Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 4 of 4

King William III Letter to Sir Edmund Andros

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00080
Scope and Contents Letter written to Andros, noting that as a result of the Royal Charter establishing the College, the Crown grants Francis Nicholson "and others named in our said charter" the sum of 1,985 pounds 14 shillings and 10 pence "out of such Money Received for our Revenue of Quit Rents in our said Colony as is remaining in the hands of our Trusty and Welbeloved [sic] William Byrd." The letter further dictates the dissimenation of funds to other individuals, including the estate of Nathaniel Bacon.

King William III Letter to Sir Edmund Andros

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00121
Scope and Contents Letter written to Andros requiring that he and others give their support to the College of William & Mary.

Royal Charter Collection

 Collection
Identifier: UA 77
Scope and Contents This collection includes two contemporary copies of the Royal Charter issued to the College of William and Mary by King William III and Queen Mary II in 1693. One copy was probably made for the personal reference of Sir Edmund Andros. It is uncertain for whom the second copy, known as the Harvard copy, was created. It is referred to as the Harvard copy because it was found in an attic at Harvard and subsequently given to the College of William and Mary in 1937. The Harvard copy...

King William III and Queen Mary II Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 75s W67
Scope and Contents This collection contains items relating to King William III of England (1650-1702) and his wife Queen Mary II (1662-1694) spanning 1689 to 1710. There is also research material, dated 1986-1988, relating to King William III and Queen Mary II. The collection consists of three letters of appointment to office, a commission (written in Latin), a warrant for payment of services, and a manuscript volume of public revenues and expenditures during the reigns of William III, Mary II, and Queen Anne...

Filtered By

  • Names: William III, King of England, 1650-1702 X
  • Subject: College of William and Mary--History--17th century X

Filter Results