Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 31 - 40 of 248

Book Dedication by Thomas Jefferson to the Library of the College of William and Mary

 Collection
Identifier: UA 365
Scope and Contents An inscription dedicating a book to the library of the College of William and Mary, believed to be in the handwriting of Thomas Jefferson. The signature in the inscription has been cut out. Also included in the collection is another manuscript describing the provenance of the book dedication by someone with the initials "J.B." The inscription was supposedly from a copy of Tracy's Treatise on Political Economy, which was revised and corrected by...

Leonard Born Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.048
Scope and Contents The collection includes papers written by Born during the course of his attendance at William & Mary, mainly for English classes. There is also correspondence from 1985 and loose pages from a photo album believed to have been assembled by Born, while a student at William & Mary. The contents are primarily photographs of campus and Williamsburg area from the 1926-1927. Additional photographs relate to life in rural, early twentieth century Virginia, the Newport News Shipyard, Carter's...

John E. Boswell Collection

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.151
Scope and Contents This collection contains correspondence to and from and news clippings about Professor John E. Boswell, College of William and Mary class of 1969, and faculty member at Yale University. Most of the articles and clippings contain reviews of Boswell's scholarship, including his book "Christianity, Social Intolerance, and Homosexuality: Gay People in Western Europe from the Beginning of the Christian Era to the 14th Century" published in 1980. The bulk of the correspondence is between Boswell and...

Thomas Russell Bowden Letter

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.119
Scope and Contents Letter written by Thomas Russell Bowden to the editor of New England Magazine on May 16, 1892 in response to an article published in December 1891 as to "Why the South was defeated in the Civil War."  Bowden requests the opportunity to submit a written response to the article and includes his thoughts regarding the South and specifically Virginia as well as his longstanding familial ties to both the state, Williamsburg, and the College of William and Mary.

C. E. Branscome Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.120
Scope and Contents This collection consists of mathematical teaching materials and genealogical material created by C.E. Branscome, and a letter from C. E. Branscome to "Librarian."

Benjamin Bray Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2002.35
Scope and Contents One box plus oversize diploma of Benjamin Bray, William and Mary class of 1949.  He was a Common Glory actor, poet, playwright, teacher and social worker. Papers consist mostly of his poetical writings plus one play written with his brother James.

Alan V. Briceland Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.172
Scope and Contents This collection contains class schedules, syllabi, exams, and other material related to Alan V. Briceland while a student at the College of William and Mary from 1957-1961. Included in the papers are activity and meal cards, laundry lists, and material related to the Circle K club. The class material includes courses from the History, Government, English, Philosophy, and Education departments.

Bright Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1996.24
Scope and Contents Papers of the Bright Family of Williamsburg, Virginia and Philadephia, Pennsylvania.  Correspondence and business papers of Robert Anderson Bright of Williamsburg, Virginia and his son Robert Southall Bright, College of William and Mary class of 1891 and a Philadelphia lawyer.  Personal and professional correspondence, bills and receipts, photographs and legal papers. Includes letters between Robert Southall Bright while a student at William and Mary to his father and letter...

Robert Southall Bright Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.131
Scope and Contents This collection consists of a handwritten draft of "Memories of Williamsburg and Stories of My Father," written by Robert Southall Bright and published in 1941.  It also includes addresses delivered by Bright and a memorial booklet about him.

Julian Arlington Brooks Scrapbook

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.096
Scope and Contents This scrapbook was created by Julian Arlington Brooks, while a student at the College of William and Mary from 1916-1920. Included in the scrapbook are photos of campus buildings and students, women who may have been part of the first class of women at William and Mary, Kappa Alpha Order fraternity members, both a baseball and football player, and the Student Army Training Corps (original print of fire drill). There are also newspaper clippings about William and Mary baseball, a dance card...

Filtered By

  • Names: College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
College of William and Mary--Students 127
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 71
Correspondence 63
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 52
Photographs 41
∨ more
Scrapbooks 21
College of William and Mary--Students--Social life and customs 18
Financial records 18
Legal documents 15
Manuscripts (document genre) 15
Academic writing 14
Certificates 14
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 13
Programs 12
Women college students 12
Clippings (information artifacts) 11
Notebooks 11
United States--Politics and Government 11
Publications 10
Diaries 9
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century 9
Receipts (financial records) 8
Reports 8
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 8
Agendas (administrative records) 7
College of William and Mary--History--18th century 7
Genealogy 7
Homecoming 7
Letters (correspondence) 7
Negatives 7
Speeches, addresses, etc. 7
Virginia--Governors 7
Account books 6
College of William and Mary--Faculty and Staff 6
Minutes 6
Virginia--Genealogy 6
Course work 5
Fliers (printed matter) 5
Slides (photographs) 5
Virginia--Politics and Government 5
Women--Education (Higher)--United States 5
World War, 1939-1945 5
Artifacts 4
Fundraising campaigns 4
Pamphlets 4
Poems 4
Speeches 4
Student housing 4
Technical reports 4
United States--Lawyers 4
Universities and Colleges--Virginia--Faculty 4
Video recordings 4
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 4
Women--Virginia--Social life and customs 4
Buildings and Grounds 3
College of William and Mary--Commencement 3
College of William and Mary--History--21st century 3
Curriculum 3
Diplomas 3
Education, Higher--Virginia--History 3
Newsletters 3
Newspapers 3
Plays (document genre) 3
Printed ephemera 3
Rosters 3
Scripts (documents) 3
Segregation in education--Virginia 3
Slavery--Virginia--19th century 3
Sound Recordings 3
Student Life--1960's 3
Textbooks 3
Transcripts 3
Typescripts 3
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 3
Williamsburg (Va.)--Photographs 3
Women--Education--Virginia 3
World War, 1914-1918 3
American poetry--20th century 2
Appointments (military records) 2
Athletics 2
Authors, American--20th century 2
Booklets 2
Choir of the College of William and Mary (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
Coeducation--United States--History--20th century 2
Coeducation--Virginia 2
College of William and Mary--History--17th century 2
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation--History 2
Debates and debating--Virginia--History--19th century 2
Education--Virginia--History--19th century 2
Education--Virginia--History--20th century 2
Elections--Virginia 2
Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgendered Students and Alumni 2
Gloucester County (Va.)--History 2
Invoices 2
Jamestown (Va.)--History 2
Jamestown (Va.)--History--20th century 2
Lapel Pins 2
Lecture notes 2
Literature--Societies, etc 2
Maps 2
∧ less