Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 21 - 30 of 683

Autographs of Virginians

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Sm Coll Add.9
Scope and Contents Autographs of four Virginians in letters:

John Strode Barbour  (1846 letter);

Thomas Henry Bayly (undated);

John Warwick Daniel (1908) and

Charles Triplett O'Ferrall (1897).

Ayres Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 Ay7
Scope and Contents Correspondence, 1833-1855, of members of the Ayres family including John W. Ayres at Chillicothe and Cincinnati, Ohio; and Fort Madison and Agency City, Iowa (with his father John B. Ayres at Diana Mills, Buckingham County, Va.), Robert H. Ayres, Hillsboro, Ohio and Jackson, Tenn. (with John B. Ayres, Matthias L. Ayres and Suckie Ayres) and Nathan W. Ayres (with Matthias L. Ayres and William Ford & Co., Richmond, Va. Letters concern the Methodist Church, abolitionists, politics, Thomsonian...

B. Davenport & Co. Ledger

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. MsV Ame20
Scope and Contents Ledger, 1841-1861, of B. Davenport & Co., merchants, of Williamsburg, Va. which includes accounts, 1860, with the College of William and Mary and which was used as a scrapbook, 1892-1905, for newspaper clippings of poems and articles; Christmas cards; valentines; advertisements; cigarette cards; and seed catalog covers.

Baird Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 B16
Scope and Contents Collection includes papers, 1656-1848, concerning Essex County, Va. including land records and wills, many of which relate to the Rowzee family. Many of the records date from the seventeenth century. The collection also includes correspondence, 1830-1920, of members of the Baird family including letters, 1859-1911, of Edward R. Baird while attending the University of Virginia, serving in Pickett's Division and as superintendent of schools in Essex County. There are also...

J. Baker Account Book

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ab2
Scope and Contents Account book, 1820-1821, of J. Baker, a lawyer who practiced in Berkeley County, W. Va., Morgan County, W. Va., and Jefferson County, W. Va.

Alexander Balmaine Memorandum Book

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ch1
Scope and Contents Photostat copy of the memorandum book, 1775-1820, of Alexander Balmaine, clergyman, of Christ Church, Winchester, Va. which contains lists of church members, baptisms, marriages, and deaths in Winchester and vicinity. It also includes scattered accounts and correspondence.

Bank of Alexandria Checkbook

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ap43 Oversize
Scope and Contents Checkbook, 1803-1804, of an unidentified person in account with the Bank of Alexandria, Va.

Bank of Smithfield Check Stub Book

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 2008.215
Scope and Contents Check stub receipt book for the Bank of Smithfield (Va.), dated 1891-1893.  Check stubs record dates and names of businesses and individuals.

Some old mold present.

Florence Barber Diary

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00834
Scope and Contents This diary was formerly described as an unattributed diary and entitled: Diary (Portsmouth, Va.), 1901, but has now been attributed to Florence Barber of Norfolk, Virginia. In brief daily entries she talks about the weather, chores, and social life, trips to town, church, attending meetings, etc. In August she went to visit churches and schools in Georgia and Alabama, like Atlanta University and Spelman College, both historically black schools. She also mentions teaching music, attending...

Philip L. Barbour Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 89 Bar 23
Scope and Contents Papers, 1935-1980, of historian and scholar Philip Lemont Barbour (1898-1980), including research notes for his historical writings on the settlement of North America. Most articles, clippings and notes concern those people associated with Captain John Smith, a leader of the Jamestown settlement in Virginia. Notes were also used in the audio production, "The Jamestown Saga; the Founding of the American Colony in the Words of the Colonists," written by Philip L. Barbour and Nigel...

Filtered By

  • Subject: Virginia--History X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Names
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 21
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 16
Tyler, Lyon Gardiner, 1853-1935 13
Bruton Parish Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 9
Jefferson, Thomas, 1743-1826 8
∨ more
College of William and Mary. 7
Tyler, John, 1790-1862 6
Gary Alonzo Barranger 5
Lee, Henry, 1756-1818 5
Tyler Family 5
Virginia House of Delegates 5
Virginia State Senate 5
Brown family 4
Brown, Coalter, and Tucker Family 4
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation 4
Dinwiddie, Robert, 1693-1770 4
Galt, James, of Fluvanna County, 1805-1876 4
Henry, Patrick, 1736-1799 4
Madison, James, 1749-1812 4
Marshall-Wythe School of Law 4
Perrin family 4
Tucker, St. George, 1752-1827 4
Tyler, John, Jr., 1819-1898 4
University of Virginia 4
Blair, John, 1732-1800 3
Braxton family 3
Brown, Frances Bland Coalter, 1835-1894 3
Brown, Henry Peronneau, 1883-1942 3
Cabell, Joseph C. (Joseph Carrington), 1778-1856 3
Coalter family 3
College of William and Mary 3
College of William and Mary. Board of Visitors 3
College of William and Mary. School of Education 3
Democratic Party (U.S.) 3
Dunmore, John Murray, 4th Earl of, 1732-1809 3
Dunmore, John Murray, Earl of, 1732-1809 3
Jackson, Stonewall, 1824-1863 3
James River and Kanawha Canal (Va.) 3
Lee, Robert Edward, 1807-1870 3
Marshall, John, 1755-1835 3
Morton family 3
Taliaferro family 3
Tazewell, Littleton Waller, 1774-1860 3
Tyler, Sue Ruffin, 1889-1953 3
Washington, Henry A., 1820-1858 3
Wythe, George, 1726-1806 3
American Red Cross 2
Amherst, Jeffery Amherst, Baron, 1717-1797 2
Andros, Edmund, Sir, 1637-1714 2
Barraud, Philip, 1758-1830 2
Blair family 2
Blair, James, 1656-1743 2
Blair, James, 1741-1772 2
Botetourt, Norborne Berkeley, Baron de, ca. 1718-1770 2
Brooke, Robert 2
Bryan, John Stewart, 1871-1944 2
Campbell family 2
Catlett family 2
Coalter, John, 1769-1838 2
Coalter, Maria Rind, d. 1792 2
Coalter, St. George Tucker, 1809-1839 2
Cocke Family 2
Cocke, John Hartwell, 1780-1866 2
Cocke, John Hartwell, fl. 1857-1880 2
College of William and Mary. Dean of Women 2
College of William and Mary. Dept. of English 2
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Mathematics 2
Colonial National Historical Park (Va.) 2
Democratic Party (Va.) 2
Early, Jubal Anderson, 1816-1894 2
Fauquier, Francis 2
French, Samuel Bassett, 1820-1898 2
Galt, James, 1805-1876 2
Garth family 2
Hall, J. Lesslie (John Lesslie), 1856- 2
Hart, John, 1860-1937 2
Holmes, George Frederick, 1820-1897 2
Hughes, Robert M. (Robert Morton), b. 1855 2
Letcher, John, 1813-1884 2
Loring, William Wing 2
Maury family 2
Maury, James, Sr., 1718-1769 2
Maxwell, William, 1784-1857 2
McAllister, J. T. (Joseph Thompson), 1866-1927 2
McCausland, John 2
Morton, Estelle 2
Morton, Richard Lee, 1889-1974 2
Myers, Gustavus Adophus, 1801-1869 2
Nicholson, Francis, 1655-1728 2
Office of the President 2
Preston Family 2
Preston, Francis 2
Preston, John, 1764-1827 2
Randolph, John, 1773-1833 2
Richmond (Va.) News Leader 2
Richmond Times-Dispatch (Va.) 2
Robinson Family 2
Rowzee family 2
Sheldon, Jacob D. 2
Smith family 2
∧ less