Scope and Contents

6 items. See also Highway Funds, Series 72.

Scope and Contents

24 items. Including minutes of and exhibits from 1980 October 23 joint meeting of House and Senate committees, memorandum on 1980 proposal per child seat belt law, lobbying materials from Richmond, Fredericksburg, and Potomac Railroad, Co., January 1981 executive summary of statewide transportation facilities inventory and local transportation issues.

Scope and Contents

28 items. Minutes of meetings, statistical information, copies of resolutions mandating the study, correspondence between Governor Mills Godwin and Theodore C. Lutz of Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority, memoranda from Northern Virginia Transportation Commission, and itinerary for August 4-5 visit of Committee to Northern Virginia.

Scope and Contents

19 items. Minutes, documents, and data from 1977 August visit of joint committee to Northern Virginia, especially brochures and pamphlets on the Washington Area Metro. See also Metro, Series 116.

Scope and Contents

File includes copies of bills and substitutes, minutes of subcommittee meetings, packet of statistical tables, and Department of Highways report, "1978 Highway Present Day Needs." 15 items.

Scope and Contents

18 items. Primarily transcripts of presentations and resumes of presenters at 1980 June 9 Highway Cost Allocation Workshop.

Scope and Contents

6 items. Including documents on use of consultants by state agencies, statement by Federal Transportation Secretary, and spiral-bound report on 1980 September 12 public hearing on transportation. See also JLARC,Sseries 86, for related materials.

Scope and Contents

21 items. File includes 1982 February 12 letter from Trible thanking Bateman for his work, responses from many assembly members to Bateman's solicitations, lists of members who were or were not "on board," and undated "Tacking paper" on Trible's candidacy.

Scope and Contents

38 items. File contains 1973 correspondence about trucks carrying containers to and from ports; Bateman's 1974 sponsorship of S. 505 to issue special permits to trucks carrying containers to and from ports and exceeding the legal weight limit including correspondence with the Commissioner of the State Highway Department and with tobacco company officials, and 1975 and 1976 memoranda on highway revenues and truck taxes.

Scope and Contents 67 items. Most items concern Bateman's bill (S. 774) allowing trucks carrying closed containers to exceed weight limits. Materials include copies of bills, amendments, and substitutes, correspondence with J. Robert Bray of the Virginia Port Authority, and John E. Harwood, State Highway Commissioner, regarding interpretations of the approved bill. File also includes 1977-1978 bills providing tax breaks for the trucking industry and complaints from spokesmen for Virginia railroads. See also...

Scope and Contents

50 items. Most materials concern bill (S. 533), sponsored by Senator Ray Garland, to increase licensing fee for trucks. File includes copies of bills, substitutes, and amendments, statistical analyses of bill and alternatives, and statements by representatives of the Virginia Manufacturer's Association, Virginia Building Materials Association, and The American Automobile Association. File also includes 1980 and 1982 statements by railroad industry spokesman on truck weight limits.

Scope and Contents

14 items. Correspondence and brochure, regarding Virginia's Tuition Assistance Grant Program, mostly letters thanking Bateman for his support and Bateman's replies pledging future support.

Scope and Contents

21 items. Documents relating to Virginia Unemployment Insurance. Including copies of claim forms of constituents and Bateman's handwritten notes on their cases, and list of changes in system made during 1981 Assembly session.

Scope and Contents

12 items. Correspondence regarding Bateman's service as Vice-President of the "Keel Club" (based on donation from previous year) for 1981 Peninsula United Way Campaign.

Scope and Contents

12 items. Including transcripts of 1980 December 1980 public forum in Culpeper, Virginia with Marline Oil Corporation, and transcripts of presentations by Marline Uranium Company, mining experts, and spokesman for Cities in Rappahannock Valley Region at 1981 April 28 NCEC hearing.

Scope and Contents

5 items. Including 1981 May report on uranium exploration, mining, and milling in Minnesota.

Scope and Contents

4 items. Spiral-bound reports, with cover letter

Scope and Contents

17 items. Including 1981 November draft of proposed legislation by private agency, unidentified packet of photocopies of clippings and state statutes, 1981 annual report and 1982 January newsletter of Marline Uranium Corporation, proposed addition to Virginia Code by Delegate Mary Sue Terry, and undated public opinion poll study of Virginian's attitudes toward uranium mining.

Scope and Contents

23 items. Agendas, packets of articles and clippings, and accommodations information for committee meetings in Washington and Chicago, and papers on the Reagan Administration's "Enterprise Zone" proposal and on state-federal action.

Scope and Contents

28 items. File contains Bateman's correspondence with John H. Cameron of Newport News Amusement Company and the office of Attorney General Marshall Coleman, and copies of bill, amendments, and voting tally sheets for HR 1718. See also Sales Tax on Vending Machines, Series 165.

Scope and Contents

7 items. Regarding taxation of vending machine receipts of charitable organizations.

Scope and Contents

46 items. File includes resolutions passed at 1981 October meeting of Virginia Council of Chapters of the Retired Officers Association, resolutions and voluminous supporting materials from the Disabled American Veterans, and letters from cemetery operators regarding Veteran's Cemetery Bill (S. 25) considered at 1982 Assembly session. See also Constituent Correspondence, Series 237-238, 242.

Scope and Contents From the Collection: Office files, 1968-1982, of Herbert H. Bateman, Virginia Republican State Senator from Newport News. Includes correspondence with constituents and state officials; bills and legislative materials; memorandum; reports; pamphlets; and publications arranged according to subject. The collection contains background information and committee working papers showing Virginia's responses to the energy crisis of the late 1970's and to Ronald Reagan's "New Federalism" programs as well as the...

Scope and Contents

14 items. Including Bateman's correspondence with official of Newport News Industrial Corporation, VEPCO report on "Employment and Housing in Virginia Urban Corridor," background information on 1978 September rate increase request, and undated spiral-bound book of graphs and charts.

Scope and Contents

2 items. Agenda for materials for an interim assessment of Virginia's Evaluation Act by the Health Plot Review Committee. Working papers of committee consisting of members of Assembly, JLARC, and state departments, studying procedures of Virginia health care system.