Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 10 of 18

Dora and Cara Armistead Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 2004.24, 2006.54
Scope and Contents Papers from the household of Dora Travis Armistead (1890-1979) and Rowland Cara Armistead, sisters of Williamsburg, Virginia. Includes letters, personal, financial and business papers of Cary Peyton Armistead (1856-1901), father of Dora and Cara, Steward of Eastern Lunatic Asylum (now Eastern State Hospital), and prominent local Episcopal Church and school leader; Eudora Ester Armistead (d. 1940), mother; Cary Champion Armistead (d. 1944), brother, and lawyer for a time in Detroit, Michigan;...

Edward Ashby Armstrong Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.001
Scope and Contents Papers of William and Mary student Edward Ashby Armstrong, including poems, essays and homilies; certificates of distinction; letters of recommendation from Thomas Jefferson Stubbs and Lyon Gardiner Tyler; and grade reports.

Alexander Brown Papers (I)

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 B83
Scope and Contents Inventory contains the papers of Alexander Brown (1843-1906), farmer, merchant and author who lived in Nelson County, Virginia. Includes correspondence relating to his books, The Genesis of the United States, The First Republic in America, The Cabells and Their Kin, New Views, and other correspondence and business papers of Brown including letters written...

Henry Denison Cole Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 C67
Scope and Contents Included are minutes of the Wise Light Infantry Co. of Williamsburg, 1881-1882; the College of William and Mary Alumni Association, 1906-1917; papers concerning the College of William and Mary including letters, 1873, from Benjamin S. Ewell; the Williamsburg Free School Trustees, 1870-1907; and the Democratic Committee of Williamsburg. Also accounts of the state school funds, 1894-1911; the city school funds, 1906-1911, 1919-1924; Bruton Parish Church 1897-1938; and of Robert F. Cole...

College Papers Collection

 Collection
Identifier: UA 14
Scope and Contents This collection includes a variety of material formats and subjects from throughout the College's history.

Flora Adams Darling Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 39.1 D25
Scope and Contents Correspondence, chiefly 1890-1908, of Flora (Adams) Darling, concerning her founding of the Daughters of the American Revolution, the General Society of Daughters of the Revolution, and the National Society, United States Daughters of 1812. Prominent correspondents include Edward William Bok, Jessie Benton Fremont, William Archer Rutherfoord Goodwin, George Frisbie, John Tyler Morgan, William Mahone, Alexander Hamilton Stephens, and Lyon Gardiner Tyler. Also included are family...

Catherine Dennis Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.004
Scope and Contents The papers of Catherine Dennis include pages from the scrapbook she kept at the College of William and Mary. Dennis was part of the first class of women to attend William and Mary beginning in 1918. Photographs feature Dennis and other students, including Martha Barksdale, around campus. The collection also includes an invitation to the Students' Army Training Corps Ball, a letter from William and Mary President Lyon G. Tyler to Catherine Dennis, and a copy of the September 1974 Alumni Gazette...

Samuel Bassett French Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 F88 and Mss. 98 F88
Scope and Contents Papers and letters of  Samuel Bassett French, a judge who lived in Manchester, Virginia during the mid to late 1800's.

Fairfax Harrison Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 H25
Scope and Contents Papers, 1736-1945, of and collected by Fairfax Harrison. Papers collected include colonial era documents, deeds, surveys, the diary of Sally Fairfax (1771-1772), legal papers, a copy of the Dettingen Parish (Prince William County, Va.) vestry book which contains minutes, indentures, and other (1745-1802), and photostat copy of the letterbook (1801) of Col. John Tayloe of Mount Airy, Va. Fairfax Harrison's papers include his correspondence with individuals and institutions concerning his...

Richard Lee Morton Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 90 M84
Scope and Contents Papers, chiefly 1930-1969, of Richard Lee Morton, professor of history at the College of William and Mary from 1919 to 1959. Series 1 includes personal and professional correspondence, lectures and notes relating to his research on Virginia history, and material relating to his community activities in Williamsburg, Va. Includes correspondence of his wife Estelle (Dinwiddie) Morton, land grants, 1756 and 1774, signed by Robert Dinwiddie and Lord Dunmore, Confederate currency and bonds,...

Filtered By

  • Names: Tyler, Lyon Gardiner, 1853-1935 X
  • Subject: Correspondence X

Filter Results