 and 93 N52
Scope and Contents
Collection contains account journals, some papers and other items of James M. Nicolson, a general merchant in Gloucester County, Virginia (1802-1869), an account book kept by Nicolson and Capt. John L. Hibble as Assistant Quarter Masters of the 26th Virginia Regiment, 1861-1864 (discusses slaves labors); a letter book of H. Yeatman & Co., merchants of Gloucester Court House, 1869-1870, which also contains some of Nicolson's correspondence; and ledger accounts, 1892-1899, for farming at...
Dates:
1802-1914
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
P. R. Page Diary
Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV D39 Oversize
Scope and Contents
Diary, 1856-1861, of P. R. Page, of Gloucester County, Virginiaa. which concerns his farm and weather.
Dates:
1856-1861
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Page Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 94 P14
Scope and Contents
Correspondence (11 letters) of members of the John Page (1744-1808) family of "Rosewell," Gloucester County, Va. regarding local, national, and international politics, the American Revolution, family news (Lowther and Page families), the semaphore, and fashion. Correspondents include Mann Page, Jr., Margaret (Lowther) Page, John Page, St. George Tucker, Stevens Thomson Mason, David Meade Randolph, Henry Tazewell, Philip (Filippo) Mazzei and George Weedon. Subjects also include John Adams,...
Dates:
1777-1822
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Eleanor W. Perrin Diaries
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 96 P42
Scope and Contents
Diaries; 1922-1967, of Eleanor Wormley Perrin of "Goshen," Gloucester County, Va. These forty-five diaries span nearly a half century, from 1922 to 1967, and document life in 20th century Virginia. Perrin's diaries discuss local events, female social life, national events such as wars and politics, hurricanes, the death of family and friends, and other topics. Toward the end of Perrins's life her diary entries increase in length and intimateness, often expressing loneliness and reflecting...
Dates:
1922-1967
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Perrin Family Bibles
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 93 P42
Scope and Contents
Consists of three Bibles owned by the Perrin family; a 1751, 1819, and 1838 editions that contain family information and genealogy back to the 1740s. The 1751 Bible contains a list of slave children births and ages.
Dates:
1751-1838; Majority of material found in 1751, 1819 and 1838
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
John Tayloe Perrin Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 P42
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1770-1931, of the Perrin family of Gloucester County, Va. Chiefly the diaries and writings of John Tayloe Perrin. Includes farm books, scrapbooks, accounts, wills, and articles by Perrin.
Dates:
1770-1931
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
William K. Perrin Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 95 P42
Scope and Contents
Business letters, 1833-1839, to Major William K. Perrin and 1855, 1860, to his son-in-law Wyndham Kemp, both of Gloucester County, Virginia from Perrin's step-son Robert W. Nicolson in Uniontown, Perry County, Alabama, about the management of a cotton plantation. Letters mention purchasing land, growing and selling cotton management of slaves, legal and banking matters and uprising of the Creek Indians. Papers, 1800-1855 and n.d., relating to the hiring out and management of slaves of...
Dates:
1732-1902; Majority of material found in 1820-1858
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Physician's Account Books
Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Am17-20
Scope and Contents
Three ledgers and an account book, 1805-1826, of an unidentified physician who practiced in the vicinity of Gloucester County, Va., Mathews County, Va., and King and Queen County, Va.
Dates:
1805-1826
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Richard Billups Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 B49
Scope and Contents
Business, military and legal papers, chiefly 1774-1822, of Richard Billups of Mathews and Gloucester Counties, Virginia. Papers include accounts, land records, and correspondence and some concern shipbuilding. Includes minutes, 1842, of a temperance meeting and Methodist church records.
Dates:
1705-1857; Majority of material found in 1774-1822
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Roane Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1975.31
Scope and Contents
Photographs, postcards, election material and family material of the Roane Family of Gloucester County, Virginia. Collection centers on the Roane Family, but also has material on Gloucester, Virginia organizations such as the Historical Society and Virginia organizations, such as the Clerk of Courts Association, and regional organizations, such as the Rotary Club.
Dates:
1880-1973; Majority of material found in 1950's
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Molly Elliot Seawell Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1995.36
Scope and Contents
The papers of American writer Molly Elliot Seawell include personal diaries, correspondence, memoirs, photographs, news clippings, and other materials. Also included are photocopies of Seawell's business papers housed at the New York Public Library and at the Columbia University Library. The collection also contains other records from the Seawell family, mostly relating to Molly's aunt Maria Seawell Edwards, John T. Seawell and wife Isabella Josephine Brady, and Philip Hairston Seawell. The...
Dates:
1859-2001; Majority of material found in 1889-1916
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Harriet P. Shelden Recipe Book
Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV R9
Scope and Contents
Recipe book, ca. 1820-1900, of Harriet P. Sheldon, Williamsburg [Va.] and Mary B. Curtis, Wilson's Creek, Gloucester County, Va. which includes loose papers and newspaper clippings. The volume includes home remedies and a list of household items. The first portion of the book contains recipe of Williamsburg's women.
Dates:
circa 1820-1900
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Thomas Jefferson Stubbs Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 St9
Scope and Contents
Collection includes a lot of genealogical notes and copies of wills compiled by Thomas Jefferson Stubbs but also report cards, class notes, and letters of different Stubbs family members. An oration delivered by Thomas Jefferson Stubbs, Sr. before the Phoenix Literary Society is also included as well as his application for the professorship at William & Mary. There are letters written William Carter Stubbs while a student at William & Mary,letters of John Catlett Stubbs while...
Dates:
1789-1933
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
William Carter Stubbs Papers (I)
Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 39.1 St8
Scope and Contents
Mostly correspondence of and genealogical data, chiefly 1860-1923, collected by William Carter Stubbs and his wife, Elizabeth Saunders Blair Stubbs. Also includes correspondence from members of the Stubbs, Saunders and Blair families; accounts and correspondence relating to his farm "Valley Front" in Gloucester County, Va. and his Alabama farm; his notes on soil and chemical experiments; papers concerning the Louisiana exhibit at Jamestown Tercentennial, 1907; and papers of Elizabeth...
Dates:
1832-1936
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
William Carter Stubbs Papers (II)
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 St95
Scope and Contents
Collection is chiefly handwritten notebooks containing genealogical notes and notes on the history of Gloucester County, Va.; and notes on various families (especially Booth, Cooke, and Catlett). Also includes copies of the Abingdon Parish Register and the Botetourt Lodge Masonic Book, 1800-1809; and pictures of buildings and houses, mostly in Gloucester County. Added to Box 4, Folder 4: a paper, "Louisiana's Part in the Confederate War" by two female high school students of...
Dates:
1786-1930
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Tabb Family Diary
Collection
Identifier: SC 01102
Scope and Contents
Diary kept by members of the Tabb family, entitled, "Summerville Diary." Written by Rebecca Lloyd Tabb and Mary Lee Tabb as well as other members of the Tabb family. The diary records activities such as baseball, card games, teas, gardening, John Tabb's school, visits from neighbors and relatives, the Christmas celebration of 1910 and Rebecca Lloyd Tabb's wedding to Henry Bouldin. It also describes a visit of the Tabb parents to the University of Virginia for their son Warner Throckmorton...
Dates:
1909-1911
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
John Henry Tabb Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 T12
Scope and Contents
Chiefly papers, 1826-1856, of John Henry Tabb of Gloucester County, Va. who moved to Danville, Va. where he was a merchant (Tabb, Allmand & Co.). Collection includes correspondence of members of the Tabb family with Tabb and business letters written to him. The letters primarily concern the business that Tabb conducted in Danville, Virginia. Letter comments on dining at "White Marsh" for three and one half hours and the $20,000 worth of silver on the table,...
Dates:
1826-1856
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center