Box 4
Container
Contains 66 Results:
Wm. Barksdale, Petersburg, to Richard Blow, Portsmouth, 1784 July 3
Item — Box: 4, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents
"Ship Marlborough has at last got up to 4 Mile Creek an is not discharging her load"
Dates:
1784 July 3
Robert Crew, London, to Richard Blow, 1784 July 20
Item — Box: 4, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents
Re: poor credit of English & French merchants; refers his uncle Scott going blind; general business affairs
Dates:
1784 July 20
Receipt Benjamin E. Cook, Portsmouth, from George Briggs, 1784 July 29
Item — Box: 4, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents
Re: goods to be delivered to Blow & Barksdale, merchants, Petersburg
Dates:
1784 July 29
Capt. Charles Briggs to Richard Blow, 1784 July 30
Item — Box: 4, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents
His sons, George and Sammy, are in service to Richard Blow in his business. Asks that Blow continue them. He is infirm and keeps his store only to give his sons Charles some insight in business
Dates:
1784 July 30
Thomas Thomas of Industry to Richard Blow, Merchant, 1784 February 7
Item — Box: 4, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Papers, 1772-1872, of the Blow family. Chiefly business papers, 1772-1820, of Richard Blow of Portsmouth and "Tower Hill," Sussex County, Va. and his son George Blow, Sr. and George Blow, Jr. of 'Tower Hill' and Williamsburg, Va. Richard Blow was a partner in stores in Virginia and North Carolina (trading as Richard Blow and Co., Briggs & Blow, Baker & Blow [South Quay, Nansemond County, Va.], Blow & Barksdale [Petersburg, Va.], and Blow and Scammel). He was also a plantation...
Dates:
1784 February 7
Robert Crew, London, to Blow & Barksdale, Petersburg, 1784 March 6
Item — Box: 4, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents
Jolly Tar is here with your tobacco; will sail back in 3 weeks with your goods; the William left on January 3rd. Has established correspondence and credit on best footing with Birmingham and Manchester (England), Sheffield, Halifax and Leeds houses. Discusses Blow's ability with shipping business. Crew does no think Blow has experience for this in times of peace. Says only 2 trips a year can be made to England and to West Indies. Advises Blow against using [unclear?] ships in this voyage.
Dates:
1784 March 6
Robert Crew to Richard Blow, Portsmouth, Merchant, 1784 June 13
Item — Box: 4, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents
Re: Cargo of Jolly Tar
Dates:
1784 June 13
Wm. Barksdale, Petersburg, to Richard Blow, Portsmouth, Merchant, 1784 March 28
Item — Box: 4, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents
Asks for linens; suggests Blow have a craft or two built to go up and down river
Dates:
1784 March 28
Wm. Barksdale, Petersburg, to Richard Blow, 1784 April 1
Item — Box: 4, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Papers, 1772-1872, of the Blow family. Chiefly business papers, 1772-1820, of Richard Blow of Portsmouth and "Tower Hill," Sussex County, Va. and his son George Blow, Sr. and George Blow, Jr. of 'Tower Hill' and Williamsburg, Va. Richard Blow was a partner in stores in Virginia and North Carolina (trading as Richard Blow and Co., Briggs & Blow, Baker & Blow [South Quay, Nansemond County, Va.], Blow & Barksdale [Petersburg, Va.], and Blow and Scammel). He was also a plantation...
Dates:
1784 April 1
Wm. Barksdale, Petersburg, to Richard Blow, 1784 April 7
Item — Box: 4, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Papers, 1772-1872, of the Blow family. Chiefly business papers, 1772-1820, of Richard Blow of Portsmouth and "Tower Hill," Sussex County, Va. and his son George Blow, Sr. and George Blow, Jr. of 'Tower Hill' and Williamsburg, Va. Richard Blow was a partner in stores in Virginia and North Carolina (trading as Richard Blow and Co., Briggs & Blow, Baker & Blow [South Quay, Nansemond County, Va.], Blow & Barksdale [Petersburg, Va.], and Blow and Scammel). He was also a plantation...
Dates:
1784 April 7
Robert Crew, London, to Blow & Barksdale, Portsmouth, Merchants, 1784 April 15
Item — Box: 4, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents
Re: Jolly Tar about to sail, not German goods to be had, no pewter or nails
Dates:
1784 April 15
Robert Crew, London, to Blow & Barksdale, Portsmouth, Merchants, 1784 March 21
Item — Box: 4, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents
Ironmongery hard to get; Ship Charlotte Daniel chartered with load for James River. Mentions Mr. Allen of Surry, Mr. Charles Carter of Charles City; discusses prices of American goods and demands abroad. Asks Blow to send tobacco back in the Charlotte.
Dates:
1784 March 21
Wm. Barksdale, Petersburg, to Richard Blow, 1784 April 17
Item — Box: 4, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Papers, 1772-1872, of the Blow family. Chiefly business papers, 1772-1820, of Richard Blow of Portsmouth and "Tower Hill," Sussex County, Va. and his son George Blow, Sr. and George Blow, Jr. of 'Tower Hill' and Williamsburg, Va. Richard Blow was a partner in stores in Virginia and North Carolina (trading as Richard Blow and Co., Briggs & Blow, Baker & Blow [South Quay, Nansemond County, Va.], Blow & Barksdale [Petersburg, Va.], and Blow and Scammel). He was also a plantation...
Dates:
1784 April 17
Benj. Baker, South Quay, to Richard Blow, Portsmouth, 1784 April 19
Item — Box: 4, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Papers, 1772-1872, of the Blow family. Chiefly business papers, 1772-1820, of Richard Blow of Portsmouth and "Tower Hill," Sussex County, Va. and his son George Blow, Sr. and George Blow, Jr. of 'Tower Hill' and Williamsburg, Va. Richard Blow was a partner in stores in Virginia and North Carolina (trading as Richard Blow and Co., Briggs & Blow, Baker & Blow [South Quay, Nansemond County, Va.], Blow & Barksdale [Petersburg, Va.], and Blow and Scammel). He was also a plantation...
Dates:
1784 April 19
Charles Johnson, Edenton, to Richard Blow, Portsmouth, 1784 April 21
Item — Box: 4, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents
Re: escaped enslaved person ("runaway slave")
Dates:
1784 April 21
Wm. Barksdale, Petersburg, to Richard Blow, 1784 April 21
Item — Box: 4, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Papers, 1772-1872, of the Blow family. Chiefly business papers, 1772-1820, of Richard Blow of Portsmouth and "Tower Hill," Sussex County, Va. and his son George Blow, Sr. and George Blow, Jr. of 'Tower Hill' and Williamsburg, Va. Richard Blow was a partner in stores in Virginia and North Carolina (trading as Richard Blow and Co., Briggs & Blow, Baker & Blow [South Quay, Nansemond County, Va.], Blow & Barksdale [Petersburg, Va.], and Blow and Scammel). He was also a plantation...
Dates:
1784 April 21
Wm. Barksdale, Petersburg, to Richard Blow, 1784 April 24
Item — Box: 4, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Papers, 1772-1872, of the Blow family. Chiefly business papers, 1772-1820, of Richard Blow of Portsmouth and "Tower Hill," Sussex County, Va. and his son George Blow, Sr. and George Blow, Jr. of 'Tower Hill' and Williamsburg, Va. Richard Blow was a partner in stores in Virginia and North Carolina (trading as Richard Blow and Co., Briggs & Blow, Baker & Blow [South Quay, Nansemond County, Va.], Blow & Barksdale [Petersburg, Va.], and Blow and Scammel). He was also a plantation...
Dates:
1784 April 24
Wm. Barksdale, Petersburg, to Richard Blow, Portsmouth, 1784 April 29
Item — Box: 4, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Papers, 1772-1872, of the Blow family. Chiefly business papers, 1772-1820, of Richard Blow of Portsmouth and "Tower Hill," Sussex County, Va. and his son George Blow, Sr. and George Blow, Jr. of 'Tower Hill' and Williamsburg, Va. Richard Blow was a partner in stores in Virginia and North Carolina (trading as Richard Blow and Co., Briggs & Blow, Baker & Blow [South Quay, Nansemond County, Va.], Blow & Barksdale [Petersburg, Va.], and Blow and Scammel). He was also a plantation...
Dates:
1784 April 29
Wm. Barksdale, Petersburg, to Richard Blow, Portsmouth, 1784 April 30
Item — Box: 4, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Papers, 1772-1872, of the Blow family. Chiefly business papers, 1772-1820, of Richard Blow of Portsmouth and "Tower Hill," Sussex County, Va. and his son George Blow, Sr. and George Blow, Jr. of 'Tower Hill' and Williamsburg, Va. Richard Blow was a partner in stores in Virginia and North Carolina (trading as Richard Blow and Co., Briggs & Blow, Baker & Blow [South Quay, Nansemond County, Va.], Blow & Barksdale [Petersburg, Va.], and Blow and Scammel). He was also a plantation...
Dates:
1784 April 30
Wm. Barksdale, Petersburg, to Richard Blow, Portsmouth, 1784 May 4
Item — Box: 4, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Papers, 1772-1872, of the Blow family. Chiefly business papers, 1772-1820, of Richard Blow of Portsmouth and "Tower Hill," Sussex County, Va. and his son George Blow, Sr. and George Blow, Jr. of 'Tower Hill' and Williamsburg, Va. Richard Blow was a partner in stores in Virginia and North Carolina (trading as Richard Blow and Co., Briggs & Blow, Baker & Blow [South Quay, Nansemond County, Va.], Blow & Barksdale [Petersburg, Va.], and Blow and Scammel). He was also a plantation...
Dates:
1784 May 4
Robert Crew, London, to Blow & Barksdale, Portsmouth, Merchants, 1784 May 11
Item — Box: 4, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Papers, 1772-1872, of the Blow family. Chiefly business papers, 1772-1820, of Richard Blow of Portsmouth and "Tower Hill," Sussex County, Va. and his son George Blow, Sr. and George Blow, Jr. of 'Tower Hill' and Williamsburg, Va. Richard Blow was a partner in stores in Virginia and North Carolina (trading as Richard Blow and Co., Briggs & Blow, Baker & Blow [South Quay, Nansemond County, Va.], Blow & Barksdale [Petersburg, Va.], and Blow and Scammel). He was also a plantation...
Dates:
1784 May 11
Agreement between Wm. Foster, owner of ship Merchant at London, and Robert Crew of London, Merchant, 1784 May 20
Item — Box: 4, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents
Ship to go to City Point, Virginia and load with tobacco and proceed to London.
Dates:
1784 May 20
Robert Crew, London, to Blow & Barksdale, Portsmouth, Merchants, 1784 May 24
Item — Box: 4, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Papers, 1772-1872, of the Blow family. Chiefly business papers, 1772-1820, of Richard Blow of Portsmouth and "Tower Hill," Sussex County, Va. and his son George Blow, Sr. and George Blow, Jr. of 'Tower Hill' and Williamsburg, Va. Richard Blow was a partner in stores in Virginia and North Carolina (trading as Richard Blow and Co., Briggs & Blow, Baker & Blow [South Quay, Nansemond County, Va.], Blow & Barksdale [Petersburg, Va.], and Blow and Scammel). He was also a plantation...
Dates:
1784 May 24
Robert Crew, London, to Blow & Barksdale, Portsmouth, Merchants, 1784 May 31
Item — Box: 4, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Papers, 1772-1872, of the Blow family. Chiefly business papers, 1772-1820, of Richard Blow of Portsmouth and "Tower Hill," Sussex County, Va. and his son George Blow, Sr. and George Blow, Jr. of 'Tower Hill' and Williamsburg, Va. Richard Blow was a partner in stores in Virginia and North Carolina (trading as Richard Blow and Co., Briggs & Blow, Baker & Blow [South Quay, Nansemond County, Va.], Blow & Barksdale [Petersburg, Va.], and Blow and Scammel). He was also a plantation...
Dates:
1784 May 31
Bill of Lading of ship Harmony, Bristol, for Norfolk, Virginia for Blow & Barksdale, 1784 May 15
Item — Box: 4, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents
29 items
Dates:
1784 May 15