Skip to main content

Francis Taliaferro Brooke Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01071

  • Staff Only

Scope and Contents

Appointment, 15 February 1796, of Francis T. Brooke to major of a battalion of cavalry annexed to the second division of the Virgina militia (signed by Robert Brooke); and appointment, 14 January 1804, of Brooke as judge of the General Court of Virginia.

2 items.

Dates

  • 1796, 1804

Language of Materials

English

Conditions Governing Access:

Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.

Conditions Governing Use:

Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.

Biographical Information:

Francis Taliaferro Brooke was born in Smithfield, Va. He served in the Continental Army. In 1788, he was admitted to the Virginia Bar. He married Mary Randolph Spotswood. Brooke served in the Virginia House of Delegates and in the Virginia Senate. His second wife was Mary Champe Carter. Brooke was judge of the Virginia General Court and the Virginia Supreme Court of Appeals. He died 3 March 1851. Further information about this individual or organization may be available in the Special Collections Research Center Wiki: .

Extent

0.01 Linear Foot

Acquisition Information:

Gift

Processing Information:

Processed by Cynthia B. Brown in 1983.

Title
Guide to the Francis Taliaferro Brooke Papers
Author
Finding Aid Authors: Cynthia B. Brown.
Date
2007-08-10
Language of description
English
Script of description
Latin
Language of description note
The collection description/finding aid is written in English

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository

Contact: