Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 11 - 20 of 26

Cynthia Beverley Tucker Washington Coleman Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00007
Scope and Contents The collection contains the papers of Williamsburg native Cynthia Beverley Tucker Washington Coleman and includes correspondence, Coleman's personal writings, various publications, legal and financial papers, and artifacts.

Benjamin Crowninshield Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.099
Scope and Contents The collection includes one letter written by Crowninshield and four letters received by him while a student at the College of William & Mary in May and June of 1804.In his May 30, 1804 letter, he writes, “The pleasing manners of this place would be enough to keep one here, but the advantages of the college, I should think, would keep me here forever.” He also discusses the theories of Sir Isaac Newton and mentions walking with the president of William & Mary, Bishop James...

Vernon Geddy, Jr. Speech on Williamsburg Restoration

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00613
Scope and Contents Typed copy of a speech on Williamsburg and the Restoration given to the Bruton Parish Men's Club during August, 1988.

WHRA.

Hall Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 90 H14
Scope and Contents This collection consists of the papers of the Hall and Moore families of New York, Richmond, Va. and Williamsburg, Va. Includes wills, estate papers, legal and financial transactions, 1810-1915, of Jacob Hall, Sarah Hall and Cunningham Hall; and Bishop Richard Channing Moore, Virginia Moore, Harriet Glenworth Moore, Margaretta Moore and Louise Moore. Contains correspondence, 1854-1876, between Zebulon S. Farland and Ellen Douglas Gordon Farland; letters, 1906-1928, to Margaret (Farland) Hall,...

John Lesslie Hall Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 6.021
Scope and Contents Collection of John Lesslie Hall, a William and Mary faculty member from 1888-1928. The collection includes biographical material; notebooks; publications; pictures; speeches and addresses; Notes on Bruton Parish Church; correspondence; and tax levies.

J. Paul Hudson Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2001.29
Scope and Contents Historical notes compiled by J. Paul Hudson. Papers relate to colonial churches in Virginia. Primary focus is on the history of Bruton Parish Church and the church at Jamestown, Virginia and the people associated with them. Includes box of index notes entitled "Church Notes" which is organized by subject, name of church and county and/or author. Accession 2004.37: Material regarding Church of St. Mary the Virgin, Bruton, England. Poem and...

Cotesworth P. Lewis Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1997.26
Scope and Contents Papers of the Reverend Cotesworth P. Lewis of Bruton Parish Church, Williamsburg, Va. More than one-half of the collection consists of letters written to Lewis relating to a sermon he gave 12 November 1967 with President Lyndon B. Johnson in the congregation. Lewis questioned United States policy in Vietnam. Most of the letters in the collection are favorable to Lewis' sermon. The rest of the collection consists of other sermons, 1938, 1947-1995 (1200 sermons), eulogies given by Lewis; church...

Lois Hornsby Collection of Williamsburg Ephemera

 Collection
Identifier: 01/MS 00082
Scope and Contents Contains scrapbooks, clippings, and printed ephemera documenting Williamsburg, Virginia. The accession includes material concerning the Williamsburg Reunion, Williamsburg Clergy Fellowship, Williamsburg land development, Bruton Heights, and Bruton Parish Church among others.

Maria to Elizabeth Ewell Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01106
Scope and Contents Letter, 1859 October 30, from someone named Maria to Elizabeth S. Ewell, daughter of College of William and Mary president Benjamin S. Ewell. In the letter, the author writes about life in Williamsburg, Virginia, the engagements of local men including professor Edwin Taliaferro to Bland Tucker, the Williamsburg Female Academy, and the loss of George T. Wilmer as rector of Bruton Parish Church.

Morecock Collection

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 M81
Scope and Contents Papers, 1881-1937 and n.d., relating to the history of Williamsburg, Jamestown, and Yorktown, Va. collected by members of the Morecock family of Williamsburg, Va. Includes photographs, pamphlets, Christmas cards, postcards, and wood-cut prints depicting the Powder Magazine, Bruton Parish Church, the Courthouse of 1770, the Yorktown Monument, the church tower at Jamestown as well as souvenirs of the Yorktown Centennial, 1881 and the Jamestown Exposition, 1907.

Filtered By

  • Names: Bruton Parish Church (Williamsburg, Va.) X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Correspondence 12
Photographs 12
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 11
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century 7
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 5
∨ more
Financial records 5
Account books 4
Jamestown (Va.)--History--20th century 4
Legal documents 4
Notebooks 4
Williamsburg (Va.)--Photographs 4
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 3
Episcopal Church--Virginia--History--19th century 3
Minutes 3
Pamphlets 3
Programs 3
Publications 3
Speeches, addresses, etc. 3
Yorktown (Va.)--History--20th century 3
Yorktown Monument (Yorktown, Va.) 3
Broadsides 2
Clippings (information artifacts) 2
College of William and Mary--Students 2
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation--History 2
Diaries 2
Education--Virginia--Williamsburg--19th century 2
Episcopal Church--Virginia--Clergy--20th century 2
Episcopal Church--Virginia--History 2
Episcopal Church--Virginia--History--20th century 2
Fliers (printed matter) 2
Jamestown Festival (1957) 2
Jamestown Ter-centennial Exposition (1907) 2
Letters (correspondence) 2
Manuscripts (document genre) 2
Matthew Whaley School (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
Obituaries 2
Powder Magazine (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
Receipts (financial records) 2
Reports 2
Slides (photographs) 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--Civic league 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--History 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--Library 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--Post Office 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--Social life and customs 2
World War, 1914-1918 2
African American physicians 1
African Americans--Virginia--Suffrage 1
African Americans--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
Agricultural exhibitions--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
Agriculture--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Alexandria (Va.)--History 1
Announcements 1
Art (sketches) 1
Artifacts 1
Baptist Church--Virginia--History 1
Blue Ridge Springs (Va.) 1
Booklets 1
Books 1
Bumper Stickers 1
Business records 1
Calendars 1
Capitol (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Catalogs 1
Certificates 1
Charities--Virginia 1
Charles City County (Va.)--History--20th century 1
Charlottesville (Va.)--History 1
Children--Death 1
Christmas cards 1
Clubs--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
College of William and Mary--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
College of William and Mary--Presidents 1
College theater--United States 1
Community theater 1
Cookbooks 1
Cookery--Southern States 1
Cookery--Virginia 1
Cookery--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
Danville (Va.)--History 1
Democratic Party (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Editorials 1
Education, Higher--Virginia--History 1
Engravings (Prints) 1
Episcopal Church--Clergy 1
Episcopal Church--Missions 1
Episcopal Church--Virginia--Clergy--19th century 1
Fredericksburg (Va.)--History 1
Gardening--Virginia 1
Genealogy 1
Greeting cards 1
Hanover Courthouse (Va.)--History 1
Harrisonburg (Va.)--History 1
Historic buildings--Conservation and restoration--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
Historic sites--Conservation and restoration 1
Hopewell (Va.)--History 1
Horticultural literature 1
Identity cards 1
Invitations 1
∧ less