Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search results

Box 1

 Container

Contains 109 Results:

Box 1: The Gardiner Papers, 1825-1848

 File — Box: 1
Identifier: id124027
Scope and Contents From the Collection: Papers, 1645-1917, of the Gardiner family, the Gilmer family, the family of St. George Tucker (1828-1863) and miscellaneous other people unrelated to the Tylers, Tuckers, Gilmers, or Gardiners. Boxes I-III contain papers (many are typescript copies) of the Gardiner family of New York. Include letters of Juliana McLachlan Gardiner, her sons David Lyon Gardiner, Alexander Gardiner and daughter Margaret Gardiner Beeckman. Boxes IV-V contain papers, 1814-1842, of the...

Folder 1, 1825-1832

 File — Box: 1, Folder: 1
Identifier: id124028
Scope and Contents From the Collection: Papers, 1645-1917, of the Gardiner family, the Gilmer family, the family of St. George Tucker (1828-1863) and miscellaneous other people unrelated to the Tylers, Tuckers, Gilmers, or Gardiners. Boxes I-III contain papers (many are typescript copies) of the Gardiner family of New York. Include letters of Juliana McLachlan Gardiner, her sons David Lyon Gardiner, Alexander Gardiner and daughter Margaret Gardiner Beeckman. Boxes IV-V contain papers, 1814-1842, of the...

Folder 2, 1833-1834

 File — Box: 1, Folder: 2
Identifier: id124046
Scope and Contents From the Collection: Papers, 1645-1917, of the Gardiner family, the Gilmer family, the family of St. George Tucker (1828-1863) and miscellaneous other people unrelated to the Tylers, Tuckers, Gilmers, or Gardiners. Boxes I-III contain papers (many are typescript copies) of the Gardiner family of New York. Include letters of Juliana McLachlan Gardiner, her sons David Lyon Gardiner, Alexander Gardiner and daughter Margaret Gardiner Beeckman. Boxes IV-V contain papers, 1814-1842, of the...

Folder 3, 1835-1840

 File — Box: 1, Folder: 3
Identifier: id124074
Scope and Contents From the Collection: Papers, 1645-1917, of the Gardiner family, the Gilmer family, the family of St. George Tucker (1828-1863) and miscellaneous other people unrelated to the Tylers, Tuckers, Gilmers, or Gardiners. Boxes I-III contain papers (many are typescript copies) of the Gardiner family of New York. Include letters of Juliana McLachlan Gardiner, her sons David Lyon Gardiner, Alexander Gardiner and daughter Margaret Gardiner Beeckman. Boxes IV-V contain papers, 1814-1842, of the...

Folder 4, 1843-1845

 File — Box: 1, Folder: 4
Identifier: id124781
Scope and Contents From the Collection: Papers, 1645-1917, of the Gardiner family, the Gilmer family, the family of St. George Tucker (1828-1863) and miscellaneous other people unrelated to the Tylers, Tuckers, Gilmers, or Gardiners. Boxes I-III contain papers (many are typescript copies) of the Gardiner family of New York. Include letters of Juliana McLachlan Gardiner, her sons David Lyon Gardiner, Alexander Gardiner and daughter Margaret Gardiner Beeckman. Boxes IV-V contain papers, 1814-1842, of the...

Folder 5, 1846-1847

 File — Box: 1, Folder: 5
Identifier: id125053
Scope and Contents From the Collection: Papers, 1645-1917, of the Gardiner family, the Gilmer family, the family of St. George Tucker (1828-1863) and miscellaneous other people unrelated to the Tylers, Tuckers, Gilmers, or Gardiners. Boxes I-III contain papers (many are typescript copies) of the Gardiner family of New York. Include letters of Juliana McLachlan Gardiner, her sons David Lyon Gardiner, Alexander Gardiner and daughter Margaret Gardiner Beeckman. Boxes IV-V contain papers, 1814-1842, of the...

Folder 6, 1848

 File — Box: 1, Folder: 6
Identifier: id125070
Scope and Contents From the Collection: Papers, 1645-1917, of the Gardiner family, the Gilmer family, the family of St. George Tucker (1828-1863) and miscellaneous other people unrelated to the Tylers, Tuckers, Gilmers, or Gardiners. Boxes I-III contain papers (many are typescript copies) of the Gardiner family of New York. Include letters of Juliana McLachlan Gardiner, her sons David Lyon Gardiner, Alexander Gardiner and daughter Margaret Gardiner Beeckman. Boxes IV-V contain papers, 1814-1842, of the...

Juliana Gardiner, New York, New York to husband, David Gardiner, Albany, New York, 1825 March 23

 Item — Box: 1, Folder: 1
Identifier: id124029
Scope and Contents

Mentions her interest in politics; is "puzzled how to account for the changes of opinion and principle in those who are considered so very wise and honorable;" describes the construction on Chatham Street; mentions that David has been out of school due to his lame foot. 2 pp.

Bond, 1825 August 15

 Item — Box: 1, Folder: 1
Identifier: id124030
Scope and Contents

A bond, from David Gardiner, for the sum of $10,000 to be paid to James Van Antwerp of New York. 4 pp. Paper document signed.

Mortage of David and Juliana Gardiner, 1825 August 15

 Item — Box: 1, Folder: 1
Identifier: id124031
Scope and Contents

$5,287.50 to be paid to James Van Antwerp. 2 pp. Paper document signed.

Mrs. Delaven, Washington, DC, to Mr. David Gardiner, 1827 December 27

 Item — Box: 1, Folder: 1
Identifier: id124032
Scope and Contents

Requests the company of Mr. Gardiner on January 2. 1 page. ANS.

James Van Antwerp, New York, New York, to David Gardiner, 1831 August 24

 Item — Box: 1, Folder: 1
Identifier: id124033
Scope and Contents

Acknowledges receipt of Gardiner's mortage payment; discusses the transfer of the mortage to Mrs. Abigale Rhodes. 1 page. Autographed letter signed.

Joanna Van Wych, Croton, New York to "aunt" Juliana Gardiner, East Hampton, New York, 1831 November 27

 Item — Box: 1, Folder: 1
Identifier: id124034
Scope and Contents

Apologizes for not writing earlier; discusses her mother's upcoming eye operation; mentions their disappointment at not seeing her; hopes that she will visit in the spring. 2 pages.

Mary Van Wyck, Croton, New York, to "brother" David Gardiner, East Hampton, New York, 1832 March 2

 Item — Box: 1, Folder: 1
Identifier: id124035
Scope and Contents

Announces that "General Van Cortlandt has commenced hostilities against us," claiming that they had no right to the estate and that they must leave by the first of May; states that Mr. Van Wyck is very anxious to see Gardiner. 2 pages.

Ch. G. Van Wych, New York, New York, to "brother" David Gardiner, East Hampton, New York, 1832 March 12

 Item — Box: 1, Folder: 1
Identifier: id124036
Scope and Contents

Discusses General Pierre Van Courtlandt's attempt to take away his estate; gives a history of the land in question; is sorry to hear that Gardiner's wife is ill; gives news of the family. 2 pages. Autographed letter signed.

Henry Thomas Dering, Sag Harbour, New York, to David Gardiner, East Hampton, New York, 1832 March 29

 Item — Box: 1, Folder: 1
Identifier: id124037
Scope and Contents

Informs Gardiner that Col. Hunt's newspaper will discontinue from lack of subscribers if aid is not forthcoming; asks Gardiner to write to people in New York concerning this problem. 1 page.

Isaac G. Ogden, New York, New York, to David Gardiner, East Hampton, New York, 1832 May 22

 Item — Box: 1, Folder: 1
Identifier: id124038
Scope and Contents

Describes his purchase of a sideboard from Miss Harrison which was initially owned by Gardiner; requests that the keys to it be sent to him. 1 page.

R.O. W., New York, New York, to David Gardiner, Croton, New York, 1832 July 13

 Item — Box: 1, Folder: 1
Identifier: id124039
Scope and Contents

Discusses the itinerary of J.G. Dyckman; informs Gardiner that he is standing by to "execute and commands" for him in New York. 2 pages.

Jonathon Thompson, no place included, to David Gardiner, East Hampton, New York, 1832 August 21

 Item — Box: 1, Folder: 1
Identifier: id124040
Scope and Contents

Discusses prospects for the upcoming election; believes the vote in his country will "depend upon the exertions of the National Republicans." 2 pages.

Charles Thomas Dering, no place included, to David Gardiner, East Hampton, New York, 1832 August 25

 Item — Box: 1, Folder: 1
Identifier: id124041
Scope and Contents

Notifies Gardiner of the meeting at Bull Head next Wednesday; hopes that he will atend. 1 page.

James Van Antwerp, New York, New York, to David Gardiner, East Hampton, New York, 1832 October 1

 Item — Box: 1, Folder: 1
Identifier: id124042
Scope and Contents

Acknowledges receipt of a check for $300 from Gardiner. 1 page.

Charles Thomas Dering, Sag Harbour, New York, to David Gardiner, East Hampton, New York, 1832 October 12

 Item — Box: 1, Folder: 1
Identifier: id124043
Scope and Contents

Informs Gardiner of the convention's resolution to nominate Gardiner as their candidate for Congress. 1 page.

John A. King, Jamaica, Long Island, New York, to David Gardiner, East Hampton, New York, 1832 October 31

 Item — Box: 1, Folder: 1
Identifier: id124044
Scope and Contents

Describes his visits to the towns of the county and believes the county will provide a majority for the ticket; states that he had 5000 tickets printed and distributed in the county. 2 pages.

Fra[?]s Wessells, New York, New York, to David Gardiner, East Hampton, New York, 1832 December 10

 Item — Box: 1, Folder: 1
Identifier: id124045
Scope and Contents

Requests that Gardiner remit the $84 in interest on his bond. 1 page.

Charles P. Dering, Sag Harbor, New York, to David Gardiner, East Hampton, New York, 1833 March 16

 Item — Box: 1, Folder: 2
Identifier: id124047
Scope and Contents

Announces that they are about $70 short in paying Hunt's bill after collecting for election expenses; hopes that Gardinercan help them out. 1 page.