Skip to main content

University Archives Poster Collection

 Collection
Identifier: UA 12

Scope and Contents

This is an artificial collection of posters acquired by the University Archives. It consists predominantly of advertisements for events organized by departments and students at the College of William and Mary including concerts, plays, musicals, recitals, exhibits, athletic events, rallies, lectures, etc.

Dates

  • 1926-2014

Creator

Language of Materials

English

Conditions Governing Access:

Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.

Conditions Governing Use:

Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.

Extent

20.00 Cubic Feet

Acquisition Information:

Acc. 2007.87-88 gift of Steven Bookman on 12/2007; Acc. 2007.91 received from Margaret Martin O'Bryant on 12/27/2007; Acc. 2008.48 received from The Seven Society with letter dated 4/27/2008; Acc. 2008.076, gift of Steven Bookman, received on 8/12/2008; Acc. 2008.134 and Acc. 2008.135 , gift of Steven Bookman, received on 12/8/2008; Acc. 2009.115 was received on 7/17/2008; 2016.026 was a gift of Dr. Joanne Braxton, received on 2/8/2016.

Accruals:

Items are added to this collection on an ongoing basis.

Related Materials:

Student Organizations Collection, individual departmental collections, or other appropriate collections

Separated Materials:

Selected items which were added to this collection prior to 2007 were removed in 2007 and added to the Student Organizations Collection, individual departmental collections, or other appropriate collections due to their format and size.

Men's Gymnastics posters from 2005-2013 were separated from Acc. 2014.158 and were added to the Univeristy Archives Poster Collection.
Title
Guide to the University Archives Poster Collection
Author
Special Collections Staff.
Date
2007-05-03
Language of description
The collection description/finding aid is written in English.

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository

Contact: