Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search results

Box Small Collections Box 19

 Container

Contains 62 Collections and/or Records:

Small Collections Box 19

 File — Box: Small Collections Box 19
Scope and Contents From the Collection: Bertrand Russell to [John S. Wood], November 17, 1924. Gives Russell's philosophical views on the establishment of socialism in already democratic countries as opposed to non-democratic nations such as Russia.

Small Collections Box 19

 File — Box: Small Collections Box 19
Scope and Contents From the Collection: Letter, 1781 December 11, Francois Anselme de Saint-Victor, York in Va. to [?] d'Eyroux [d'Eiroux] Pontevez [Ponteves], Simiane, France. 1 p. ; 7 1/2 cm. Regrets the death of the recipient's son, [Marie Jean Balthazar d'Eiroux Ponteves] in an accident and commenting that he was mourned by the entire regiment which had fought earlier in the Battle of Yorktown. Also mentions a debt of the son.

Small Collections Box 19

 File — Box: Small Collections Box 19
Scope and Contents From the Collection: Autographs of Virginians including Robert Andrews, Mann Page, Johnny Watts, John Carter, and Benjamin Powell. Several signatures are receipts for the purchase of slaves.

Small Collections Box 19

 File — Box: Small Collections Box 19
Scope and Contents From the Collection: Letter from Francis H. Smith at the University of Virginia [Charlottesville, Virginia] to R.G. H. Kean.  Declines the invitation to come and lecture in Lynchburg [Va.]  and states that the Board [of Visitors] is making magnificent provisions for my department and "that the Era of makeshift [is] to be at an end."

Small Collections Box 19

 File — Box: Small Collections Box 19
Scope and Contents From the Collection: Letter from Gerrit Smith In Petersboro, New York  to Asher Tyler.  Concerns sending money to a mutual friend and the infirmities of Smith's old age. March 13, 1872.

Small Collections Box 19

 File — Box: Small Collections Box 19
Scope and Contents From the Collection: Letter from J. W.  Smith in Baltimore, Maryland to "My Dear Friend" about buying cotton for his friend; mention of Mr. McAllister being in Baltimore.  October 17, 1850.

Small Collections Box 19

 File — Box: Small Collections Box 19
Scope and Contents From the Collection: Letter from N. Chester Sorensen of N. Chester Sorensen Co. Architects and Engineers in Detroit, Michigan to Frank Lloyd Wright.  June 4, 1942.  Discusses plans of a building, possibly of  "Taliesin West."  Includes a work chart with the heading, "Fellowship Work Sheet"..."...August tenth:  Curtis Wray Besinger, Boss."  Business card of Kamal Amin, Architect with notation "Taliesen West, Scottsdale, Ariz."

Small Collections Box 19

 File — Box: Small Collections Box 19
Scope and Contents From the Collection: Letter to his wife concerning her ill-health and her prolonged stay to get well in Hagerstown, Maryland.  August 10, 1789.

Small Collections Box 19

 File — Box: Small Collections Box 19
Scope and Contents From the Collection: Letter by Gervas Storrs, Williamsburg, Virginia  to John Mason Ellis about his romantic life and influenza.  November 15, 1790.

Small Collections Box 19

 File — Box: Small Collections Box 19
Scope and Contents From the Collection: James French Strother letter to Charles Lanman's Dictionary of the United States Congress where he gives autobiographical information. September 26, 1858.