Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 5 of 5

Board of Visitors Records

 Collection
Identifier: 00/01/UA 1
Scope and Contents The records of the Board of Visitors of the College of William and Mary includes meeting minutes and agendas, matriculation books, correspondence, material from Board of Visitors Rectors Oscar L. Shewmake and Roy Harvey Chappell, Jr., publications, and audio recordings of meetings from 1961-1999. An index to Board of Visitors meetings for the period 1947-1984 is available in the Special Collections Research Center. Researchers are also encouraged to consult the University Archives...

James Semple's Views on Promoting the Good of the College

 Collection
Identifier: UA 6.117
Scope and Contents On July 6, 1825, William & Mary law professor, James Semple, submitted his views on how to promote the good of the College to Board of Visitors member and alumnus John Tyler. He's responding to what appears to be a call by the Board of Visitors to the faculty to offer suggestions for how to improve the state of the school and bring it back to its "former standing." His views are submitted in draft form and include strikeouts and changes he made. He suggests ending the term in early June,...

John Tyler Letter to Henry A. Wise

 Collection
Identifier: UA 6.060
Scope and Contents Letter from John Tyler to Virginia Governor Henry A. Wise dated July 4, 1855. The letter states that Wise's being elected Governor would not be inconsistent with his remaining on William & Mary's Board of Visitors, and that other members of the Board hope Wise will not resign.

Robert Hunt Land Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 6.012
Scope and Contents This collection contains materials relating to Robert Hunt Land's work on the history of the College of William and Mary. It includes a published description of Land's proposed history of the college, notes and correspondence about the proposed history, and biographical information about alumni (1814-1881). It also contains correspondence between Herbert Ganter, Earl Gregg Swem, and Robert Hunt Land about Ganter's research on William and Mary at the Library of Congress.

Robert Saunders Letter to Henry A. Wise

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00509
Content Description Two page letter from Saunders, President of the College of William and Mary, from Williamsburg, Virginia to The Honorable Henry A. Wise, informing him that a messenger had arrived recently to inform him that John Tyler had been elected President of the United States.

Filtered By

  • Subject: College of William and Mary--History--19th century X
  • Names: Tyler, John, 1790-1862 X

Filter Results