Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search results

Box 3

 Container

Contains 19 Collections and/or Records:

Box 3

 File — Box: 3
Identifier: id27177
Scope and Contents From the Collection: Papers of Richard H. Patchin of Marlborough, Ulster County, N.Y., who was a teacher, clothing sales clerk, farmer and public lecturer. Largely includes accounts of Patchin’s daily activities and personal reflections.  Correspondence and professional documents also make up a portion of the collection.  The materials document Patchin’s work as a teacher, farmer, clothing sales clerk, and lecturer in and around Marlborough, New York during the mid and late 19th century.  The documents...

Series 5: Poetry and Lyrics, 1846-1880 and undated

 Series — Box: 3
Identifier: id27178
Scope and Contents The Poetry and Lyrics series consists of poems and song lyrics Patchin wrote as well as poems Patchin collected.

Series 6: Public Lectures, 1870-1898

 Series — Box: 3
Identifier: id27182
Scope and Contents The Public Lectures series is comprised of materials related Patchin’s profession as a lecturer. Included are copies of his lectures as well as printed handbills and lecture programs.

“Clothing Song” materials, undated

 File — Box: 3, Folder: 1
Identifier: id27179
Scope and Contents These materials are related to the “Clothing Song” lyrics which Patchin wrote to the tune of Oh, Susanna!

"Darius Green and his Flying-Machine”, undated

 File — Box: 3, Folder: 2
Identifier: id27180
Scope and Contents These documents include several of Patchin’s hand-written copies of the poem written by J. Trowbridge.

Various poems, 1846-1880 and undated

 File — Box: 3, Folder: 3
Identifier: id27181
Scope and Contents These documents consist of several of Patchin’s hand-written copies of poems, such as “The Three Black Crows,” “The Star of Bethlehem,” “Philosophy and Religion,” and “The Battle of Waterloo.”

Lectures, 1870-1898

 Sub-Series — Box: 3
Identifier: id27183
Scope and Contents The Lectures sub-series includes copies of Patchin’s lectures.

Notes and Ephemera, 1870-1882

 Sub-Series — Box: 3
Identifier: id27193
Scope and Contents The Notes and Ephemera sub-series includes materials related to Patchin’s lectures.

“The Characteristics for the Highest Human Happiness,”, 1871

 File — Box: 3, Folder: 1
Identifier: id27184
Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series: The Lectures sub-series includes copies of Patchin’s lectures.

“Variation and Variety”, 1871

 File — Box: 3, Folder: 2
Identifier: id27185
Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series: The Lectures sub-series includes copies of Patchin’s lectures.