Scope and Contents

50 items. Including 1978 marketing analysis of factors affecting container cargo growth, copies of documents sent to Federal Maritime Commission Illustrating damage to Virginia ports by the South Atlantic-North Europe Rate Agreement (SANE), documents relating to Norfolk Bulk Liquid Storage Terminal, and assessments of competitiveness of Virginia ports.

Scope and Contents

6 items.

Scope and Contents

23 items. Items include correspondence with state Senator Alan Diamonstein, Chairman of the Peninsula Ports Authority of Virginia and officials of Lavino Shipping Company, operators of the Marine Terminal, discussing such matters as the possible location of a latex processing plant and storage facility at the terminal.

Scope and Contents

1 item.

Scope and Contents

Relating to the Virginia ports and Port Authority for the Virginia Ports and Port Authority Study Commission, 21 December 1978, by a transportation consulting division, with January 1979 commentary by VPA Commissioner. 2 items.

Scope and Contents 42 items. Items include correspondence of Newport News Mayor Joseph C. Ritchie, VPA Commissioner Robert Bray, other Port Authority officials and Congressman Paul Trible, regarding disadvantages of the Port of Newport News, proposals to enhance competitiveness, and the lease of the port terminal. Mayor Ritchie (29 March 1979) complained to Commissioner Bray of the VPA's treatment of Newport News, and to Bateman (12 April 1979) of possible conflict of interest by VPA member who was also a...

Scope and Contents

10 items. Copies of several acts approved during the 1976 Assembly session and incorporated into the code of Virginia, including copy of Appropriations Act.

Scope and Contents From the Collection: Office files, 1968-1982, of Herbert H. Bateman, Virginia Republican State Senator from Newport News. Includes correspondence with constituents and state officials; bills and legislative materials; memorandum; reports; pamphlets; and publications arranged according to subject. The collection contains background information and committee working papers showing Virginia's responses to the energy crisis of the late 1970's and to Ronald Reagan's "New Federalism" programs as well as the...

Scope and Contents From the Collection: Office files, 1968-1982, of Herbert H. Bateman, Virginia Republican State Senator from Newport News. Includes correspondence with constituents and state officials; bills and legislative materials; memorandum; reports; pamphlets; and publications arranged according to subject. The collection contains background information and committee working papers showing Virginia's responses to the energy crisis of the late 1970's and to Ronald Reagan's "New Federalism" programs as well as the...

Scope and Contents

Copy of a bill from 1980 regular session, photocopies of 9 March 1980 article from Newport News Daily Presson final day of regular session, summary of 1980 regular session, and two copies of digest of acts of Assembly of 1980 regular session

Scope and Contents

32 items. Including copies of several acts, summary of legislative action affecting higher education, "Weekly Patron Reports" of 18 March, 27 March, and 9 April detailing action on Bateman sponsored bills, numerical summary of regular session, list of bills not yet signed by Governor, and copy of appropriations bill for fiscal year 1981-1982.

Scope and Contents

Amendments to HR 30 (Appropriations bill) by Senate Finance Committee, 7 March 1982, floor amendments to HR 30, and joint conference committee report on HR 30, 13 March 1982

Scope and Contents

18 items. Including summary of regular session, digest of acts of Assembly of the regular session, "Weekly Patron Report" of 17 March 1982 detailing, action on Bateman-sponsored bills, and analysis of 1982-1984 transportation funding.

Scope and Contents

19 items. Including tables and summaries of major budget and tax issues of regular session, weekly patron reports and approved bill reports of 1 April, 8 April, 14 April, and 3 May 1982, and copy of address by Governor Charles Robb to agency heads, 9 June 1982.

Scope and Contents

22 items. Including copies of House documents on Juvenile Court-Public School State Task Force and on Medicaid medical care, Senate documents on law Enforcement training in Virginia and on Air Pollution Study Commission, and copies of House bills 4-9 and Senate bills 8-15.

Scope and Contents

8 items. Most items have no discernible relevance to legislative matters. Also contains photocopy of Bateman's completed questionnaire about priorities for 1981 session.

Scope and Contents

Draft and copy of Bateman's 27 December 1979 letter to Senator Douglas Wilder requesting assignment to privileges and elections committee, and copy of 1979 decision by Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals regarding Newport News Shipbuilding and Drydock challenge of union election at the shipyard. 5 items.

Scope and Contents

Legislative papers and other materials regarding proposed 1982 Virginia Public Procurement Act, including copy of bill and position paper by the consulting Engineers Council of Virginia. 7 items. See also Senate Bills, 1982; series 173.

Scope and Contents

31 items. Including copy of joint resolution requesting the committee, notes on July 1977 committee hearing, and packet of information from the insurance information institute.

Scope and Contents

7 items. Including background report on statistical and rating procedures, position paper of Defense Research Institute, article on insurance pricing, review of 1977 Oregon law, and membership list of Industry Advisory Committee of Virginia Market Assistance Program.

Scope and Contents

7 items. Including copy of paper presented at American Bar Association Convention, memoranda on Virginia liability insurance laws by American Insurance Association (AIA) and AIA product liability legislative package.

Scope and Contents

29 items. Including letters and reports from insurance industry representatives, summary of final report of the Federal Interagency Task Force on Product Liability, American Machine Tool Distributors Associationpublication, "A State Legislator's Guide to Product Liability Problems", and joint industry committee on product liability data sources draft.

Scope and Contents

48 items. Including copies of several September 1978 bills, copies of addresses, articles and memoranda collected and distributed by Delegate George E. Allen, Jr.

Scope and Contents

43 items. Including several issues of State Legislatures, background material on tax limits in other states, and memo from a state economist.

Scope and Contents

27 items. Including several news releases from the Virginia taxpayers Association, September 1978 issue of State Legislatures, November 1978 bulletin, "Tax Revolt Digest," and several drafts of January 1979 report by state Revenue Sources and Economic Commission.