Scope and Contents From the Collection:

One letter from John Brown of Philadelphia to his brother, James Brown. The letter concerns life in the military. Brown describes the conduct of Benjamin Logan, Colonel of the Kentucky County, Virginia militia, the sale of Brown's property on Potts Creek in Virginia, and the possible resignation of General Arthur St. Clair from the army.

Scope and Contents From the Collection: This collection includes two copies of Moe's script for the play "Hark Upon the Gale." One copy is edited, the other is clean. The play was commissioned by the College of William and Mary to function as one of the Jamestown Festival Program events. It was directed by Howard Scammon and performed by the William & Mary Theatre. There is also a 1961 letter from Moe to Earl Gregg Swem which accompanied the clean script copy. Lastly, there are two copies of the program for "Hark Upon the...

Scope and Contents From the Collection: This collection includes two copies of Moe's script for the play "Hark Upon the Gale." One copy is edited, the other is clean. The play was commissioned by the College of William and Mary to function as one of the Jamestown Festival Program events. It was directed by Howard Scammon and performed by the William & Mary Theatre. There is also a 1961 letter from Moe to Earl Gregg Swem which accompanied the clean script copy. Lastly, there are two copies of the program for "Hark Upon the...

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Phi Beta Kappa membership certificate of Virginia Wilson, received December 5, 1939.

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Oration written and presented by Spratley to the alumni on June 5, 1948.

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

This collection contains two items: Ruth Paul's Certificate of Membership for the United Service Organizations, naming her a junior hostess of the York County, Virginia U. S. O. Committee as part of the YWCA and her William & Mary G. S. O. (Girls Service Organization) Unit Application.

Scope and Contents From the Collection: This collections consists of documents related to the development of School of Education courses designed to train teachers in the use of microcomputers [computers] in the mid-to-late 1980s. The collection includes press releases, a description and rationale for such courses, 1 syllabus for "Education 563-Problems in Education: Microcomputers in Education" and 1 syllabus for "Education 666-Application of Computer to Educational Problems: The Microcomputer." Also in this...

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

This collection consists of Parson's essay on Edmund Burke and was submitted for his A.B. degree.

Scope and Contents

1838 October 21 and 1840 April 6

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Pi Kappa Alpha Fraternity certification in recognition of Williams' membership for 50 years.

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

The collection contains Clayton B. Phillips' English 131 paper, "The College Library."

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

This collection contains a debate written and presented by Plummer Flippen Jones at the first open meeting of the Philomethean Literary Society for the 1895-1896 session, January 11, 1895. The topic of his debate was "Resolved: That present indications point to the downfall of our government."

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

One letter from Dabney Browne, a professor at the College of William and Mary, to G. Southall concerning the room and board for members of the Jones family. He states the Jones' would have to sleep in a room without a fireplace and sit in the family sitting room. The charge for board would be 120 dollars each, with a tuition fee of 20 dollars.

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Letter from Archibald C. Peachy to Robert McCandlish, Rector of the Board of Visitors at William & Mary, resigning his post as Professor of Moral Philosophy.

Scope and Contents From the Collection: This collection includes two items. The first is a document written by Tyler to the faculty at the College of William and Mary, acknowledging his violation of the institutional rule of leaving Williamsburg without the permission of the faculty and the promise that he will not repeat the same mistake. The second document is the faculty's resolution to "overlook this violation of the College Laws" given Tyler's "general good conduct" and his "frank and candid acknowledgement" of his...

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Debate, written and presented by Richard Henry Jones while a student at William & Mary, arguing that marriage is better than bachelorhood.

Scope and Contents From the Collection: Letter dated November 1, 1858 and written by Tayloe to a woman named Lizzie. He describes his boarding situation (he was a student at the College of William and Mary at the time) and mentions the names of other students boarding with him, listing them by their surnames only (including Page, Harrison, and Robinson). He mentions one student who boarded with a Miss Galt but got homesick. Tayloe further notes that there "ought to be a large number of students, the faculty is an able one, the new...

Scope and Contents

Handwritten copy of "Memories of Williamsburg and Stories of My Father," (1941), printed copy of same title inscribed by author (1941), an address by Bright delivered at Independence Hall in Philadelphia (1910 July 4), an address on Pocahontas delivered in New York (1906), an address by Bright about the Nathaniel Bacon Memorial Window in Williamsburg, inscribed by Bright (1901), and a memorial booklet about Bright (1944).

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Senior essay written by Thomas W. Lawrence titled, "Modern Education."

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

The Phi Beta Kappa membership certificate given to Frances Marguerite Duryea on April 30, 1940.

Scope and Contents From the Collection: The collection contains two letters, both of which were written by Rhodes to Vernon and Mary, his brother and sister-in-law. The first letter is dated May 9, 1933, weeks before his graduation from the College of William and Mary. He writes about not hearing back from others he's written to, finishing two of his themes for school, student elections, and family issues. He also lets them know that several boys from William and Mary bought decent suits, probably for graduation, from Richmond for...

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Script for "Humpty-Dumpty: A Small Play," written by Tobey M. Sindt for English 209. The last page of the script is stamped Jan. 25, 1963.

Scope and Contents From the Collection: This letter, dated June 26, 1844 was written by Francis C. Riddick to Wilson W. Jones. Riddick is answering a prior letter received from Jones. Riddick refers to individuals named Ruffin and Douglas and their roles regarding an undisclosed matter related to Jones. He also refers to petition written by students on Jones' behalf. He states, "I have seen several of the fellows who know anything of the affair and all of them are willing to testify that you acted bravely, honourably and through...

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Student essay written by Johnson titled "The President's House."

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Note to the faculty of William & Mary, written by John Lloyd Newcomb and signed by him and G. L. Stevens, requesting permission to leave campus for their homes for a specific period of time.