Scope and Contents From the Collection: Papers, 1716-1944, of the John Tyler family of "Sherwood Forest," Charles City County, Va. The collection contains correspondence, 1818-1862, of John Tyler concerning politics, War of 1812 claims, presidential election of 1840, land purchases in western Virginia, Kentucky and Illinois, "Sherwood Forest," business matters and his family. Some of the children of John Tyler and his first wife, Letitia Christian Tyler, are represented in the collection: Robert Tyler (and wife,...

Scope and Contents From the Collection: Papers, 1716-1944, of the John Tyler family of "Sherwood Forest," Charles City County, Va. The collection contains correspondence, 1818-1862, of John Tyler concerning politics, War of 1812 claims, presidential election of 1840, land purchases in western Virginia, Kentucky and Illinois, "Sherwood Forest," business matters and his family. Some of the children of John Tyler and his first wife, Letitia Christian Tyler, are represented in the collection: Robert Tyler (and wife,...

Scope and Contents From the Collection: Papers, 1716-1944, of the John Tyler family of "Sherwood Forest," Charles City County, Va. The collection contains correspondence, 1818-1862, of John Tyler concerning politics, War of 1812 claims, presidential election of 1840, land purchases in western Virginia, Kentucky and Illinois, "Sherwood Forest," business matters and his family. Some of the children of John Tyler and his first wife, Letitia Christian Tyler, are represented in the collection: Robert Tyler (and wife,...

Scope and Contents From the Collection: Papers, 1716-1944, of the John Tyler family of "Sherwood Forest," Charles City County, Va. The collection contains correspondence, 1818-1862, of John Tyler concerning politics, War of 1812 claims, presidential election of 1840, land purchases in western Virginia, Kentucky and Illinois, "Sherwood Forest," business matters and his family. Some of the children of John Tyler and his first wife, Letitia Christian Tyler, are represented in the collection: Robert Tyler (and wife,...

Scope and Contents From the Collection: Papers, 1716-1944, of the John Tyler family of "Sherwood Forest," Charles City County, Va. The collection contains correspondence, 1818-1862, of John Tyler concerning politics, War of 1812 claims, presidential election of 1840, land purchases in western Virginia, Kentucky and Illinois, "Sherwood Forest," business matters and his family. Some of the children of John Tyler and his first wife, Letitia Christian Tyler, are represented in the collection: Robert Tyler (and wife,...

Scope and Contents

Scope and Contents Will of Henry Tyler, great uncle of President John Tyler. Probated 17 March, 1774. 2 pp. Xcy of Cy of DS. (see oversize file)

Scope and Contents

Scope and Contents Indenture between John Tyler and William Tyler concerning land in Sussex County. 2 pp. XCy of Cy of DS. See oversize file

Scope and Contents

Scope and Contents Inventory of the estate of Henry Tyler, great uncle of President John Tyler. 2 pp. XCy of Cy of DS. See oversize file

Scope and Contents Scope and Contents John Tyler (1747-1813), Richmond, Virginia, to [?]. Sends thanks for letter; says Assembly has passed resolutions as instructions to the Virginia delegates in Congress which included vesting in them the power to prhibit British trade for 15 years and enable them to use coersive measures to compel payment for delinquent states of their quotas of the national debt, and to enable them to procure sums of money required for support of civil and military arrangements; regrets...

Scope and Contents

Scope and Contents Thomas Tyler, nephew of John Tyler, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, to "My dear Governor" [Henry A. Wise] Sends political advice as a "true friend"; thinks the last thing he should desire is the election of Stephen Douglas--he should stand on his own in Virginia; will not succeed while he wages war on the President and the party. 1 p. TCy of ALS.

Scope and Contents

Scope and Contents "Song to Lelia" [arr: Spanish Dance] written by John Tyle to his wife. 1 p. TCy of song.

Scope and Contents

Scope and Contents Extracts of newspapers articles from the Philadelphia American Sentinel and the Philadelphia Ledger about John Tyler.

Scope and Contents

Scope and Contents Sends condolences on Tyler's loss of advisors and friends [due to the explosion on board the warship Princeton]. 1 p. TCy of ALS.

Scope and Contents

Scope and Contents Responds to his letter in which he asks to marry her daughter Julia; asks if he will be able to supply Julia with the "enjoyments by which she has been surrounded." 1 p. TCy of ALS.

Scope and Contents

Scope and Contents Land grant to William Hudgins of Ray County, Missouri, for eighty acres of land in the District of Land subject to sale at Lexington, Missouri authorized by President John Tyler (see oversized file). 1 p. D.

Scope and Contents

Scope and Contents Will defer sending a greyhound across the Atlantic until March because of the cold weather; tells of hopes to negotaite treaty with "His Majesty"; praises address sent by Tyler; has seen a statue of Cicero which bears a likeness to him [JT]; is planning to give him souvenirs of Italy; comments of course the Whigs are pursuing in Virginia on the Presidential question. 2 pp. TCy of ALS.

Scope and Contents

Scope and Contents Friends wish him [JT] not to reture, but to be a member of the U.S. Senate where he could "annihilate some of the distinguished Coons who have made it their business to villify and persecute you during your administration"; would be also be able to carry through the annexation of Texas. 1 p. TCy of ALS.

Scope and Contents

Scope and Contents Mr. Stillwell is anxious to secure the succession to his deputy Mr. Rapalje; wishes something could be done for Shaler; need for men of weight or character as leaders. TCy of ALS. 1 p.

Scope and Contents

Scope and Contents Received his letter and considers his views just; comments on several appointments. 1 p. TCy of ALS.

Scope and Contents

Scope and Contents Invitation from them by their [secretary?] to play a private concert for the President, his wife, and firends. 1 p. LS.

Scope and Contents

Scope and Contents Encloses clipping concerning a meeting about the Texas annexation. 1 p. ALS. Including Nwscl, [circa March 4, 1845]. 1 p.

Scope and Contents

Scope and Contents Regrets that he and Mrs. von Geralt missed seeing the Tylers before they left Washington; appreciates his attention and the interest he took in promoting commercial relationships between the U.S. and the Zollverein. 1 p. TCy of ALS

Scope and Contents

Scope and Contents Poem entitled "Picnic Song" [by John Tyler?]. 1 p. TCy of Poem

Scope and Contents

Scope and Contents Regarding a silver pitcher given to Tyler by the ladies of the county. NwsCl.

Scope and Contents

Scope and Contents Love poem; "To My Wife"; John Tyler to Julia Gardiner. 1 p. Tcy of Ms.