Scope and Contents

Henley-Horrock Inventory, Letter to Rev. Dr. Percy, Letter to T. J. Mathias.

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

This collection includes Jones' 1872 William & Mary diploma and a letter he wrote to his brother on June 8, 1871. In the letter, he inquires as to the whereabouts of the suit he requested, speaks of impending examinations, and asks for money to pay his debts and last him up to July 4th.

Scope and Contents From the Collection: This collection contains two items. The first is an invitation to the "Birthnight Ball," which celebrated the birth of George Washington by a ball given the Hall of Apollo by the students of William & Mary. It is dated January 22, 1839 and includes the names of the managers. It is addressed to a Miss McDonnell (or McDornell) of Abingdon, Virginia. The second item is also an invitation to the "Birthnight Ball," for January 22, 1840. It also includes the names of...

Scope and Contents From the Collection: Pleasants' letter states that he left two volumes of Blair's lectures with his Cousin Mary when he was last in Richmond, having been informed by his son Hampden that he would not need them during the present session at William & Mary. However, Hampden informed Pleasants that he was attending lectures on Belles Letters and that the book would be necessary but he is using a copy belonging to Joshua Storrs. Pleasants asks his cousin to send the books along to Williamsburg should anyone be...

Scope and Contents From the Collection: The collection includes three letters and a pastel drawing.The first letter, dated May 29, 1860, was written to former U. S. President and William & Mary alumnus John Tyler, who was serving as Chancellor in 1860, about the views of the faculty and the organization of the curriculum. The second letter, dated November 5, 1863, was written by Joynes to R. G. H. Kean, about Mary Southall of Williamsburg. He states she is a refugee and provides a recommendation for her employment...

Scope and Contents From the Collection: The collection contains a letter, dated November 24, 1857, written by Spencer to someone whose name may be "Buck." In it, Spencer states that there are 80 students at the College and expects there to be more by February 22, 1858. He mentions he is rooming with William Davis, a "very quiet and studious boy," and that Thomas Mason "sends his respects to you and we visit the colored Girls together." He also mentions an incident in which Tom was "in the garden the other night after one"...

Scope and Contents From the Collection: This collection includes three letters written by Charles Minnigerode. One letter was written to Robert McCandlish, Rector of the Board of Visitors and dated February 23, 1847. Minnigerode writes to ensure McCandlish and the Board don't misunderstand the faculty's view about an extension of the A.B. course and details his feelings on the matter. A second letter, written to an unknown person and dated August 31, 1848, appears to have been written after he left his...

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Letter from John Tyler to Virginia Governor Henry A. Wise dated July 4, 1855. The letter states that Wise's being elected Governor would not be inconsistent with his remaining on William & Mary's Board of Visitors, and that other members of the Board hope Wise will not resign.