Box 2
Contains 88 Results:
Box 2
Collection contains correspondence, chiefly 1820-1875, of Newman Williamson Barnes and his wife Margaret W.(Tomlin) Barnes of Richmond, Virginia and "Greenfield," Culpeper County, Virginia and to their daughter, Margaret W. Barnes. Letters concern life in Falmouth, Virginia and also concern Fredericksburg, Virginia. Correspondents are members of the Braxton, Coalter, Tomlin and Oliver families. Letters contain social and family news.
Box 2
Collection contains correspondence, chiefly 1820-1875, of Newman Williamson Barnes and his wife Margaret W.(Tomlin) Barnes of Richmond, Virginia and "Greenfield," Culpeper County, Virginia and to their daughter, Margaret W. Barnes. Letters concern life in Falmouth, Virginia and also concern Fredericksburg, Virginia. Correspondents are members of the Braxton, Coalter, Tomlin and Oliver families. Letters contain social and family news.
Box 2
Collection contains correspondence, chiefly 1820-1875, of Newman Williamson Barnes and his wife Margaret W.(Tomlin) Barnes of Richmond, Virginia and "Greenfield," Culpeper County, Virginia and to their daughter, Margaret W. Barnes. Letters concern life in Falmouth, Virginia and also concern Fredericksburg, Virginia. Correspondents are members of the Braxton, Coalter, Tomlin and Oliver families. Letters contain social and family news.
Mary W. Braxton, Chericoke, Virginia, to Margaret W. Tomlin Barnes, Green Field, Jeffersonton, P. 0., Culpepper County, Virginia, 1841 February 12
MWB's anniversary and Armistead's 16th birthday; accounts of Armistead's visit home; family news including Lucy's health and Robert's forthcoming marriage.
Margaret W. Barnes, Fredericksburg, Virginia, to "Father" (Newman Williamson B. Barnes). With a note by L., 1841 March 1
All are well except Grandma; General Harrison passed through Fredericksburg; hope MWB will profit by your good advice; Aunt Balsora will teach the boys this spring and summer.
Mary W. Braxton, Chericoke, Virginia, to Margaret W. Tomlin Barnes, Green Field, Jeffersonton p. 0., Culpepper County, Virginia, 1841 April 23
Family news; Robert's marriage; MWB fell down the potato hole and bruised herself; health of family members.
Robert W. Tomlin, Office of Blue Ridge Residency, Balcony Falls, Virginia, to Newman Williamson B. Barnes, Fox's Mills P. 0., Acquire County, Virginia, 1841 September 12
Sister Margaret's health and RWT's work with a survey of the New River.
Margaret W. Barnes,, Falmouth, Virginia, to "Mother" (Margaret W. Tomlin Barnes), Greenfield, Culpepper County, Virginia, 1842 May 20
MWB is worried about MWTB's going home safely; Papa's health and George and Bevy's health; sent MWTB's shoes by Dennis.
Margaret W. Barnes, Falmouth, Virginia, to "Mother" (Margaret W. Tomlin Barnes), Greenfield, Culpepper County, Virginia, 1842 ? June 18
Death of Mr. Brooke; sends messages to family members.
Robert W. Tomlin, Office of Blue Ridge Residency, Balcony Falls, Virginia, to "Sister"Margaret W. Tomlin Barnes, Jeffersonton P. O., Culpepper County, Virginia, 1842 August 31
MWTB's improvement in health; RWT's work load is great since RWT is the only one left in the Engineer Corps, the salary is greatly earned, have had no servant this year, have endured many hardships, RWT is resigning at the end of the year.
Mary W. Braxton, Chericoke, Virginia, to Margaret W. Tomlin Barnes, Green Field, Jeffersonton P. 0., Culpepper County, Virginia, 1843 May 17
Events surrounding the death of Charles Braxton; MWB is concerned about MWTB's poor health; Mrs. Henry Webb had a bad fall; Lucy is in a family way again; Robert sent the accounts to Mr. Green; Aunt Short's death.
Mary W. Braxton, Chericoke, Virginia, to Margaret W. Tomlin Barnes, Green Field, Jeffersonton P. 0., Culpepper County, Virginia, 1844 February 25
Glad to know MWTB's baby is in good health; have had a great deal of company all winter; health news of family members.
Margaret W. Barnes, Falmouth, Virginia, to "Mother" (Margaret W. Tomlin Barnes), Greenfield, Culpeper County, Virginia, 1844 July 31
MWTB's next visit to Falmouth and what to bring. Also includes a note by Balsora Barnes, Falmouth, Virginia, to Margaret W. Tomlin Barnes, Greenfield, Culpeper County, Virginia. MWTB's next visit.
Judy H. Tomlin Coalter, Old Church, Hanover County, Virginia, to Margaret Tomlin Barnes, Greenfield, near Jeffersonton Post Office, Culpepper County, Virginia, 1844 September 1
Have heard news of MWTB's new baby and MWTB's good health; health news of family.
Margaret W. Barnes, Falmouth, Virginia, to "Mother" (Margaret W. Tomlin Barnes), Greenfield, Culpepper County, Virginia, 1844 September 4
Inquires about Papa's mouth and Walker's face; news of activities in Falmouth. Also includes a letter by Lucy M. Barnes, Falmouth, Virginia, to Margaret W. Tomlin Barnes, Greenfield, Culpepper County, Virginia Baby Walker and winter vegetables.
Margaret W. Barnes, Falmouth, Virginia, to "Papa and Mama" (Newman Williamson B. Barnes and Margaret W. Tomlin Barnes), Greenfield, Culpepper County, Virginia, 1844 October 15
Whig meetings with detailed commentary.
Olivia ?, Baltimore, Md., to "Peggy" (Margaret W. Barnes), Falmouth, Virginia, 1844 December 28
News of the Christmas season. Also includes a letter by Margaret W. Barnes to Margaret W. Tomlin Barnes, Falmouth, Virginia Christmas and family news.
Margaret W. Barnes, Falmouth, Virginia, to "Mother "(Margaret W. Tomlin Barnes), Greenfield, Culpepper County, Virginia, 1845 March
Obligations to study at school; health of friends and family; wishes that Bev and George could go to some good school.
Mary W. Braxton, Chericoke, Virginia, to Margaret W. Tomlin Barnes, Greenfield, Jeffersonton P. 0., Culpepper County, Virginia, 1846 February 28
Weather; health of family; activities of family.
Mary W. Braxton, Ditchley, Virginia, to Margaret W. Tomlin Barnes, Greenfield, Jeffersonton, Culpepper County, Virginia, 1846 September 8
Health of family members and servants; weather; sewing projects; activities of family members.
Balsora Barnes, Falmouth, Virginia, to Margaret W. Tomlin Barnes, Jeffersonton P. 0., Culpepper County, Virginia, 1846 October 13
Health of family members; general family news.
Mary W. Braxton, Chericoke, Virginia, to Margaret W. Tomlin Barnes, Greenfield, Jeffersonton P. 0., Culpepper County, Virginia, 1847 June 5
Disagreement between William Braxton and Dr. Perkins and subsequent entanglements; news and health of family members; regrets MWTB's recent death of a child.
Margaret W. Barnes, Falmouth, Virginia, to "Mother" (Margaret W. Tomlin Barnes), Jeffersonton P. 0., Culpepper County, Virginia, 1847 August 6
News of activities since school broke.
Mary W. Braxton, Ditchley, Virginia, to Margaret W, Tomlin Barnes, Greenfield, Jeffersonton P. O., Culpepper County, Virginia, 1847 August 11
Have had a "neurologic ? affection of one side of my face and head"- has affected sight; health of family members; size of children in family; weather conditions.
Margaret W. Barnes, Falmouth, Virginia, to George B. Barnes, Greenfield, Virginia, 1848 April 26
Also includes letters by Margaret W. Barnes, Falmouth, Virginia, to "Mama" (Margaret W. Tomlin Barnes) and "Papa" (Newman Williamson B. Barnes), Greenfield, Virginia.