Scope and Contents

13 items. 1975-1976 annual report of Department of Taxation, copies of two 1978 statements on taxation issues by Governor John Dalton, 1978 Department of Taxation legislative digest copy of 1980 tax "set-off" bill, and 1981 presentation to Senate Finance Committee on Virginia's Capital Tax.

Scope and Contents

9 items. Copies of authorizing resolution and membership list, report of state tax law revision task force and initial staff report on practices and procedures of collection.

Scope and Contents

19 items. Including minutes of meetings, Department of Taxation's response to task force report, memorandum comparing task force and Department of Taxation positions, and copy of relevant court decision.

Scope and Contents

12 items. Including draft legislation, two drafts of committee reports (1980), Bateman's "concurring statement," Bateman's handwritten notes from unspecified meeting, and other correspondence regarding tax collection, 1980 and 1982.

Scope and Contents

Memoranda and reports related to study of tax expenditures. Studies of tax expenditures in Maryland, California, and Wisconsin.

Scope and Contents

21 items. Including copies of substitute for bill, voting tally sheet, analysis of bill, and copies of tax forms.

Scope and Contents

35 items. Including 1971 Newport News City Ordinance, 1972 report of the Equity and Real Estate Taxation Study Commission, and copies of bills, amendments, substitutes, excerpts from Senate and House journals, and Bateman's comments on bill (S. 607), January-February 1973.

Scope and Contents

39 items. Predominantly S. 397 (1974), and Bateman's S. 459 (1980). File includes voluminous statistical information to accompany S. 459.

Scope and Contents

35 items. File contains duplicates of items in other files on S. 607, S. 397, and Bateman's S. 459, plus 1974 correspondence, 1979 Finance Committee report on property tax relief for the elderly, and miscellaneous undated newsletters and memoranda on tax relief.

Scope and Contents

7 items. Copy of December 1976 Master Plan for 1976-1986, November 1977 report on long-range planning, and November 1981 request from College local board for funding for specified projects.

Scope and Contents From the Collection: Office files, 1968-1982, of Herbert H. Bateman, Virginia Republican State Senator from Newport News. Includes correspondence with constituents and state officials; bills and legislative materials; memorandum; reports; pamphlets; and publications arranged according to subject. The collection contains background information and committee working papers showing Virginia's responses to the energy crisis of the late 1970's and to Ronald Reagan's "New Federalism" programs as well as the...

Scope and Contents From the Collection: Office files, 1968-1982, of Herbert H. Bateman, Virginia Republican State Senator from Newport News. Includes correspondence with constituents and state officials; bills and legislative materials; memorandum; reports; pamphlets; and publications arranged according to subject. The collection contains background information and committee working papers showing Virginia's responses to the energy crisis of the late 1970's and to Ronald Reagan's "New Federalism" programs as well as the...

Scope and Contents

4 items. Copy of bill, and draft of article in the University of Richmond Law Review on "A Re-examination of Sovereign Tort Immunity in Virginia.""

Scope and Contents

13 items. Especially materials pertaining to subcommittee studying bill (S. 196), 1982.

Scope and Contents

4 items. Correspondence, newspaper clippings, and handwritten notes regarding discovery of arsenic flowing into Potomac River from Bogle Chemical Co. Plant.

Scope and Contents

32 items. Copies of several bills introduced into 1976 Assembly session, drafts of proposed act, and correspondence with Congressman Thomas Downing, and officials of the Virginia Seafood Council. See also Kepone, series 93.

Scope and Contents

14 items. Synopses and assessments of several bills, message from Governor Mills Godwin, and undated speech (possibly by Bateman) on Kepone's impact on Virginia watermen.

Scope and Contents

19 items. Including correspondence for and about delegate [later governor] Gerald Baliles, copies of bills, recommendations from Reynolds Aluminum Co., and from Standard Oil Co., and Amoco.

Scope and Contents

16 items. Including proposed roles and regulations, final act is incorporated into the Code of Virginia, agenda For and notes and exhibits from 29 November 1976 meeting of the Senate Committee on Agriculture, Conservation, and Natural Resources, and updates on status of act.

Scope and Contents

50 items. File contains rules and regulations, several analyses of the act, and packet of memoranda specifying details of act.

Scope and Contents

16 items. Including minutes of and exhibits from 1977 January 4 Senate Committee meeting, rules and regulations under Toxic Substances Act, 1977 September bulletin, and 1978 May revisions of rules and regulations.

Scope and Contents

5 items. 169 report appendices on urban transportation in Virginia; 1977 report "Head Protection for the Cyclist"; and 1977 correspondence regarding motorist services signs along Interstate 64.

Scope and Contents From the Collection: Office files, 1968-1982, of Herbert H. Bateman, Virginia Republican State Senator from Newport News. Includes correspondence with constituents and state officials; bills and legislative materials; memorandum; reports; pamphlets; and publications arranged according to subject. The collection contains background information and committee working papers showing Virginia's responses to the energy crisis of the late 1970's and to Ronald Reagan's "New Federalism" programs as well as the...

Scope and Contents

Memorandum and accompanying maps and photocopies of newspaper clippings regarding proposed new segment of Interstate 95 in Richmond area, 1978; 1978 report on "The Desirability and feasibility of Alternative Means of Financing Transportation in Virginia;"report of House Roads and Navigation Committee, December 1977, and draft of report of joint subcommittee studying highway funds allocation 19 items. See also Highway Funds, Series 72 for materials relating to work of joint subcommittee.

Scope and Contents

2 items.