Found 80 Results | Special Collections Research Center

Newspaper article, "Letters Written During A Cruise In the West Indies," from the Petersburg, Virginia, South-Side Democrat, no date

Item — Multiple Containers

Identifier: id177005

Scope and Contents

1 page. Newspaper Clipping. Narrates the arrival of the U. S. Sloop-of-War, Spray, at a port in the Caribbean, and the officers' desire to go on shore.

Dates: 1820-1923

Found in: Special Collections Research Center / James Barron Hope Papers (II) / Series 3: Miscellaneous Materials, 1820-1923, no date / Box 2: / Folder 17

Newspaper article, "In Memoriam - Honors To Confederate Dead," in Norfolk Virginian, 19 June 1884.

Item — Multiple Containers

Identifier: id177007

Scope and Contents

2 pages. Printed Material. Norfolk's first Memorial Day; James Barron Hope was the Commander of the Pickett-Buchanan Camp of Confederate Veterans.

Dates: 1820-1923

Found in: Special Collections Research Center / James Barron Hope Papers (II) / Series 3: Miscellaneous Materials, 1820-1923, no date / Box 2: / Folder 18

Miscellaneous fragments and envelope.

Item — Multiple Containers

Identifier: id177009

Scope and Contents From the Collection: Correspondence and literary works, chiefly 1861-1874, of James Barron Hope (1829-1887), soldier, author (poet, orator, and novelist), and newspaper editor, of Norfolk and Williamsburg, Virginia. The papers deal mainly with his 1849 duel with Jonathan Pembroke Jones; his West Indies naval cruise (1851-1852); his Confederate military service (1861-1865); and the aborted 1874 William Mahone-Bradley Johnson duel, in which Hope was Mahone's second. The majority of correspondence with his family...

Dates: 1820-1923

Found in: Special Collections Research Center / James Barron Hope Papers (II) / Series 3: Miscellaneous Materials, 1820-1923, no date / Box 2: / Folder 19

Book manuscript for Col. Cockney Hops, no date

Item — Multiple Containers

Identifier: id176930

Scope and Contents

71 pages. Chapters 7-9, 12, 13. Draft of Autograph Manuscript.

Dates: 1820-1923

Found in: Special Collections Research Center / James Barron Hope Papers (II) / Series 2: Writings, no date / Sub-Series 3: Book Manuscripts, no date / Box 2 / Folder 1

Incomplete essay by James Barron Hope, page 13 beginning "But if Englishmen in those days...", no date

Item — Multiple Containers

Identifier: id176934

Scope and Contents

4 pages. Autograph Manuscript. Pertains to European history.

Dates: 1820-1923

Found in: Special Collections Research Center / James Barron Hope Papers (II) / Series 2: Writings, no date / Sub-Series 4: Essays, Addresses, and Plays, 1850-1871, no date / Box 2 / Folder 2

Incomplete essay by James Barron Hope on American history, no date

Item — Multiple Containers

Identifier: id176935

Scope and Contents

6 pages. Pages 9 through 14. Autograph Manuscript. Primarily on the Declaration of Independence.

Dates: 1820-1923

Found in: Special Collections Research Center / James Barron Hope Papers (II) / Series 2: Writings, no date / Sub-Series 4: Essays, Addresses, and Plays, 1850-1871, no date / Box 2 / Folder 2

Incomplete address by James Barron Hope; 1st page page 29 begins "I shall now give you some account", no date

Item — Multiple Containers

Identifier: id176936

Scope and Contents

14 pages. Pages 29-42. Autograph Manuscript. Possibly a part of the "Press and Printer's Devil."

Dates: 1820-1923

Found in: Special Collections Research Center / James Barron Hope Papers (II) / Series 2: Writings, no date / Sub-Series 4: Essays, Addresses, and Plays, 1850-1871, no date / Box 2 / Folder 2

Incomplete address by James Barron Hope, beginning "Mr. Chairman, Gentlemen of the Institute, Ladies and Guests - Antithesis is ever suggestive...", no date

Item — Multiple Containers

Identifier: id176937

Scope and Contents

8 pages. Autograph Manuscript. On the subject of Virginia history; compares the modern social system favorably with that of the eighteenth century

Dates: 1820-1923

Found in: Special Collections Research Center / James Barron Hope Papers (II) / Series 2: Writings, no date / Sub-Series 4: Essays, Addresses, and Plays, 1850-1871, no date / Box 2 / Folder 2

Incomplete address by James Barron Hope, beginning on page 3 with "obtain a pecuniary consideration...", no date

Item — Multiple Containers

Identifier: id176938

Scope and Contents

4 pages. Pages 3-6. Autograph Manuscript. On the subject of American and European societies.

Dates: 1820-1923

Found in: Special Collections Research Center / James Barron Hope Papers (II) / Series 2: Writings, no date / Sub-Series 4: Essays, Addresses, and Plays, 1850-1871, no date / Box 2 / Folder 2

Incomplete play by James Barron Hope; first page not originally 1st begins "others princes-camp and court saw us...", no date

Item — Multiple Containers

Identifier: id176939

Scope and Contents

9 pages. Autograph Manuscript. Characters include Don Diego, Jon Alonso, Conrad, and Rhodolph.

Dates: 1820-1923

Found in: Special Collections Research Center / James Barron Hope Papers (II) / Series 2: Writings, no date / Sub-Series 4: Essays, Addresses, and Plays, 1850-1871, no date / Box 2 / Folder 2

Prose story by James Barron Hope; opening line: "Showing how the Doctor's hat blew off, and the Captain told his story....", no date

Item — Multiple Containers

Identifier: id176940

Scope and Contents

5 pages. Draft of Autograph Manuscript.

Dates: 1820-1923

Found in: Special Collections Research Center / James Barron Hope Papers (II) / Series 2: Writings, no date / Sub-Series 4: Essays, Addresses, and Plays, 1850-1871, no date / Box 2 / Folder 2

Page from narrative history in hand of James Barron Hope; subject is War of 1812; stops in mid-sentence, no date

Item — Multiple Containers

Identifier: id176941

Scope and Contents

1 page. Fragment.

Dates: 1820-1923

Found in: Special Collections Research Center / James Barron Hope Papers (II) / Series 2: Writings, no date / Sub-Series 4: Essays, Addresses, and Plays, 1850-1871, no date / Box 2 / Folder 2

Address by James Barron Hope to the Patrick Henry Literary Association in Richmond, Virginia; begins: "Fellow citizens, Many years have fled and been entombed . . .", 4 July 1850.

Item — Multiple Containers

Identifier: id176943

Scope and Contents

16 pages. Autograph Manuscript. James Barron Hope's first speech ever delivered.

Dates: 1820-1923

Found in: Special Collections Research Center / James Barron Hope Papers (II) / Series 2: Writings, no date / Sub-Series 4: Essays, Addresses, and Plays, 1850-1871, no date / Box 2 / Folder 3

Address to a Virginian educational institution by James Barron Hope; begins: "Six years ago, in the month of April," 1871.

Item — Multiple Containers

Identifier: id176945

Scope and Contents

25 pages. Autograph Manuscript. Much of the speech relates to morality.

Dates: 1820-1923

Found in: Special Collections Research Center / James Barron Hope Papers (II) / Series 2: Writings, no date / Sub-Series 4: Essays, Addresses, and Plays, 1850-1871, no date / Box 2 / Folder 4

Address by James Barron Hope made at Yorktown, Virginia, 19 October 1881.

Item — Multiple Containers

Identifier: id176947

Scope and Contents

36 pages.1st page is missing. Autograph Manuscript. Includes references to the earlier celebration of the 250th anniversary of the Jamestown Settlement; this was given at the Yorktown Centennial celebration.

Dates: 1820-1923

Found in: Special Collections Research Center / James Barron Hope Papers (II) / Series 2: Writings, no date / Sub-Series 4: Essays, Addresses, and Plays, 1850-1871, no date / Box 2 / Folder 5

Address by James Barron Hope to a civic governmental assembly; written while Superintendent of Norfolk schools; opens: "Mr. Prost and Gentlemen, In so grave a matter as the present . . .", ca. April 1886.

Item — Multiple Containers

Identifier: id176949

Scope and Contents

24 pages. Draft of Autograph Manuscript. Mentions the appropriation of public funds.

Dates: 1820-1923

Found in: Special Collections Research Center / James Barron Hope Papers (II) / Series 2: Writings, no date / Sub-Series 4: Essays, Addresses, and Plays, 1850-1871, no date / Box 2 / Folder 6

Address by James Barron Hope to a North Carolinian organization; opens with: "Mr. President and Gentlemen," post 1865.

Item — Multiple Containers

Identifier: id176951

Scope and Contents

Scope and Contents Last page ? seems inconclusive; main subjects are history and government.

Dates: 1820-1923

Found in: Special Collections Research Center / James Barron Hope Papers (II) / Series 2: Writings, no date / Sub-Series 4: Essays, Addresses, and Plays, 1850-1871, no date / Box 2 / Folder 7

Address by James Barron Hope to a Young Ladies' School Graduation; 1st page missing; 2nd page begins: "cheeks of the hue of roses...", post 1865.

Item — Multiple Containers

Identifier: id176953

Scope and Contents

13 pages. Autograph Manuscript.

Dates: 1820-1923

Found in: Special Collections Research Center / James Barron Hope Papers (II) / Series 2: Writings, no date / Sub-Series 4: Essays, Addresses, and Plays, 1850-1871, no date / Box 2 / Folder 8

Address to the Orphan's Asylum in Richmond, Virginia, by James Barron Hope, post 1865.

Item — Multiple Containers

Identifier: id176955

Scope and Contents

26 pages. Autograph Manuscript.

Dates: 1820-1923

Found in: Special Collections Research Center / James Barron Hope Papers (II) / Series 2: Writings, no date / Sub-Series 4: Essays, Addresses, and Plays, 1850-1871, no date / Box 2 / Folder 9

Address by James Barron Hope to Hollins Institute, on the subject of charity, no date

Item — Multiple Containers

Identifier: id176957

Scope and Contents

19 pages. Autograph Manuscript.

Dates: 1820-1923

Found in: Special Collections Research Center / James Barron Hope Papers (II) / Series 2: Writings, no date / Sub-Series 4: Essays, Addresses, and Plays, 1850-1871, no date / Box 2 / Folder 10

Address by James Barron Hope to a Virginia Organization; inspirational account of Virginia history, no date

Item — Multiple Containers

Identifier: id176959

Scope and Contents

28 pages. Autograph Manuscript.

Dates: 1820-1923

Found in: Special Collections Research Center / James Barron Hope Papers (II) / Series 2: Writings, no date / Sub-Series 4: Essays, Addresses, and Plays, 1850-1871, no date / Box 2 / Folder 11

Address by James Barron Hope on the modes by which the United States expanded; first line: "The growth of this Republic is a familiar topic", no date

Item — Multiple Containers

Identifier: id176961

Scope and Contents

17 pages. Autograph Manuscript.

Dates: 1820-1923

Found in: Special Collections Research Center / James Barron Hope Papers (II) / Series 2: Writings, no date / Sub-Series 4: Essays, Addresses, and Plays, 1850-1871, no date / Box 2 / Folder 12

Address by James Barron Hope to a Virginian, all-male Institute; begins: "Mr. Chairman, Gentlemen of the Institute, Ladies and Gentlemen: Antitheses is ever suggestive", no date

Item — Multiple Containers

Identifier: id176963

Scope and Contents

48 pages. Autograph Manuscript.

Dates: 1820-1923

Found in: Special Collections Research Center / James Barron Hope Papers (II) / Series 2: Writings, no date / Sub-Series 4: Essays, Addresses, and Plays, 1850-1871, no date / Box 2 / Folder 13

Address by James Barron Hope, "A Study in Comparative Geography, Illustrated by Ideal Maps, with a Commercial Application," no date

Item — Multiple Containers

Identifier: id176965

Scope and Contents

40 pages. Autograph Manuscript. Concerns the commercial history of Virginia.

Dates: 1820-1923

Found in: Special Collections Research Center / James Barron Hope Papers (II) / Series 2: Writings, no date / Sub-Series 4: Essays, Addresses, and Plays, 1850-1871, no date / Box 2 / Folder 14

Box 2:

File — Box: 2

Identifier: id176967

Scope and Contents From the Collection: Correspondence and literary works, chiefly 1861-1874, of James Barron Hope (1829-1887), soldier, author (poet, orator, and novelist), and newspaper editor, of Norfolk and Williamsburg, Virginia. The papers deal mainly with his 1849 duel with Jonathan Pembroke Jones; his West Indies naval cruise (1851-1852); his Confederate military service (1861-1865); and the aborted 1874 William Mahone-Bradley Johnson duel, in which Hope was Mahone's second. The majority of correspondence with his family...

Dates: 1820-1923

Found in: Special Collections Research Center / James Barron Hope Papers (II) / Series 3: Miscellaneous Materials, 1820-1923, no date

Box 2

Contains 80 Results: