Skip to main content

Valentino P. Vozza Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 2008.36

Scope and Contents

Letters from Valentino Vozza to his girlfriend, then wife, Lee Perley, while he served in the Navy during World War II.

He was part of the Ninth fleet while in California, and the Third fleet, on the ship U.S.S. Mundo, and stationed in San Diego, California, San Francisco, California, Bremerton, Washington and the Pacific Front in and near Guam, Pearl Harbor and Japan. His wife was in or near Los Angeles, California and Ocean Park, California.

Valentino Vozza moved up from third class to first class during his three years in the Navy. He worked as a gardener and in the Pool Hall when stationed in California and as a Mess Cook or Chef when he was in Washington and the Pacific. 1945 letters from Lee Vozza to Valentino Vozza. Collection covers September 30, 1942 to September 8, 1945.

Dates

  • 1942-1945

Creator

Language of Materials

English

Conditions Governing Access:

Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.

Conditions Governing Use:

Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.

Biographical Information:

Valentino P. Vozza was in U.S. Navy during World War II. Reserve duty in California and active duty on board U.S.S. Mundo in the Third Fleet. Was in Guam and Pearl Harbor area during active duty in the Pacific. Lived near San Francisco, California with his Mother before he was in the Navy. Married Miss Lee Perley in 1943. Vozza was born on January 22, 1922 and died on November 6, 2006. Further information about this individual or organization may be available in the Special Collections Research Center Wiki: .

Extent

1.00 Linear Feet

Arrangement of Materials:

Chronological.

Acquisition Information:

Purchased.
Title
Guide to the Valentino P. Vozza Papers
Author
Finding Aid Authors: Anne T. Johnson.
Date
2008-06-10
Language of description
The collection description/finding aid is written in English

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository

Contact: