Scope and Contents From the Collection:

This collection contains 16 letters written by Bruce Hildebrand, a Lieutenant in the 541st Military Intelligence Detachment,11th Armored Cavalry during the Vietnam War. The letters are addressed to his parents in Dayton, Ohio and were written between 1969 and 1970. Topics covered include his day-to-day activities, sports back home, descriptions of combat, and the mood of the officers.

Content Description From the Collection:

Official military papers of Colonel Glen L. Shivel including congratulatory correspondence, citations, official awards, certificates, and his retirement records. Some records contain personal information and are closed to researchers at this time. Shivel also served as assistant professor at the College of William and Mary from 1966- 1970.

Content Description From the Collection: 4 page letter from Phillip Jones to Lawrence Washington dated March 16, 1849 from Louisa Courthouse, Virginia. Jones writes to his fellow William and Mary graduate located in Westmoreland Cort House, Virginia about an inquiry about familial ties to Henry A. Washington, Professor of Political Economy at the College of William and Mary. Jones continues in his letter to confess that he was a student at William and Mary some forty years earlier when "Bishop Madison, St. George Tucker, and...

Content Description From the Collection: Four page letter from Williamsburg, Virginia in which Henry writes about financial matters with his father, Lawrence, and describes his responsibilities at the college in his new position. He also writes to his father regarding the low price Lawrence was able to get on his corn crop. Henry seems hopeful though that the future crop Lawrence has will be plentiful and will fetch a better price. Additionally, Henry laments that he cannot travel home to see Mother and other family in...

Content Description From the Collection:

One page letter from John McCall to his sister, Libby from the South Carolina Swamps. McCall was attached to the 98th Regiment of the Ohio Infantry and had just completed their capture of Savannah at the time of his letter. He describes the torrential rains and subsequent uncomfortable conditions for himself and his comrades.

Content Description From the Collection: Two letters from Helen Bowden Peters Darlington to her parents, Mr. and Mrs. William Peters. Contents describe her time in Madrid in 1945 during the war where her husband was working as for the Office of Strategic Services (OSS) out of the American Embassy under the guise of an attache for that organization. She gave great detail to the animosity her husband and other OSS spies received from the regular embassy staff and also told her parents a lot about her living arrangements for the few...

Content Description From the Collection: Two page letter from news correspondent for Yank, Dave Richardson, giving an account of the expedition of Merrill's Marauders behind Japanese enemy lines during World War II. While his letter was highly censored, he indicated that his articles would appear soon. This letter is written after Richardson's excursion with the infantry outfit and he only indicates that he is writing from Burma. His plans from there were to travel to China by way of India. He mentions a fellow Yank colleague,...