Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search results

Box Small Collections Box 56

 Container

Contains 15 Results:

Diary, 1952-1954

 File — Box: Small Collections Box 56, Folder: 1
Identifier: id130256
Scope and Contents The following transcription of the diary was provided by the seller. Transcriptions are accurate but are excerpts from the diary. 1952 “June 2nd & 3rd, Reported aboard the USS Comstock LSD19 at 2400 hours….We got underway this morning about 0830 for Subic Bay in the Philippine Islands. I have been placed in the “X” division for further assignment.” “June 25th, Had 0700 to 1200 watch. We entered Subic Bay today. As soon as we entered all hands went over the sides to scrub paint work. What...

Letter, 1823 Feb. 27

 File — Box: Small Collections Box 56, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Letter from a secretary of the Foreign Office [England]  to [?} Toplis saying that George Canning, Foreign Secretary, has received his letter of the 22nd and will "look over the document which accompanied it as soon as a translation of it has been prepared."    February 27, 1823.

Letter, 1804 Sept. 12

 File — Box: Small Collections Box 56, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Letter, 1804 September 12, Edmund Randolph,Richmond, [Va.] to W[illiam] F. Ast. Concerns an inquiry by Ast as to whether the Mutual Assurance Company can get its money back for paying a claim to Larkin Stanard for a fire it believes was arson on property that was over-valued by Stanard.

Land grant to ThomasTobin in the County of Harrison, present day West Virginia.  January 25, 1787.  Copy.

Land Grant, 1787 Sept. 19

 File — Box: Small Collections Box 56, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Land grant of 10,000 acres to Abraham Buford in Fayette County, West Virginia

Statement that William Reynolds, assignee of the representative of Daniel Lockley, is entitled to the proportion of land allowed a private of the State Line for three years of service. September 19, 1787.

Letter, 1776 July 26

 File — Box: Small Collections Box 56, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Letter from A. Little, Hanover (Va.?) to an unknown person about the number of prisoners he saw on the way to Frederick [Md.?], the exchange of officers, and the prediction by Major [?] Hughes that the fate of New York will soon be decided and General [William] Howe will be in possession of the city.  July 26, 1776.  Incomplete.

Military Order, 1781 April 6

 File — Box: Small Collections Box 56, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Broadside order written in Williamsburg by Brigadier General George Weedon on 6 April 1781, ordering Moss Armistead and John Slaughter to Portsmouth, Virginia to apply to the commanding officer of the British Army for exchange of prisoners and liberation of slaves.

Notebooks, circa 1873-1875

 File — Box: Small Collections Box 56, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents From the Collection:

This collection consists of two journals kept by the Reverend James H. Wright of Lexington, Kentucky. The journals are of a religious nature containing notes and ideas for sermons, as well as Bible verses and their meaning.

Midwifery Record Book, 1876-1887

 File — Box: Small Collections Box 56, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Consists of one autograph album used by Ann M. Lawton, a midwife from South Middleboro, Massachusetts, to record the names of the babies she helped deliver. Each entry includes the baby's name, parent's names, date of birth, the weight of the baby, the doctor's name, and the place where they were born. Most of the babies were delivered in either Massachusetts or Rhode Island. On the opposite side of the first twelve entries, there are two lines to the poem "Baby" by George Macdonald.

Papers, 1871 and undated

 File — Box: Small Collections Box 56, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Letter from an unknown female to an unknown person about "Grandpap helping Polly Parnell to move into a new house," anticipating a visit every friday night, school out in March, weddings, new dress and hurt arm. March 1, 1871. Includes 5 envelopes addressed to either Mary Jane or Sallie Chisholm in German Settlement, Preston County, Virginia and sent from Waterford, Pennsylvania, Grafton, Virginia or Topeka, Kansas.  No dates on the envelopes.

Journal and Broadside, 1890-1910

 File — Box: Small Collections Box 56, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Broadside, "A Card from the Engineer of The E.L. Asylum" by Galba Vaiden, late engineer of the Eastern Lunatic Asylum, about favoritism in firing and hiring employees. Possibly 1890.

Small notebook, belonging to an Armistead Family member, which includes names of a circa 1910 football team following family account information from 1901. Handwriting is different.