Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 31 - 40 of 50

Robert D. Calkins Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 00/05/UA 5.165
Scope and Contents Letters, speeches, publications, and other materials, circa 1930s-1990s, of Robert D. Calkins, economist and president of the Brookings Institution. Includes speeches and publications by Calkins about the role and future of higher education, business education, and economic matters. There are also letters from throughout his career, including letters from members of state and federal governments, other academics, and business leaders.

Political Parties and Presidential Candidates Scrapbook

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. MsV Scp4
Scope and Contents Scrapbook, 1876-1884, of an unidentified person which contains newspaper clippings on the political parties and presidential candidates.

Political Scrapbook

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. MsV Scp5
Scope and Contents Scrapbook, ca. 1889-1896, of an unidentified person containing newspaper clippings and notes on politics.

Rush R. Sloan Scrapbook

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. MsV Scp2
Scope and Contents Scrapbook, 1845-1859, of Rush R. Sloan, Sandusky, Ohio, containing newspaper clippings and a few notes relating to political affairs.

Alexander Hugh Holmes Stuart Copybook

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Cp13
Scope and Contents Letter copybook, 1851-1852, of Alexander H. H. Stuart, kept while serving as United States Secretary of the Interior. Includes official and personal correspondence.  Index.

William Booth Taliaferro Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 T15
Scope and Contents Papers, 1811-1954, of William Booth Taliaferro and his family of Gloucester County, Va. Taliaferro's papers consist of diaries, letterbook (while at Harpers Ferry), correspondence, speeches, memoirs and accounts. The collection also includes papers of his wife, Sally Nivison Lyons Taliaferro (including diaries), his ancestors, siblings and descendants, as well as photographs, genealogical notes and artifacts of the Taliaferro family. There are papers of other people who are not...

Tazewell Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 92 T19
Scope and Contents Papers; 1838-1979. Business records and letters of the Tazewell family of Norfolk, VA, chiefly of Gov. Littleton Waller Tazewell, John Nivison Tazewell, Sally A. Tazewell, Ella Wickham Tazewell and Louisa Nivison Tazewell. Includes are account balances, property inventory lists, stock and bond certificate lists, tax collection receipts, payment receipts and personal correspondence concerning a book about Littleton Waller Tazewell. Also includes are a newspaper article, 1978, about the...

Tazewell Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00586
Scope and Contents Papers, 1797-1850, of the Tazewell family. Includes letter, 1797, written by Samuel H. Smith to Henry Tazewell concerning his paper, The Universal Gazette and discussing foreign affairs; and letters, 1804-1850, written by Henry S. Foote and William Nelson, Jr. to Littleton Waller Tazewell; and one anonymous letter addressed to Tazewell and John Tyler (1790-1862) concerning army promotions.

Thomas W. Thomas Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 39.1 T36
Scope and Contents Papers, chiefly 1834-1863, of Thomas W. Thomas, soldier, lawyer, and judge of Elberton, GA concerning his law practice and  his friendship with US Senator Robert Toombs. His papers primarily concern his various legal cases, but also discuss politics, the Civil War, and other topics sporadically. Included in the collection are papers, 1834-1864, of Drury B. Cade who operated a canal boat on the Savannah River. Items of special interest include letter, 3 April 1842, from John Reeves Jones Daniel...

Walker Timberlake Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 T48
Scope and Contents Letters, 1813-1851, received by Rev. Walker Timberlake, Fluvanna County, Va. Many are from James Crewdson, Logan County, Ky. concerning his family and also politics. Includes comments on Andrew Jackson, John Quincy Adams, and the election of 1828.

Filtered By

  • Subject: United States--Politics and Government X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Names
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 11
Virginia State Senate 7
Tyler, John, 1790-1862 6
Whig Party (U.S.) 5
Republican Party (U.S.) 4
∨ more
Tyler Family 4
Virginia House of Delegates 4
Wise, Henry A. (Henry Alexander), 1806-1876 4
Clay, Henry, 1777-1852 3
Godwin, Edwin Mills, Jr., 1914-1999 3
Jefferson, Thomas, 1743-1826 3
Tyler, Lyon Gardiner, 1853-1935 3
Tyler, Robert, 1816-1878 3
United States Congress 3
Democratic Party (U.S.) 2
Gary Alonzo Barranger 2
Holton, A. Linwood (Abner Linwood), 1923- 2
Hughes, Robert William 2
Johnston, Joseph Eggleston, 1807-1891 2
Madison, James, Jr., 1751-1836 2
Mahone, William, 1826-1895 2
Powell, Leven, 1737-1810 2
Preston Family 2
Preston, Francis 2
Preston, John, 1764-1827 2
Readjuster Party of Virginia 2
Rives, William C. (William Cabell), 1793-1868 2
Tazewell family 2
Tazewell, Littleton Waller, 1774-1860 2
Tyler, John, Jr., 1819-1898 2
Tyler, Julia Gardiner, 1820-1889 2
Tyler, Sue Ruffin, 1889-1953 2
United States Senate 2
United States. Dept. of the Interior 2
University of Virginia 2
Adams, John, 1735-1826 1
American Red Cross 1
Bateman, Herbert Harvell, 1928-2000 1
Beauregard, Pierre Gustave Toutant, 1818-1893 1
Booth family 1
Borland, Roscius Cicero, d. 1847 1
Borland, Thomas Roscius, 1844-1900 1
Buchanan, James, 1791-1868 1
Burr, Aaron, 1756-1836 1
Cabell, Joseph C. (Joseph Carrington), 1778-1856 1
Cameron, William Evelyn, 1842-1927 1
Central Lunatic Asylum, Richmond, Va 1
Chandler, J. A. C. (Julian Alvin Carroll), 1872-1934 1
Collins, Clarkson A. 1
Conkling, Roscoe, 1829-1888 1
Connolly, John, 1750?-1813 1
Daingerfield family 1
Dalton, John N. 1
Dunmore, John Murray, Earl of, 1732-1809 1
Economic Development 1
Eisenhower, Dwight D. (Dwight David), 1890-1969 1
Ellis, Pearl Tyler, 1860-1947 1
Floyd, John Buchanan, 1806-1863 1
Ford, Gerald R., 1913-2006 1
Fremont, John Charles, 1813-1890 1
Galbraith family 1
Gallatin, Albert (1761-1849) 1
Galt, John Minson, II, 1819-1862 1
Garrett, Robert M., 1807-1885 1
Gilmer, Thomas Walker 1
Goode, John, 1829-1909 1
Goodwin family 1
Graves, William J. (Congressman), 1806-1876 1
Green, Duff, 1791-1875 1
Green, Mary Giles, 1762-1819 1
Greenleaf, Joseph 1
Gregory family 1
Gregory family. 1
Hepburn family 1
Holloway, Laura C. (Laura Carter), b. 1848 1
Hughes family. 1
Humboldt, Alexander von, 1769-1859 1
Jackson, Andrew, 1767-1845 1
Longwood University 1
Madison, Dolley P., 1768-1849 1
Madison, James, 1751-1836 1
Manchester National Bank, Richmond, Va 1
Mapp, G. Walter, 1873-1941 1
Marshall-Wythe School of Law 1
Mason, Stevens Thomson, 1760-1803 1
McCandlish (Colonel) 1
McKean, Thomas, 1734-1817 1
Minge (Dr.) 1
Monroe, James (1799-1870) 1
Monroe, James, 1758-1831 1
Newport News Shipbuilding and Dry Dock Company 1
Order of the Mechanics’ Mutual Protection 1
Paschall, Davis Young, 1911-2001 1
Payne, John Barton, 1855-1935 1
Pollard, John Garland, 1871-1937 1
Poughkeepsie Lyceum (N.Y.) 1
Powell, Charles Leven (1804-1896) 1
Preston family 1
Preston, Francis, 1765-1836 1
Preston, William 1
∧ less