Scope and Contents This information was provided by the seller and has not been verified: "Many of the letters are written by friends and family back home in Woodstock and some are from Pennsylvania. Some are two pages in length and some up to 15 pages in length. I’ve taken quotes from several of the letters to give you a better idea of their contents. The first and only one is addressed to “Jack” Moore but the rest are John. “Mr. Jack Moore Edna Post Office Washington Territory, U.S. Foster Lumber Co. April,...

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Account book of a lumberman in New Hampshire from 1841-1843.  Accounts list feet of pine board, costs and other services rendered by the lumberman.  Per '1850 census records of his clients, the location is near Swanzey in Cheshire County, New Hampshire.

Scope and Contents From the Collection: Account book of a navy officer for vessels in Great Britain.Headings on some pages include "Debts" (on land and loans), "Creditors," "An Estimate of what ye Excise will yield in farm-- provided they may house it for two years and a quarter rent will be advanced," "Navy Debts," "Money have been taxed...Kingdom of Parliament...1643...," "Garrisons" which include reports on the Tower of London, cities in Ireland, Portsmouth, Plymouth, various 'Castles' and other places and "List of...

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Diary, kept January 1 to March 30, 1918 on board the U.S.S. Vestal by an unidentified sailor who worked in the blacksmith shop. He mentions letters from Cam [or C.A.M.], owing taxes in British Columbia, weather, airing mattress, his 27th birthday on March 18, and other topics. It also includes an English-French dictionary.

Scope and Contents From the Collection: Memoir, "The Birth, Education, Conviction and Conversion of William H. Chapman Up to His Entering the Traveling Connection, etc." written in 1824. Gives an account of his childhood, his training as a carpenter, but mostly concerns his conversion to Methodism and his ordination as a circuit rider for the Methodist Church. He discusses the religious nature of his parents and the conversions of his sisters. Methodist ministers mentioned include James Hendrickson, J. J. Jacobs,...

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Three poems related to Williamsburg.  "Lay of the Lost Lion" by Cynthia Beverley Tucker Coleman, originally in the Williamsburg Garden Club's 1932 "Williamsburg Scrapbook."  "The Pulaski Club of Williamsburg, VA, Its origin and fame and how it got its name" by the History Committee.  "My God, They've sold the town" a poem about John D. Rockefeller, Jr.'s purchasing houses in Williamsburg.

Scope and Contents From the Collection: Three photographs of two homes in Williamsburg, Virginia where W. Melville Jones lived during 1934 and 1936.  The two houses were rented to The College of William and Mary faculty. One house is a two story building which was beside the Theta House, but is now a vacant lot and the second house was near the  intersection of North Boundary and Richmond Road and is now a park/garden.  One photograph of a car at an auto repair shop which is where the Blue Talon is in...

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Letters, 1827-1855, written to John "Jack" Fitzgerald of "Walnut Hill," Nottoway County, Va. Letters written by Thomas Branch and Bros. of Petersburg, Va, his brother, William Fitzgerald (House of Delegates, Richmond, Va.) and Winfree Williamson of Richmond, Va.

Topics and genre include bills, family news, legal matters, invoices and account statements of items sold, prices and commission information and correspondence concerning the selling of slaves.

Scope and Contents Ten original letters written chiefly by Joseph Lawrence Pollard to his wife Pat. Also, certificate commissioning him Captain in the 64th Regiment of the 14th Brigade and 4th Division of the Virginia militia dated July 13, 1866.Typescripts of 44 letters, 1862 (1862-1865), 1897, chiefly from Joseph Lawrence Pollard to his wife Pat. Includes typescripts of originals in folder 1 dated March 1 1863, June 12, 1863, December 20, 1864, January 5, 1865, and January 19, 1865....

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Brochures from the Ebenezer Baptist Church in Portsmouth, Virginia including the 142nd Anniversary Celebration in 2007 and Services of Installation for Reverend LeRoy Hill, Jr. as the 10th Pastor in 2005.