Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 51 - 60 of 1081

Harlan H. Ballard, Jr. Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.091
Scope and Contents Set of 5 journals and a few single letters, poems, postcards and photographs. The journals document vacations and visits to Harlan H. Ballard, Jr.'s  cabin, referred to in one of the journals as 'Arbutus Lodge.' Arbutus Lodge was located in Nichewaug, near Barr, both Worcester County, Massachusetts. The entries were written both by the host and guests and detail their visits and activities. Several of the volumes contain photographs. Some of the names mentioned are: ...

Baltimore Woman's Committee for Cuban Freedom

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 2008.121
Scope and Contents Includes newspaper clippings, photographs of and correspondence with committee members and politicians, and a scrapbook, all concerning the activities of the Baltimore Woman's Committee in Maryland, also referred to as the Baltimore Women's Committee for Cuban Freedom.

John Strode Barbour Letter to Editor of the National Intelligencer

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00465
Scope and Contents Letter, 1829 February 10, John Strode Barbour, House of Representatives, Washington, D. C., to Editor of National Intelligencer. 1 p. ; 25 cm. Letter concerns a dispute with Congressman Elisha Whittlesey.

Philip L. Barbour Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 89 Bar 23
Scope and Contents Papers, 1935-1980, of historian and scholar Philip Lemont Barbour (1898-1980), including research notes for his historical writings on the settlement of North America. Most articles, clippings and notes concern those people associated with Captain John Smith, a leader of the Jamestown settlement in Virginia. Notes were also used in the audio production, "The Jamestown Saga; the Founding of the American Colony in the Words of the Colonists," written by Philip L. Barbour and Nigel...

S. B. Barham Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00467
Scope and Contents Bills and accounts, 1904-1910, of Dr. S. B. Barham, Runnymede, Surry Co., Va. Includes a letter, 26 January 1907, to Barham concerning the rebuilding of the Surry County Courthouse.

Barker-Cooke Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 B24
Scope and Contents Letters and business papers, chiefly 1848-1866, of James E. Cooke of Powhatan, Virginia and the Barker family of Fluvanna County, Virginia including letters relating to the hiring out of slaves, plantation operations and the Civil War (letters of John H. Barker and Henry J. Dobbs of the 18th Virginia Regiment of the Confederate army concerning the Battle of First Bull Run (Manassas).

Barksdale Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 B25
Scope and Contents Correspondence, 1888-1897, of G.A. Barksdale and E.C. Barksdale of Richmond, Va. concerning the renting out of rooms and concerning the cancellation of a river excursion from Richmond to Norfolk, Va.

Cynthia Barlowe and Raymond Kimbrough Collection

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 1993.29
Scope and Contents Papers, 1909-1966, relating to institutions in Williamsburg, Virginia including The College of William and Mary, Matthew Whaley School and Bruton Parish Church collected by Cynthia Barlowe and Raymond Kimbrough.

C.M. Barnes Letters

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00861
Scope and Contents A collection of eleven letters dating from 1926 to 1928 addressed to Olive Barnes from her mother, C.M. Barnes. One of these includes a letter addressed to C.M. Barnes from Mildred and Verne Barnes. Mother writes from Opportunity and Dishman, to Olive in Kewa, Newport, Pullman, and Washtuca, Washington state.

Letters include discussion of the act of writing letters, local news and acquaintances, listening to the radio, visits, and advice on Olive’s teaching career.

Baron de Watergeul Boom Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00666
Scope and Contents Letter written on December 4, 1781 from Philadelphia, Pennsylvania by Baron de Watergeul Boom to "Mon Cher Ami" concerning celebration on board French ship after Yorktown Campaign. He writes poetry about the party, particularly talking of bachelorhood. Baron de Watergeul Boom may be a pseudonym. Includes poem with classical allusion which is annotated. Original letter is written in French, but English transcription is included.

Filtered By

  • Subject: Correspondence X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Names
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 67
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 33
College of William and Mary. 26
Tyler, Lyon Gardiner, 1853-1935 18
College of William and Mary. Board of Visitors 17
∨ more
Jefferson, Thomas, 1743-1826 17
Office of the President 17
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation 16
Marshall-Wythe School of Law 15
Bruton Parish Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 14
University of Virginia 12
Madison, James, 1749-1812 11
Tucker, St. George, 1752-1827 11
Tyler, John, 1790-1862 11
Virginia House of Delegates 11
College of William and Mary. Swem Library 10
Eastern State Hospital (Va.) 10
College of William and Mary 9
College of William and Mary. Office of the President 9
Monroe, James, 1758-1831 9
Omohundro Institute of Early American History and Culture 9
Tyler Family 9
Bryan, John Stewart, 1871-1944 8
Chandler, J. A. C. (Julian Alvin Carroll), 1872-1934 8
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Theatre, Speech, and Dance 8
Lee, Henry, 1756-1818 8
Phi Beta Kappa. Virginia Alpha (College of William and Mary) 8
College of William and Mary. College of Arts and Sciences 7
College of William and Mary. Dept. of English 7
College of William and Mary. School of Education 7
Development Office--Endowment Assocation 7
Early, Jubal Anderson, 1816-1894 7
Ewell, Benjamin Stoddert 7
Galt family 7
Lee, Robert Edward, 1807-1870 7
Paschall, Davis Young, 1911-2001 7
State Council of Higher Education for Virginia 7
United States Congress 7
Virginia Institute of Marine Science 7
Virginia State Senate 7
Washington, George, 1732-1799 7
College of William and Mary. Dept. of History 6
College of William and Mary. School of Business Administration 6
Mahone, William, 1826-1895 6
Marshall, John, 1755-1835 6
Tyler, John, Jr., 1819-1898 6
Whig Party (U.S.) 6
Associated and Branch Campuses--Virginia Associated Research Campus 5
Brown, Coalter, and Tucker Family 5
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Chemistry 5
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Sociology 5
College of William and Mary. William and Mary Theatre 5
Democratic Party (U.S.) 5
Ewell, Benjamin Stoddert, 1810-1894 5
Graves, Thomas Ashley, Jr 5
Landrum, Grace Warren, 1876-1951 5
Republican Party (U.S.) 5
Swem, E. G. (Earl Gregg), 1870-1965 5
Tucker family 5
United States. Army. 5
Verkuil, Paul R 5
Wise, Henry A. (Henry Alexander), 1806-1876 5
Wythe, George, 1726-1806 5
American Red Cross 4
Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities 4
Braxton family 4
Brown family 4
Cabell, James Branch, 1879-1958 4
Cabell, Joseph C. (Joseph Carrington), 1778-1856 4
Chandler, Alvin Duke, 1902-1987 4
College of William and Mary. Dean of Women 4
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Anthropology 4
College of William and Mary. Project Plus 4
Daingerfield family 4
Democratic Party (Va.) 4
Dept. of History 4
Gary Alonzo Barranger 4
Greenia, George D. 4
Hall, J. Lesslie (John Lesslie), 1856- 4
Hope, James Barron, 1829-1887 4
Jackson, Andrew, 1767-1845 4
Jackson, Stonewall, 1824-1863 4
Johnston, Joseph Eggleston, 1807-1891 4
Jones, W. Melville, 1901-1992 4
Lincoln, Abraham, 1809-1865 4
Madison, James, 1751-1836 4
Madison, James, Jr., 1751-1836 4
Nicholson, Francis, 1655-1728 4
Order of the White Jacket 4
Randolph, John, 1773-1833 4
Robinson Family 4
Self Study 4
Smith family 4
Student Life--1990's 4
Tyler family 4
Tyler, Sue Ruffin, 1889-1953 4
Adams, John Quincy, 1767-1848 3
Andros, Edmund, Sir, 1637-1714 3
Associated and Branch Campuses--Richard Bland College 3
Blair family 3
∧ less