Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Diary, 1946-1950, of Madge Goodrich, an author and librarian at St. Catherine's School in Richmond, Virginia. Includes information about her daily life, her work at St. Catherine's School, and the books that she wrote. Also includes information on attending a library seminar for 9 weeks during the summer at the College of William & Mary.

Scope and Contents

Two letters, one written to Ingraham's father and one written to Ingraham's wife.

Scope and Contents From the Collection: Diary, 1866-1891, of Kate M. Walsh, a teacher from Cambridge, New York. Walsh primarily teaches at the Caldwell Institute in Danville, Kentucky and in a suburb of Chicago. Entries include information about her job as a teacher, her interaction with other teachers and school officials, and with her students. There is also information about her Methodist faith, teaching Bible classes, her attendance at religious services, and her relationship with her sisters and other family members. She also...

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Minute book, 1951-1967, of the Tamar Zuanna #116 organization, which seems to be affliated with the Odd Fellows and the Ladies of the Orient. This chapter of the organization is located in Buffalo, New York. Includes lists of members, their titles and offices, money received and spent, discussion topics, and events held, among other items. The minute book is written in multiple hands.

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Diary, circa 1830s, of an unidentified traveler on the Ohio River in Ohio and Pennsylvania. It seems as though the creator was hired to secure accounts and money. Includes comments about the towns that they pass on the river, with the creator's observations and opinions on the towns. Also includes the names of and interactions with other people on the ships upon which he sails. There are also ledger entries at the end of the volume.

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Two reports, circa 1850, totaling 3 pages and written by H. G. Day and James Ford of the Colored Peoples Sabbath School, Hudson, New York. Includes the details of the reoganization of this school in an attempt to excite more interest in it. Also includes some history of the school.

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Material relating to the Continental Iron Works, Thomas F. Rowland and the Monitor.

Includes photograph of sign, "At these Works ... was Built by Thomas F. Rowland, The Monitor, designed by Capt. John Ericsson....," and flyers entitled "Description of the Monitor Drawing" compliments of Charles H. Corbett and "History of the Continental Iron Works" with handwritten signature of Chas. H. Corbett VP 1909.

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

July 10, 1865 letter from Frances M. Jones in Warwick County, Virginia to General B. C. Ludlow, Commander of the Peninsula District, asking him to restore the property of William Crofford, who died of illness during the Civil War, to his dependant children.  Frances M. Jones is the guardian of the children of William Crofford.  The land in question is called "Morrisons" and is located in Warwick County, Virginia.

Scope and Contents From the Collection: Diary, 1907, of Mary Slawson of Boonville, New York. Slawson seems to have worked in some sort of cheese processing facility or diary farm, as she mentions that she works with cheese. She also mentions that she has to leave her son, Willie, with other family members during the day while she and her husband, Frank, work and how she is lonely without him. The diary also concerns her daily activities, people with whom she meets, and the weather. The following excerpts were provided...

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Material relating to the Continental Iron Works, Thomas F. Rowland and the Monitor.

Includes photograph of sign, "At these Works ... was Built by Thomas F. Rowland, The Monitor, designed by Capt. John Ericsson....," and flyers entitled "Description of the Monitor Drawing" compliments of Charles H. Corbett and "History of the Continental Iron Works" with handwritten signature of Chas. H. Corbett VP 1909.

Scope and Contents From the Collection: Diary, 1943, kept by Private William J. Lawler while he was stationed in Atlantic City, New Jersey, Niagara Falls, New York, Tenessee, Georgia, and Denver, Colorado during World War II. Most of his entries in the diary are very detailed, and some of the entries were written by his wife, Nancy Selina. The entries record his life as a service member in the United States Army. Topics include Lawler attending basic training, details of his wife's pregnancy, attending flight school, going to...

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Diary, circa 1830s, of an unidentified traveler on the Ohio River in Ohio and Pennsylvania. It seems as though the creator was hired to secure accounts and money. Includes comments about the towns that they pass on the river, with the creator's observations and opinions on the towns. Also includes the names of and interactions with other people on the ships upon which he sails. There are also ledger entries at the end of the volume.

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

July 10, 1865 letter from Frances M. Jones in Warwick County, Virginia to General B. C. Ludlow, Commander of the Peninsula District, asking him to restore the property of William Crofford, who died of illness during the Civil War, to his dependant children.  Frances M. Jones is the guardian of the children of William Crofford.  The land in question is called "Morrisons" and is located in Warwick County, Virginia.

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Two reports, circa 1850, totaling 3 pages and written by H. G. Day and James Ford of the Colored Peoples Sabbath School, Hudson, New York. Includes the details of the reoganization of this school in an attempt to excite more interest in it. Also includes some history of the school.

Scope and Contents From the Collection: Diary, 1866-1891, of Kate M. Walsh, a teacher from Cambridge, New York. Walsh primarily teaches at the Caldwell Institute in Danville, Kentucky and in a suburb of Chicago. Entries include information about her job as a teacher, her interaction with other teachers and school officials, and with her students. There is also information about her Methodist faith, teaching Bible classes, her attendance at religious services, and her relationship with her sisters and other family members. She also...

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Minute book, 1951-1967, of the Tamar Zuanna #116 organization, which seems to be affliated with the Odd Fellows and the Ladies of the Orient. This chapter of the organization is located in Buffalo, New York. Includes lists of members, their titles and offices, money received and spent, discussion topics, and events held, among other items. The minute book is written in multiple hands.

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Diary, 1946-1950, of Madge Goodrich, an author and librarian at St. Catherine's School in Richmond, Virginia. Includes information about her daily life, her work at St. Catherine's School, and the books that she wrote. Also includes information on attending a library seminar for 9 weeks during the summer at the College of William & Mary.

Scope and Contents From the Collection: Diary, 1907, of Mary Slawson of Boonville, New York. Slawson seems to have worked in some sort of cheese processing facility or diary farm, as she mentions that she works with cheese. She also mentions that she has to leave her son, Willie, with other family members during the day while she and her husband, Frank, work and how she is lonely without him. The diary also concerns her daily activities, people with whom she meets, and the weather. The following excerpts were provided...

Scope and Contents The following excerpts were provided by the seller: "January 22nd, Tonight I went to the K.P.A.A. Smoker with Nancy’s father and met Gene Messenger there. They had some good boxing matches and a good floor show. While I was gone Nancy had her mother and Dorothy and Mrs. Mitchell up for a visit. I was talking to the Mitchell’s when I came home. I didn’t get to sleep until about 3 ish this morning. (HER ENTRY) Dorothy gave me a pretty blue baby blanket. I love my honey and I missed him when he...

Scope and Contents

Diary, 1849-1862, of John Dickinson Ingraham, a member of the United States Navy during the Civil War on the ship Narragansett. Includes information about Ingraham's experience on ships both before and during the Civil War. There are also drawings of animals in another hand at the end of the volume.