Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 11 - 20 of 47

John L. Beard Daybook

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ac1
Scope and Contents Daybook of John L. Beard, cabinetmaker of Middlebrook, Augusta Co., Va. 107 p. : bound volume ; 31 cm.

See also John L. Beard Ledger (Mss. MsV Ac2).

John L. Beard Ledger

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ac2
Scope and Contents Ledger of John L. Beard, cabinetmaker of Middlebrook, Augusta Co., Va. which includes formulas and directions for the making of glue and wood finishes; and contains measurements for certain pieces of furniture. Beard also made coffins. The volume contains minutes of the Nestorian Debating Society. 71 p. : bound volume ; 31 cm.

See also John L. Beard Daybook (Mss. MsV Ac1).

Beard Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 B38
Scope and Contents Papers (including correspondence) of Eva V. Beard, Nannie S. Beard, and John Link Beard of Augusta County, Virginia. Includes letter, 1843, of J. E. Carnes describing a trip by land and river boat from Augusta County, Virginiaa. to Licking County, Ohio (describing Virginia, West Virginia, and Ohio, particularly Cincinnati); a portion of John L. Beard's account book, 1834-1865, listing coffins made; and an order for exchange of Civil War prisoners at Richmond.

Blakemore Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 39.1 B55
Scope and Contents Papers, mostly accounts, of Nathan L. and Henry Blakemore, of Sangerville, Augusta County, Va., but including correspondence from commission merchants in Richmond, Lynchburg, Winchester, Staunton, Alexandria, and Fredericksburg, Va. and Baltimore, Md. Many letters are from Emmanuel Grove of Luray, Va. and concern the Shenandoah Iron Works run by Nathan L. Blakemore. Includes receipts from railroad and water transportation companies.

Byers Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 B99
Scope and Contents The Byers Family Papers include personal and business correspondence; accounts, and business records of the members of the Byers family of Augusta County, Virginia, especially those papers belonging to Joseph Byers, who repaired wells; Samuel C. Byers; and Robert C. Byers. This collection also includes report cards, 1890-1893, of Edwin C. and Howard Byers, and a few letters of James C. Byers, and Leila Byers.

James Turner Clarke Daybook

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ad45 Oversize
Scope and Contents Daybook, 1854-1879, kept by James Turner Clarke, physician in Augusta County, Va. Also includes copies of deeds of trust for the benefit of Clarke, bounty land warrants for War of 1812 obtained by Clarke; 1907-1908 transactions concerning the building of a tower on the Methodist Episcopal Church (South) at Mount Solon, Va. and notes, 1910, concerning archaeological digs in Arizona.

James Turner Clarke Ledger

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ad43 Oversize
Scope and Contents Includes accounts as a doctor in Augusta County, Va. with members of the Blakemore family and with Jedediah Hotchkiss (p. 33) and accounts of drawing up legal documents, surveying, and selling merchandise (including books, papers, and school supplies). Also contains register of births of slaves, free blacks, and whites (1857-1897).

James Crawford Diary

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV D18
Scope and Contents Diary of James Crawford of Augusta County, Virginia.  His first entry notes, "commenced this my journal which I wish to record the daily occurrences that happen in my family and neighborhood..."

Crist & Blakemore Records

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 C875
Scope and Contents Accounts of Crist & Blakemore, merchants of Sangersville, Augusta County, Va., with Baltimore, Md. wholesale merchants.

Francis W. Dever Journal

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame22 Oversize
Scope and Contents Journal, 1855-1856, of Francis W. Dever, merchant, at Mount Solon, Augusta County, Va. which includes accounts with Samuel Paul.