Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 4 of 4

Alabama Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 Al1
Scope and Contents Papers relating to Courtland, Alabama; Huntsville, Alabama; and Lawrence County, Alabama. Includes letter, 1839 August 31, from committee of the Democratic Republicans of Courtland to Andrew Jackson inviting him to a dinner in honor of James Polk and a resolution, undated, concerning public testimonial to memory of Jackson; land grant, 1823, for land in Huntsville signed by James Monroe; and accounts of James E. Saunders.

James Armstrong Letter to John Crowninshield

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00966
Scope and Contents Letter, February 26, 1937, of James Armstrong to John Crowninshield written from Norfolk, Virginia. The letter mentions a ship, Macedonean, and the Navy Yard. It also refers to U.S. President Andrew Jackson's term in office imminent end and that Martin Van Buren enters office under auspicious circumstances.

James Barron Papers (I)

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 B27
Scope and Contents Correspondence and papers of Commodore James Barron relating to his career in the United States Navy, and especially relating to The Chesapeake-Leopard Affair in 1807 and to his duel with Stephen Decatur. Collection includes photocopies of patents issued to Barron for his inventions and a typescript of William Oliver Stevens' An Affair of Honor, a biography of Barron. Correspondents include John Adams, Jesse Duncan Elliott, Andrew Jackson, Thomas Jefferson, Amos Kendall, Duff Green and Abel P....

Archibald McClean Letter to Charles S. Morgan

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01108
Scope and Contents Contains a letter from Archibald McClean to Charles S. Morgan regarding the 1830 Virginia Convention in Richmond, Virginia. In the letter, McClean talked about giving more representation in Virginia to the majority of residents instead of an oligarchy of the elite class. He ended his letter referring to Andrew Jackson, president of the United States, as a "plain, unostentatious republican in manners and quite accessible. But I could not receive the impression that he is a great man."

Filtered By

  • Subject: Correspondence X
  • Names: Jackson, Andrew, 1767-1845 X

Filter Results